We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lovely, polite, welcoming, friendly hosts Great homemade breakfast overlooking village/bay. Room had a lovely warm conservatory with amazing views. Hotel is in a good location, in the middle of Lynmouth, everything within walking distance. Unfortunately the walls and ceilings are very thin and therefore very noisy. Smallest TV we've ever seen. Too soft bed. The shower had great pressure but the 'disabled handle' made moving around difficult...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have been to Lynton and Lynmouth many times before, but have never stayed at Shelley's. The hotel is lovely - we had one of the conservatory balcony rooms, with great sea views. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts very helpful and attentive. The hotel was perfectly located for walking around Lynmouth, Lynton and up to Watersmeet. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awilliams4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Lynmouth is the perfect location for people wanting to explore the north Devon area on foot. Walks are many and varied and most are spectacular. Shelley's Hotel run by Richard and Jane was the ideal location for our walking groups weekend away. It is ideally situated in the centre of Lynmouth and provides excellent service in beautifully presented and maintained accommodation. The rooms have views of the sea and coastline and ours had its own conservatory and balcony. Everywhere is tastefully decorated and Jane and Richard are the perfect hosts. We all enjoyed our stay immensely.
All in all Shelley's is the jewel in Lynmouth's crown.
Max/Angela

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We had a lovely short stay at Lynmouth last summer. We have heavy snow today so we're both home and reminiscing about our mini break last year. The hotel is so well positioned for everything, we enjoyed lots of walking and pub meals too. We walked to Valley of the Rocks and the next day we walked to Watersmeet. There were some fabulous views along the way and bracing sea air - wonderful - we camehome with a rosy glow. Richard and Jane were attentive and we enjoyed meeting some of the guests in the comfortable lounge. The lounge is well stocked with games and books. All in all a top notch stay!.

Room Tip: Good sea views from the conservatory rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HeatherPaul32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We visited Lynton & Lynmouth last summer part of a 2 week touring holiday of Devon & Cornwall.
Shelley's is in an attractive position in the centre of Lynmouth looking out over Lynmouth Bay and a short easy walk to the harbour.
Our bedroom was light and airy, comfortable and spotlessly clean and had a private conservatory with a balcony which was ideal for relaxing and people watching.
Breakfast was delicious, well presented, with a good choice and freshly cooked to order.
Hosts were very friendly and helpful, service with a smile.
Overall our stay was very good indeed and we would definitely recommend Shelley's.
Forgive the late review, New Year's resolution to return again later this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Belated thanks for a superb stay - a belated thank you to Jane & Richard for the way they treated us during our return visit earlier this Autumn.

This is our second visit which made us realise that, not only is Shelley's a great place to stay, that Lynton & Lynmouth and Exmoor National Park has so much too offer visitors looking for a relaxing break away from the hectic lives we now all seem to lead.

Breakfast is truly excellent, our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable, with a great views out over the Lynmouth Bay with South Wales in the distance, and Jane & Richard could not have looked after us better!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank galdridge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at Shelley's in September, it has an ideal position, a lovely setting in the centre of Lynmouth close to everything.
Hosts Jane & Richard are very very welcoming, recommended walks, places to visit and restaurants to dine.
Delightful room with it's own private conservatory and balcony, every evening we watched some beautiful sunsets looking out to sea across Lynmouth Bay, and the Bristol Channel to South Wales in the distance.
Delicious breakfast, freshly cooked, wide choice.
Shelley's and Lynmouth make a perfect base from which to explore Exmoor & North Devon. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank belindal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing