We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of heaven in our favourite part of the UK.”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven in our favourite part of the UK.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile


We thoroughly enjoyed are stay at Shelleys, a beautiful hotel, very clean, well thought out decor (that must be Janes touch), loved our room, and the breakfast menu was all you could ask for. Also cooked to perfection.

Our room overlooked Lynmouth, with a little conservatory to sit in and watch the world go by, and on a good clear day, see the coast of South Wales.

I could not fault this hotel in anyway, the price we paid was good value.

We would definitely go again, and will stay longer next time.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank merc-elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful owners, very good breakfast with a wide choice of options, immaculately clean rooms, perfect location. Has a very well stocked and reasonably priced honesty bar. We would highly recommend this hotel. Book now!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the south
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is how hotels should be run. Very good breakfast and rooms very quaint and quirky and most have lovely views. The only down side is breakfast is only served between 8.15 and 9.15am so not ideal if you're having a lazy break away from the rat race of work etc! Highly recommended, especially if you're an early riser!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The room was excellent with views from the conservatory balcony out over Lynmouth,
but this was surpassed by the friendliness of the host who went out of his way to make the stay a very pleasurable experience.
Beautifully comfortable and homely lounge.
Best kippers for breakfast I have ever tasted!

Room Tip: Conservatory room brilliant for relaxing with a cup of tea and a good book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just had a long weekend at Shelley's, what a great hotel, fantastically clean, great staff, fab breakfast cant rate it high enough we will be back for sure. Nothing was too much trouble, the location is great, and they even include the cost of parking in your stay and as a added bonus the ticket they give you can be used in any of 10 local car parks. the hotel is very quiet ensuring a good nights sleep. The hotel has honesty bar which is well stocked with good local ale, lager spirits and wine plus mixers and to be honest the bar appeared well priced under £12,00 for a bottle of wine great value. The rooms with a private conservatory have a great view over the sea and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed four nights from 25th August having made a short notice decision to visit Shelley’s once again. We weren't disappointed, everything about the stay was excellent as it always has been on previous visits. Spotlessly clean accommodation, a substantial and varied breakfast menu. Well done to Jane and Richard for all their hard work in ensuring everything was just right during our stay. As a bonus the weather was magnificent, making it a pleasure to walk the various footpaths and take in some of the breathtaking scenery. We had two evening meals at Le Bistro - so enjoyable the first time we had to re-book again. Good quality fresh food, mainly fish dishes with a couple of alternatives available if fish is not your thing. On another occasion we dined at the Rising Sun. Again, excellent quality food, slightly more expensive than Le Bistro but nevertheless another top quality restaurant, surprising indeed to find two like this in such a small village. Would recommend you book in advance if thinking of visiting them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Day 2 of our walk along the SW coast path and we were received by Richard & Jane who welcomed us to their beautiful hotel.
Spotlessly clean and welcoming, what a glorious end to a great day of walking. After settling into our lovely room with a 'conservatory with a view' we decided to cool off by going for a swim on the beach as it was high water and the Bristol channel was glassy calm for a change !
Fantastic nights sleep and a great breakfast set us for another days walking .
Highly recommended, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The conservatory rooms overlooking the village/channel are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
125 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing