We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very much enjoyed two nights at Shelley’s recently - brilliantly run by friendly and helpful hosts who provided useful local information and helped us to book a super restaurant. Superb breakfast - lovely buffet plus variety of cooked food to suit all tastes. Very clean - perfect! Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed five nights and would have been happy to stay longer. Our room was quiet, very comfortable and spotlessly clean; the hot water in basin and shower was instant, a very well designed system. Jane and Richard are very welcoming, helpful and highly efficient; Shelley's runs like clockwork (including good wi-fi). Excellent breakfasts which set us for walking on Exmoor and visiting the gardens and other attractions in the area, for which Shelley's is a highly convenient base.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrybowler@talktalk.net
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just enjoyed a short break in this beautiful hotel with very friendly owners.An extremely high standard of personal service. Breakfast was a high quality buffet plus a homecooked breakfast by jane and served by richard. Superb! All the hotel was immaculately kept, tastefully decorated and comfortable. It was our first visit and we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank georgee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcalá de Guadaira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a three night stay at Shelleys and would highly recommend this hotel. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, peaceful and have great water views. The breakfasts are probably the best I have experienced at a hotel and how the owners can put on such a spread in a small hotel is unbelievable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

'As usual the hotel was a delight, the room perfect, the breakfast mouth-watering and the proprietors, couldn't be more welcoming' We started visiting Shelley's about 8 years ago and find it the perfect base for visiting Exmoor and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: At the risk of spoiling it for our future use Room 6 is the best for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile


We thoroughly enjoyed are stay at Shelleys, a beautiful hotel, very clean, well thought out decor (that must be Janes touch), loved our room, and the breakfast menu was all you could ask for. Also cooked to perfection.

Our room overlooked Lynmouth, with a little conservatory to sit in and watch the world go by, and on a good clear day, see the coast of South Wales.

I could not fault this hotel in anyway, the price we paid was good value.

We would definitely go again, and will stay longer next time.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank merc-elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful owners, very good breakfast with a wide choice of options, immaculately clean rooms, perfect location. Has a very well stocked and reasonably priced honesty bar. We would highly recommend this hotel. Book now!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing