We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at Shelly's a couple of times now. Fantastic location, great breakfast, excellent accommodation, brilliant owners. Got soaking wet one day while out walking and when we returned to Shelly's the staff even took our wet clothes to dry off.
Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
410
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful room, delicious breakfasts, spotlessly clean, wonderful sea views,very pleasant & knowledgeable hosts and a truly wonderful location!
When planning a visit to North Devon & Exmoor this hotel is too good to miss out on.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marshall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very friendly, warm welcome. The room was extremely clean and the views from the double aspect were fantastic. The service at breakfast was very efficient and friendly and the food itself was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Another very pleasant & relaxing stay at Shelley’s Hotel, Lynmouth. - (7 nights).
Apart from one exception this has been our eleventh consecutive year, which we have enjoyed the hospitality of Richard & Jane.
They are both very welcoming, with nothing too much trouble, and if you require something to make your holiday even more special, then just ask.
i.e. An ice bucket on a warm day, to make that special bottle of wine even more special. - Just ask.
As usual the bedroom, as well as the rest of the Hotel, was kept to a pristine standard, and the breakfast was as good this year as in all other previous years.
The weather was kind to us this year, but whatever the weather you can be sure of a warm welcome at “Shelley’s”, - a comfortable bed, hygiene to a very high standard, a breakfast you are spoilt for choice for, and if you ever need any info about the surrounding area (especially parking), - Just ask Richard!

J.& M.Ottewell

Room Tip: It always helps if you can view rooms, prior to booking. - Just ask Richard/Jane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Shelley's is a very good hotel , friendly and homely, nothing was too much trouble and the information of local amenities and attractions ensured we didn't miss anything. The rooms were comfortable and clean and we had a lovely view. The breakfasts were perfect, no need for lunch!!! And the honesty bar meant that we could relax in the hotel in the evening prior to going out for supper whilst other members of our groups were getting ready. All in all a lovely weekend was had by the eight of us , just a pity we weren't able to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Accommodation was great, very, very clean..
Very friendly staff, food was excellent, great location,
without a doubt the best hotel I’ve stayed in,
and I will stay there again. you really need to try it. its great

Room Tip: Juilet room, really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank southernelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have been visiting Lynton & Lynmouth on and off for many years but stayed at Shelley's for the first time last year. We were so impressed, we just knew we would be back! This time we had a conservatory and balcony room so, when we returned to Shelley's at the end of each day, we were able to relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast is beautifully cooked with plenty of choices - don't sack the chef!
Richard and Jane made us very welcome and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sue190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing