We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always a lovely getaway”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Returning guests, we came on after having a couple of nights in the Peak District.
As before the hotel was comfortable and clean, and Jane & Richard excellent hosts with a friendly informal style.
Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated to a high standard.
The location is perfect, quiet and peaceful, yet Shelley’s is a stones throw away from the shops, restaurants and harbour.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank sknafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at Shelly's a couple of times now. Fantastic location, great breakfast, excellent accommodation, brilliant owners. Got soaking wet one day while out walking and when we returned to Shelly's the staff even took our wet clothes to dry off.
Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful room, delicious breakfasts, spotlessly clean, wonderful sea views,very pleasant & knowledgeable hosts and a truly wonderful location!
When planning a visit to North Devon & Exmoor this hotel is too good to miss out on.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank marshall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very friendly, warm welcome. The room was extremely clean and the views from the double aspect were fantastic. The service at breakfast was very efficient and friendly and the food itself was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Another very pleasant & relaxing stay at Shelley’s Hotel, Lynmouth. - (7 nights).
Apart from one exception this has been our eleventh consecutive year, which we have enjoyed the hospitality of Richard & Jane.
They are both very welcoming, with nothing too much trouble, and if you require something to make your holiday even more special, then just ask.
i.e. An ice bucket on a warm day, to make that special bottle of wine even more special. - Just ask.
As usual the bedroom, as well as the rest of the Hotel, was kept to a pristine standard, and the breakfast was as good this year as in all other previous years.
The weather was kind to us this year, but whatever the weather you can be sure of a warm welcome at “Shelley’s”, - a comfortable bed, hygiene to a very high standard, a breakfast you are spoilt for choice for, and if you ever need any info about the surrounding area (especially parking), - Just ask Richard!

J.& M.Ottewell

Room Tip: It always helps if you can view rooms, prior to booking. - Just ask Richard/Jane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Shelley's is a very good hotel , friendly and homely, nothing was too much trouble and the information of local amenities and attractions ensured we didn't miss anything. The rooms were comfortable and clean and we had a lovely view. The breakfasts were perfect, no need for lunch!!! And the honesty bar meant that we could relax in the hotel in the evening prior to going out for supper whilst other members of our groups were getting ready. All in all a lovely weekend was had by the eight of us , just a pity we weren't able to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Accommodation was great, very, very clean..
Very friendly staff, food was excellent, great location,
without a doubt the best hotel I’ve stayed in,
and I will stay there again. you really need to try it. its great

Room Tip: Juilet room, really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank southernelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing