We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 18 September 2008

As others have said,immaculate condition,very clean and a nice breakfast .
The owners were friendly and seemed to enjoy what they did.
The "Shelley" connection was a bit tiresome.The place was almost a shrine to him.Apparently he stayed there on his honeymoon about 200 years ago.The marriage lasted a couple of years.Bit of a tenuous link.
An "okay" experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank alanwhickerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

As recently retired guest house owners we are, perhaps, a little more critical than most people. However, we could find no fault with Shelley's. It has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail. The bedrooms / reception rooms are spacious , extremely clean and very well furnished. The breakfast is superb! All this would be nothing without the right ambience and again Richard and Jane have got this bang on with the right mix of kind and friendly service. Add in a fantastic location with wonderful sea views & what more can you ask for?

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Could overhear conversations in bedroom next door.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DoodleRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at Shelley’s in August for 3 nights as part of our 2 week touring holiday driving around the Devon & Cornwall, it was fabulous.

Shelley’s has to be one of the best locations in Lynmouth with it’s superb sea views from the breakfast room and nearly all of the bedrooms, the view across Lynmouth Bay from our conservatory balcony room was really lovely.

Shelley’s is decorated to a very high standard indeed, spotlessly clean, well presented and very tastefully furnished throughout.

Our hosts Jane & Richard made us feel very welcome, were very knowledgeable of the area, and gave us good advice on where to dine.

The freshly cooked to order breakfasts are just wonderful with a great choice of quality produce from a really excellent full breakfast to scrambled egg with smoked salmon, the kedgeree was my favourite but you really have to try them all.

For a relaxing, peaceful, perfect holiday break, then Lynmouth is the place to go to get away from it all and enjoy the absolutely magnificent coast and countryside of Exmoor National Park.

Overall we wish we had stayed longer but we will definitely return for a longer stay and after a fortnight on the road around the South West this was by far the best hotel; altogether a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank karencalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

My husband and I have just come back from a three night stay at this lovely small hotel, we were attracted to the area because of the wonderful scenery and fabulous walking it offers.

Shelley’s is cosy and welcoming and not at all stuffy, we love the Exmoor anyway but this topped it off.

This is the place to come for a treat in one the most scenic parts of England, relax, soak up the scenery and go home re-charged, staying here was a complete pleasure.

We will recommend Shelley’s to our friends and can't wait for another chance to go back.

  • Liked — Cosy and welcoming small hotel in a lovely location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed for a long weekend at Shelleys and absolutely loved it, we would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean, there was a great choice at breakfast and the hosts made us feel very welcome.
We had a great time with 2 splendid days walking and would definately go back there. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Hospitality and welcone
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LindaHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We had three lovely days at Shelleys, admittedly the weather was nice.

A few years ago we stopped at Shelleys for a couple nights on the way to Cornwall and always promised ourselves that we would return.

Shelley’s is lovely with really great standards in a very informal way with Jane & Richard on hand if you need any help.

Comfortable kingsize beds with good quality furnishings, an attention to detail combined with a few really nice touches gave a feeling of a bit of luxury and breakfast really is as good as previous reviews say, hearty with plenty of choice

The best rooms are the conservatory balcony rooms, it was a fabulous place just to sit and take in the splendid views. The extra we paid was fully justified, the rate was very fair and their Exmoor Breaks offer is excellent value.

Parking was easy enough, the location, central and whatsmore there are lots of places to eat in the evening to suit all pockets.

Lynmouth makes an ideal base from which to explore Exmoor National Park, the least visited in the country, which is hard to understand given the spectacular scenery afforded by a Heritage Coast with one of the longest stretches of wooded coastline in the UK and England's highest sea cliffs..

Shelley's is very highly-recommended and having spent too many long hours in airports we will definitely be returning next year.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank foxsall-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We were looking for a relaxing break, we needed a weekend away and Shelley’s gave us everything we were looking for.

We were very impressed indeed with Shelley’s, from the very genuine and warm welcome from our hosts Jane & Richard, to the beautiful sea views and to start the day super breakfasts which were always very filling and extremely tasty with a very good choice of menu.

We thoroughly enjoyed our room, it was tidy and spotlessly clean and with it’s own private conservatory and balcony overlooking Lynmouth and the sea, in fact it was excellent.

Lynmouth is perfect for exploring Exmoor National Park and North Devon and if you love walking it’s a great place to have as a base, the scenery is simply spectacular.

We’re not the greatest of walkers but the 45 minute walk along the river bank up to Watersmeet is relatively easy with the welcoming reward of refreshment at the National Trust tea gardens there.

We went up on the cliff railway to Lynton and walked out to the Valley Of Rocks along the North Walk on top of reputedly England's highest sea cliffs. We also did the 21 Mile Drive, a scenic tour of the area that’s is really spectacular and very well worth doing and on the way paid a visit to the Lynton & Barnstaple narrow gauge railway at Woody Bay Station.

On recommendation we had a lovely bar meal at the Rising Sun and ate at the little bistro immediately opposite Shelley’s, both were excellent.

If you are looking for a very comfortable, welcoming and ideally situated hotel in Lynmouth you couldn’t find better than Shelley’s.

  • Liked — Being able to relax in comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sdrawdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing