We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Jane and Richard are the perfect hosts. We have stayed at Shelley's on numerous occasions and are always eager to return.The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is the best ever. We stayed in the conservatory room and it is wonderful to sit and see the spectacular scenery. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have beautiful uninterrupted views of the coast and rivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
410
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is one of those hotels that you don't want to tell too many people about because you want to keep it for yourself!

Great location with the main shops, restaurants etc across the road so close enough to walk to but far enough away to not get any noise.

We had a conservatory room which gave a lovely view across the village to the sea beyond. Room was well equipped with everything you need and spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel).

Lovely breakfast with a good choice and there was no problem cooking a gluten free breakfast for my wife.

The lack of its own car park was not a problem (and I'm very fussy about parking!!!) as there was a public car park opposite for which the hotel provided a 24hr ticket at much reduced price.

I have no problem recommending this hotel, in fact I already have, my father is looking to book in the Autumn.............and we will be returning as soon as I can arrange some time off work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evomoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fantastic time spent in Shelley's (3 nights), Richard and Jane are great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was superb (even after a late night on the beer LOL). Room was great and had excellent views over the Bristol Channel, liked the idea of the "honesty bar" although we didn't
use it much. Would definitely come back again. Steve S.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fourth visit to Shelleys and it just gets better each time. Richard and Jane really go that extra mile to ensure their guests have everything they need. Breakfasts are great and offer a wide choice for all tastes. Rooms are lovely, comfortable with great views where you can sit and watch the world go by!
Definitely be back soon, later in the summer.

Room Tip: Bay room is lovely with great views although there are also lovely rooms with conservatories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Shelley's was recommended by friends. The sea views from our room were spectactular, sitting relaxing just watching the world go by made for a perfect stay.
We had a fantastic welcome from hosts Jane & Richard, our room, the Bay Room was spacious, light and airey and spotlessly clean. The choice of freshly cooked to order breakfasts are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble.
We dined out in the evening enjoying two lovely meals at Le Bistro directly opposite Shelley's and at the Oak Room in Lynton.
We enjoyed a perfect stay at Shelley's, can't wait to return in the Autumn and would definitely recommend it to family & friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are just back from a 3 night stay at Shelley's and would definitely recommend it to others. Jane and Richard are very friendly and welcoming- and do excellent breakfasts. The rooms have everything you need. we stayed in a room with conservatory and balcony and would recommend that to others. Shelley's is an ideal location with good walks on the doorstep- we didn't use the car throughout our stay. Plenty of places to eat in the evening.

Room Tip: choose a room with a conservatory/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a few days break and can highly recommend Shelley's as the perfect place to stop if you are visiting this area. The room (requested upon trip advisor's contributors advise), was very clean and comfortable. It was very pleasant to sit in the conservatory and listen to the river and watch the shipping out in the Bristol Channel.
Breakfast was good and a great start to the day. Richard and Jane as hosts couldn't do enough to make your stay a comfortable one. We both look forward to going back in the not too distant future.
There is no car park at Shelley's but you can buy a parking voucher from richard to cover the days you are there. It covers not only the nearby car park but several others in the Lynton/Lynmouth area.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and conservatory room, you have both the conservatory and the balcony to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing