We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had to decide where to go for weekend (last minutes really) and we realised that it wouldn't be easy trying to book at short notice. However this hotel came up in search result and we thought we'd go for this as we never have been to Lynmouth before. It turned out to be best thing we have done! Quiet and relaxing, the room with sea view was lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, the hotel's honesty bar was good and Richard & Jane were wonderful and they were very helpful to give advice (including a tick's bite!) - what more could we ask for??? We will most definitely return to this hotel the next time we come to Lynmouth!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GracefulAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Shelley's and it definitely won't be the last. In a fantastic location with sea views. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast choice is excellent and nothing is too much trouble, Jane and Richard are a lovely couple and always have time for a natter. I would highly recommend a stay at Shelley's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Shelley's is the best hotel we have stayed at. Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful couple that run it and just to add to its appeal it is set in the spectacular Lynmouth. Shelley's don't have swimming pools or a gym but the area is a Mecca for walkers so keeping fit is not a problem.
Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and cooked perfectly. Toast, cereals, fruit, yogurts and other items are also on the menu so be prepared to come back plumper than you went.

Room Tip: Choose a conservatory or Juliet balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Jane and Richard work hard in running this very pleasant and relaxing hotel / B&B, and everything is well maintained. Our room (the Bay Room) had magnificent views over the water, and good choices for breakfast -- you will not leave the table hungry. The bathroom in the Bay Room could have been a little larger, and as the partition between bedroom and ensuite bathroom was presumably part of the renovation undertaken by Jane and Richard c.12 years ago, then another 12/18 inches bathroom width would have helped enormously without compromising bedroom space. But this is a small point in the context of a thoroughly enjoyable 2-night stay in a relaxing environment. Very comfortable ground floor lounge with reasonable honesty bar prices. Would definitely stay again, and you will be hard pressed to find a better location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent three days in beautiful Lynmouth staying at Shelley's - Perfect location, wonderful hosts and lovely room with a sea view. Excellent breakfast choice. Richard and Jane are the perfect hosts. Great service in a relaxed,informal manner and always make time to chat .
A well deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richiexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed our few days stay at Shelleys, as we always do - Jane and Richard made us very welcome and the whole experience was relaxing and comfortable. There is a great choice on the breakfast menu and everything is prepared and presented perfectly. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Conservatory rooms are ideal for cooler evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed one night but it was a fantastic experience. Jayne and Richard were fabulous hosts. Lovely room which was spotless and a had brilliant view of the sea from the window of our room. Breakfast was fabulous with so much choice.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing