We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place no complaints”
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bewdey, Worcs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place no complaints”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just spent 2 nights here before Easter. Had the benefit of good weather but imagine this would be great place in bad weather - very warm and comfortable. Staff friendly without being 'in your face' didn't really see much of them. Food very good - menu looks ordinary but excellent quality. Agree with all other recent reviews so won't repeat. Did great walk along river to Watersmeet and around the coast path - good pub on this route - the Blue Ball inn - again great food and drink.

Room Tip: Room 2 four poster and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boothyuk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    75
    23
    24
    23
See reviews for
45
186
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Of England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Lynmouth is an excellent base to explore Exmoor and the coast and even 'very off-season' had a lt of charm to it. Togther with Lynton, it's a 'real place', not entirley given over to holiday-makers. The location of Rock House was superb and we had a fantastic room with terrific views across the harbour. The room was spotless and well decorated, with plenty of storage space for a long weekend. We thought the food was very good and excellent value for money, certainly better than other neaby hotels that we have experienced.We had only intended to eat in for one or two nights but in the end, dined in for the whole stay.
In a small, individual hotel, you can always find niggles if you look for them but the thing that made them all disappear were the excellent staff. Without being silly about it, they couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming and they made the hotel stand out. Overall, they, plus the room and the location (and to be fair, the 3 nights for 2 offer) made the weekend outstanding value and really enjoyable. This was our first stay in Rock House, our best stay in Lynmouth (of many) and we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 - views were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here again in September 2011, two years after our first visit. So pleased to find our initial pleased reaction to this hotel was borne out in a similar experience the second time round. The staff were friendly and welcoming as before, rooms clean and comfy and we had a magical weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weeb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just got back from a weekend my boyfriend booked for us here. It was a total surprise to arrive to such a pretty place. All I knew was I was being taken to North Devon for the weekend. On arrival it was dark but from our room 9 window on the ground floor I could see the sea very close up from both the bathroom window and the bedroom one which added to the sense of mystery. It felt like being in a lighthouse! Really special view. Even had a little garden outside the window.

The boyfriend had bought some roses and Champagne with him and they didn't mind at all and when we asked for some flute glasses they also bought an ice bucket on a stand with the napkin in the side to the room! and a vase for the roses! Nothing was too much trouble all the time we were there.

We ate in the restaurant that night and the meal was first class. We sat by the window looking at the boats bobbing up and down in the harbour.

In the morning we ate a full english breakfast that was not greasy at all, infact a bit of fried bread would have helped get the bit of a guilty feeling and would not have gone amiss. It was all piping hot. James served us both the evening before and for this breakfast and he was a charming young guy (looked and acted a bit like Jimmy Carr).

The first day we went on the cliff railway up to Lynmouth and it was lovely to look around so many little shops and have a cream tea. We did start to walk up to the valley of the rocks but I didn't like the way we went because it had a quite narrow (for my liking) tarmac path around the top and the drop was so close with me not liking heights I had to turn back but the boyfriend carried on and I made my way back down to Lynmouth stopping at times to absorb all that was happening in the beautiful scene here and there. From high up it looked like a model village. Lots happening.

I particularly loved the little white bridge over to the hotel and the hills/cliffs around the town. Someone told us the Swiss like it there, they call it Little Swtizerland. Good to watch the surfers too, like lots of little tadpoles in the sea. We were changed to an upstairs room the second night so we got to see another view towards The Manor House and up the Gordge. The rooms and shower rooms were very clean with plenty of tea and coffee supplies. When, not if I go again I would ask for a room with a bath, just because I prefer baths but it wouldn't be a deal breaker if one was not available... I would just love to visit it again at any time of year, the summer it may be very busy!.

Thankyou everyone at The Rock Hotel, we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor was near the loos but we didn't notice anything upsetting about thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great location but our food was not. From the outside of the property and the prices of it's menu we expected a little bit more than just frozen grub. Both myself and my partner ordered burgers, I had the chicken and my boyfriend had beef, although both meals came with bacon and cheese neither had any flavour, which tells us only cheap produce had been used. The side salad was fine but the chips were totally standard, we paid £8.95 so was expecting hand made chips and burgers, smokey bacon and decent flavored cheese. Just disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had 2 rooms for one night (a single and double), both rooms were fantastic couldnt ask for better. Both were spotlessly clean and well equiped. We had 2 dogs with us who were accommodated with no fuss at all. They were able to join us for our evening meal and for breakfast (we were reserved a table in the bar rather than the restaurant, but it was equally as pleasant). The food was excellent and great value too, all piping hot and delicious. But the best thing about this hotel has to be the staff they were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come accross. Nothing was too much trouble.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation. Anyone looking to book this hotel should ignore any negative reviews and go for it. We will definitely be back, hopefuly for longer!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premium6sn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotomacMD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Nice small hotel of 8 rooms in a tiny harbor village. Picturesque setting. Big room and bath. Food was good, generous breakfast and well prepared dinner, and staff, so very nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaPotomacMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Property: Rock House Hotel
Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing