We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff”
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in April. It was a fab setting and lovely room with a fab view over the harbour. The furnishings were all very nice and modern and the room offered all modern amenities and was very clean. The staff were all lovely and very attentive so could not fault the service at all. The owners were lovely too and made us feel very welcome! Would definitely go back again. Restaurant was a bit disappointing .. Quite a bland menu which was a shame as they have a great location and have perhaps missed a trick here.

Room Tip: Room four for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalush27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked this place on the recommendation of a pub ( Severn Bore ) owner and a customer in a Gloucester ( and confirmed on Tripadvisor , of course ) . We absolutely loved it . Biggest and best room that we've found in 3 weeks in a Britain . The view alone from our room was worth twice the price . Staff are great (esp. James) . Dining room was terrific for dinner and breakfast . Two complaints ; the room was pretty cold at times and the WIFI was very slow even though we were told the modem was in or near our room . However these are minor issues , otherwise the place was just great .

Room Tip: Number 4 is great and has a fabulous view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdmiller_pcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Rock House Hotel for 3 nights at the end of February, and our stay was utterly wonderful.

We stayed in Room 4, as recommended when booking, and you can see exactly why it's recommended - beautifully furnished with stunning views to wake up to. Not a massive room, but equally not small - just right. The television is a little small, so had to move the table it was on closer to the bed when watching it, but actually with stunning walks and scenery surrounding you, you won't need the tv much at all (we only had it on when we returned from a couple of very long walks in the afternoon and the weather had turned). Additionally, you can select DVDs from the large selection that the hotel have, which I felt was a really nice touch (and personal recommendations from the staff which helped!)

The food was splendid, coupled with wonderful views out across the harbour. Great choice at breakfast with speedy service too, with the option of a healthy breakfast of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (which I had every morning and was beautiful). We had dinner here on two of our nights, simply because the food was delicious but also so reasonably priced. The hotel also offer cream teas and cakes, which was much needed after one of our particularly strenuous treks on our third day!

The service was second to none - nothing was too much for the staff, and as soon as we arrived from the moment we left, we felt right at home. Having never visited the area before (and not doing any research on "things to do" prior to going), we would have been at a loss if it weren't for the staff's personal recommendations on walks to go on (equipped with printed directions) and tea rooms to visit. The hotel boasts a genuine warm atmosphere, and the staff can never do enough for you - we were made to feel like royalty!

Simply splendid, and we can't wait to return next year. Thank you again Rock House.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EloiseAmyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently for a 2 night break. Our double room was very comfortable, warm and well furnished. Shower room was fine, although a shelf/chair to put toiletries on would be helpful. Great breakfast, served by a very pleasant lady who was very efficient.
Only downside of staying here is the parking - although there is a parking space for each room they are quite "tight" and negotiating in/out was quite daunting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 363SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Mike and team run a marvelous little hotel here. Our stay was perfect in every way; the room was clean, thoughtfully furnished with a walk in shower. A bonus (not seen before) was a combined TV and DVD. Although we didn't use the DVD thee were plenty of choices we could have used at the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights and both our choices were cooked to perfection. Menus include fish, curries and grills. They have a good selection of wines and the Irish coffee prepared by James was to die for!! If you are looking for a quiet family run hotel with excellent views and whose wish is that you enjoy your stay then the Rock House is for you. A word of warning (or blessing) mobile phones networks are unavailable but the hotel does have excellent free wifi.

Room Tip: ask for room 6 - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First time at this hotel, stayed 2 nights. Lovely friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel is spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated in keeping with the character of the house. Perfect location close to the town and all facilities.( Lynton and Lynmouth are picture postcard places) Lovely breakfast. Cannot fault it and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose your view - the harbour and town, the seafront - as the receptionist what is available they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabbey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent two lovely nights at the Rock House Hotel in a room with a great view of the harbour and the oldest part of Lynmouth. As the sea was lively we had a fantastic views of a dramatic high tide as the waves crashed over the harbour walls. The room - complete with four poster bed - was really comfortable. Attention to detail, comfort and relaxation is a priority. Staff are friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and for breakfast. As has been said before the breakfasts are exceptionally good using good quality, locally sourced produce. It was our first time in Lynmouth and we could have chosen a better base. While you are there take the railway up to Lynton and I can also recommend Le Bistro for dinner (see separate review). We will, I hope, be back here and will definitely stay at the Rock House Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcginc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £83 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing