We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better location than this in Lynmouth!”
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No better location than this in Lynmouth!”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

After coming back from our honeymoon in Orlando, my wife and I elected to have a couple of days away in our last week before going back to work. We decided on the North Devon coast for some scenery, lovely walks and as my wife loves the sea, next to the coast.

We eventually decided on Lynmouth after a recommendation from my parents. After using Trip Advisor and the affiliated room booking company’s were found a last minute room the night before leaving at The Rock House Hotel.

As you descend from Exmoor down into Lynmouth you have a fantastic view across the town and the bay with Lynton above on the headland and Swansea only 27 miles across the sea. Being this close to Wales does mean that we got the Welsh news whilst staying in Devon!

The Rock House Hotel itself is located on the shoreline and offers fantastic clear views out to sea. Car parking is an issue in the town and there are very limited spaces available. We got talking to the owners who have run the hotel for the past two years and they said that during the winter they shutter up the sea facing side of the hotel as waves have been known to crash against that side of the building! All was calm for our stay.

We stayed in Room 9 which is located on the ground floor. It is a twin/double room and gives you a sea and harbour view. It is comfortable with an interesting blue “delft” type wall paper.

The wallpaper was peeling in some places and the border was stuck on top of the paper giving a strange optical effect if you looked at it to long. Can’t remember the last time that I stayed in a hotel were sheets and a blanket were used rather than a duvet.

The worst part of the room however was that being the only room on the ground floor it backed onto the bar area, was off the main corridor and also adjacent to the ladies and gents toilets for the hotel. The bar granted wasn’t busy for our stay but was noisy with drinks being prepared through to 11pm; the corridor was busy most of the time and was hovered our first morning at 0830am! Best part was as the ladies toilet as this backed onto the bedroom and bathroom and so you could hear every visitor from when they entered to when they left and their interactions in between - hmm, not what you want to know.

The breakfast was ok but nothing to shout home about. Service was ok with the helpful Eastern European lady and fairly prompt.

However for £96.00 per night including breakfast we were disappointed and felt for this amount paid much more was expected of the room rather than just the view.

It has a superb location for Lynmouth and excellent views out to sea but expect more for what we paid per night. It could do with decorating to a higher standard giving the “fortune” the owner said he was making from the hotel (and at the rates they are charging) and other similarly priced hotels in the town. At all counts do avoid taking Room #9!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Thomas_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    76
    24
    28
    27
See reviews for
49
189
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Wonderful location right on the harbour with the lovely sound of lapping waves to wake up to. One room is dog friendly which clinched the booking for us.This room is next to the bar and can be quite noisy during the day but much quieter by early evening. Customer service was mainly excellent with one or two minor glitches. Diner was very well presented with good quality produce used and not over priced. Good standard of breakfast but portions not huge. Rooms slightly dated but the superb location more than made up for this.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caruteithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We had a fantastic stay at this lovely hotel. Everyone we spoke too had also enjoyed their stay and would be returning like ourselves. The staff and owners of the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfortable with wonderful views, we stayed in Room 4 and could lay in bed and look out over the harbour. We look forward to returning in February.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed at the Rock House Hotel in Lynmouth for 2 nights in June 2009. We did have our fair share of problems and I am afraid I would not stay here again. When checking in, the young lady on reception could not find our booking (made by e-mail about a month earlier and a 50% deposit paid). Luckily the manager came along and found it (on their rather odd booking system – a large piece of cardboard marked out in squares - one square for each room!).
The hotel does have on site parking with just about enough spaces for the number of rooms. It has a restaurant and a bar but we did not try them. They also have a large garden where they serve cream teas to non-residents. It is a very quiet and beautiful location, right in the centre of Lynmouth on the watersedge and next to the little harbour. From the town, the hotel can be reached by a lovely white pedestrian bridge over the River Lyn.
We were allocated Room 6, which was quite spacious but very old fashioned. It was light and airy with two large windows with lovely views over the sea and the village. The en-suite bathroom has been made out of one corner of the bedroom and it rather small, no window and no lock on the sliding door. The shower cubicle itself was rather small and had a not very powerful electric shower. Also, there was nowhere in the bathroom to put your bits and pieces down. The towels were also rather on the small side.
The room had a t.v., hairdryer, electric clock and tea/coffee making facilities but there was no telephone. Also, the curtains were rather light-weight which meant the room became very light early in the mornings and I could not sleep very well after 4am.
The staff are friendly but rather dizzy. At breakfast we had the children’s dinner menu instead of the breakfast menu and we were served our morning pot of coffee but had no cups. Breakfast was okay but nothing special and a limited choice of cold foods.
On our first full day there, we had been out all day sightseeing and arrived back to our room at around 6.30pm. We were astonished and rather annoyed to find that the room had not been made up at all. Bed not made, bedroom and bathroom not cleaned, no clean towels, coffee cups etc not cleaned, bins not emptied. My husband went downstairs to complain and was informed that, somehow, our room had been forgotten. They did apologise but did not offer to make the room up. All they did was to wash to coffee cups and provide us with clean towel – and these took a second asking before they eventually came up.
All in all, I would say that this hotel is a definite 3 star and no way is it a 4 star and therefore is overpriced and was a real disappointment. I would definitely not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We had the good fortune to stay at the Rock House for 2 nights in May 2009. Lynne, the manager, couldn’t have been more accommodating. The setting is lovely, the rooms comfortable and we could listen to the sounds of the sea and the river just outside our windows. The food, particularly the fish, is very good. The quiet, warm welcome at the Rock House more than made up for the cool wet weather during our stay. Lynmouth is a fascinating little town with good walks nearby and Rock House is a delightful place from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We have stayed at the hotel on four occasions and each time as been really great. The owners Mike and Glenys are fantastic hosts. Nothing is to much trouble and staff are very freindly. The hotel is very clean and the rooms have got super views. The hotel is set in the most amazing position on the edge of the harbour. We have only one problem that is we have to leave this fantastic little hotel and great surroundings behind. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

A Carter Leicestershire

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Having stayed at this hotel when it was managed by the previous owners we expected it to be of similiar, if not higher standard, judging by the price. We were so disappointed by the decline in customer service which at times bordered on Basil Fawlty.

Shortly after arriving we went to the bar for a drink which was empty as it was a sunny day and everyone was sitting outside. This was at about 5.30. Glynis, one of the owners, came and told us the table we sat at was reserved (no sign on it) from 7.00 and proceeded to make us feel a nuisance for sitting at a table in an empty bar even though we said we would be gone by 6.15 and would move if the people who reserved the table turned up early. Then the entertainment started. The hotel seems to have become an unofficial language school as many staff are there to learn English. As a result the Spanish barman got someone's food order wrong and received a very public dressing down from the chef whilst people stood at the bar waiting to be served.

The service at breakfast (day 1) was by one waitress who was overworked, got orders wrong and delivered meals to the wrong tables. The orange juice ran out and took ages to be replaced, after prompting. The same happened the next day when Mike, the other owner, was serving so it doesn't seem to be the waitress that was at fault. Portions were small and ingredients indifferent which was the complete opposite of the previous team.

Dinner was one of the worst dining experiences I have yet to encounter. The service was slow and inconsistent. The couple at the next table got an ice bucket for their sparkling wine, we got a cheap and nasty cooler for the same wine. The couple at the next table got bread - we didn't until we asked and then it arrived after the meal was almost over. We ordered water and only got one glass. The chicken and pork were suitable only for soling shoes whilst the veg were on the very raw side of al dente. All this was accompanied by another guest refusing to pay his bill and complaining about equally poor service. Unfortunately I don't have his confidence so paid up and hated myself for fearing they would doing something horrible to my breakfast the next day if I didn't.

We paid £110 per night for the best room in the hotel and were made to feel like second class citizens.

The hotel location and views are fantastic but they are not enough to draw us back until these owners move on. We will return to Lynmouth but it won't be to The Rock House under the current management.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auroras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Property: Rock House Hotel
Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing