We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderfull Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK.
1 review
“What a Wonderfull Weekend”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Located, as it is, adjacent to Lynmouth harbour which itself is situated at the confluence of the East Lyn and West Lyn rivers, Rock House Hotel offers views, from all of its’ delightfully decorated rooms, of either sea, harbour or river gorge and is a perfect location for exploring the Exmoor National Park and North Devon Coast in general.
Although the same menu is offered in both Bar and Restaurant, the presentation, service and harbour views from the windows ensure that taking a meal in the Restaurant is an occasion to savoir. The locally sourced ingredients are superbly cooked and every effort is taken to accommodate any dietary requirements a guest may have – the full English Breakfast is especially worthy of note as it can almost be described as “Low Fat.”
Overall Glenys and Mike, the proprietors, together with their young and well schooled team, went out of their way to make our long weekend stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
We certainly recommend staying at Rock House and look forward to returning soon; their three nights for the price of two is excellent value.
joanne.millett@mypostoffice.co.uk

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_C_Merlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    74
    20
    20
    20
See reviews for
44
177
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

After driving for 3 hours from the Cotswolds along slow winding, hilly wet roads on a wild and wet late winters night we hoped to find a lovely hotel in a fantastic setting. We were not disappointed.

We managed to squeeze the car into the tiny car park which apparently has a space for each room but could not quite see how this was the case as we had to block other cars in and was assurred this was ok. They need to take some of the large beer garden and add a few more spaces.

We received a very warm welcome from what we assumed was the owner/manageress who showed us to our room. A very clean and nicely furnished room and sparklingly clean bathroom.

We soon sampled the bar which had a good local real ale although due to the time of year no other choice but that was not a problem. It was only 8.30 but we had to order food quick which was all a bit of a rush. Not all dishes were on so had what felt like a very quickly put together starter which could have been better. This was followed by a steak which was average. On the second night we could not eat elsewhere as seemed busy so ate at the hotel again. This time we had more time but there were no tables in the restaurant although that did not matter as the menu was the same. We therefore ate in the lounge bar which begs the question why is the restaurant menu the same as the bar food. Overall the menu regardless where you ate was not overly varied especially as there was no fresh fish and a distinct pub food menu as opposed to A La carte.

On saturday nights they have the entertainer which is advertised as "you will be amazed" well you certainly will be. To be honest after 10 pints of the local ale it was difficult to judge how amazed i was.

Bar staff were excellent and very attentive.

Breakfast on both days was very good and well cooked and served up by a very pleasant foreign lady who also doubled up as recepionist.

This a review of the hotel but cannot fault the location which is excellent with a number of other hotels including the rising sun which looks good and i would say is on a par with Rock House but hav enot stayed there so is only based upon appearance.

Overall i would return to the Rock House and recommend this hotel to other readers but the food does need improving but that is not to say it was bad as it was not.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We have just returned from our second visit to The Rock House Hotel and once again we had a lovely time. On both occasions we have had excellent rooms with fantastic views of Lynmouth. They were warm, comfortable, spacious and clean.
The food, breakfast and evening meals, were of a high quality and good value for money. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
The Hotel is in an excellent position with free parking, (an added bonus in Lynmouth) and we would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjackson_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

After coming back from our honeymoon in Orlando, my wife and I elected to have a couple of days away in our last week before going back to work. We decided on the North Devon coast for some scenery, lovely walks and as my wife loves the sea, next to the coast.

We eventually decided on Lynmouth after a recommendation from my parents. After using Trip Advisor and the affiliated room booking company’s were found a last minute room the night before leaving at The Rock House Hotel.

As you descend from Exmoor down into Lynmouth you have a fantastic view across the town and the bay with Lynton above on the headland and Swansea only 27 miles across the sea. Being this close to Wales does mean that we got the Welsh news whilst staying in Devon!

The Rock House Hotel itself is located on the shoreline and offers fantastic clear views out to sea. Car parking is an issue in the town and there are very limited spaces available. We got talking to the owners who have run the hotel for the past two years and they said that during the winter they shutter up the sea facing side of the hotel as waves have been known to crash against that side of the building! All was calm for our stay.

We stayed in Room 9 which is located on the ground floor. It is a twin/double room and gives you a sea and harbour view. It is comfortable with an interesting blue “delft” type wall paper.

The wallpaper was peeling in some places and the border was stuck on top of the paper giving a strange optical effect if you looked at it to long. Can’t remember the last time that I stayed in a hotel were sheets and a blanket were used rather than a duvet.

The worst part of the room however was that being the only room on the ground floor it backed onto the bar area, was off the main corridor and also adjacent to the ladies and gents toilets for the hotel. The bar granted wasn’t busy for our stay but was noisy with drinks being prepared through to 11pm; the corridor was busy most of the time and was hovered our first morning at 0830am! Best part was as the ladies toilet as this backed onto the bedroom and bathroom and so you could hear every visitor from when they entered to when they left and their interactions in between - hmm, not what you want to know.

The breakfast was ok but nothing to shout home about. Service was ok with the helpful Eastern European lady and fairly prompt.

However for £96.00 per night including breakfast we were disappointed and felt for this amount paid much more was expected of the room rather than just the view.

It has a superb location for Lynmouth and excellent views out to sea but expect more for what we paid per night. It could do with decorating to a higher standard giving the “fortune” the owner said he was making from the hotel (and at the rates they are charging) and other similarly priced hotels in the town. At all counts do avoid taking Room #9!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Thomas_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Wonderful location right on the harbour with the lovely sound of lapping waves to wake up to. One room is dog friendly which clinched the booking for us.This room is next to the bar and can be quite noisy during the day but much quieter by early evening. Customer service was mainly excellent with one or two minor glitches. Diner was very well presented with good quality produce used and not over priced. Good standard of breakfast but portions not huge. Rooms slightly dated but the superb location more than made up for this.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caruteithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We had a fantastic stay at this lovely hotel. Everyone we spoke too had also enjoyed their stay and would be returning like ourselves. The staff and owners of the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfortable with wonderful views, we stayed in Room 4 and could lay in bed and look out over the harbour. We look forward to returning in February.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed at the Rock House Hotel in Lynmouth for 2 nights in June 2009. We did have our fair share of problems and I am afraid I would not stay here again. When checking in, the young lady on reception could not find our booking (made by e-mail about a month earlier and a 50% deposit paid). Luckily the manager came along and found it (on their rather odd booking system – a large piece of cardboard marked out in squares - one square for each room!).
The hotel does have on site parking with just about enough spaces for the number of rooms. It has a restaurant and a bar but we did not try them. They also have a large garden where they serve cream teas to non-residents. It is a very quiet and beautiful location, right in the centre of Lynmouth on the watersedge and next to the little harbour. From the town, the hotel can be reached by a lovely white pedestrian bridge over the River Lyn.
We were allocated Room 6, which was quite spacious but very old fashioned. It was light and airy with two large windows with lovely views over the sea and the village. The en-suite bathroom has been made out of one corner of the bedroom and it rather small, no window and no lock on the sliding door. The shower cubicle itself was rather small and had a not very powerful electric shower. Also, there was nowhere in the bathroom to put your bits and pieces down. The towels were also rather on the small side.
The room had a t.v., hairdryer, electric clock and tea/coffee making facilities but there was no telephone. Also, the curtains were rather light-weight which meant the room became very light early in the mornings and I could not sleep very well after 4am.
The staff are friendly but rather dizzy. At breakfast we had the children’s dinner menu instead of the breakfast menu and we were served our morning pot of coffee but had no cups. Breakfast was okay but nothing special and a limited choice of cold foods.
On our first full day there, we had been out all day sightseeing and arrived back to our room at around 6.30pm. We were astonished and rather annoyed to find that the room had not been made up at all. Bed not made, bedroom and bathroom not cleaned, no clean towels, coffee cups etc not cleaned, bins not emptied. My husband went downstairs to complain and was informed that, somehow, our room had been forgotten. They did apologise but did not offer to make the room up. All they did was to wash to coffee cups and provide us with clean towel – and these took a second asking before they eventually came up.
All in all, I would say that this hotel is a definite 3 star and no way is it a 4 star and therefore is overpriced and was a real disappointment. I would definitely not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
182 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Property: Rock House Hotel
Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing