We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, terrible food and poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Millers at the Tors - CLOSED

Millers at the Tors
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Building currently closed for an extended period of buliding work.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice location, terrible food and poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Undercooked turkey, rock hard sprouts and bullet like roast potatoes. Service was poor as the staff struggled to cope with hotel guests before being able to serve our party leaving us waiting for nearly an hour for our starters. Overall a very bad experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
231 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“If you like weird try this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Faulty Towers meets Crossroads meets The Rocky Horror Picture Showroom, this place is seriously weird. The food is ok, not refined but worked at. The service is very foreign, Irish, Scottish and Transalvanian, the dining room cold and lifeless and the bar somewhere to smoke an opium pipe. The toilets are 1975 British Rail and Mr Millars gin is sweet and served instead of any decent gin. It is a long walk up, a long walk down but far preferable to staying there. Run Janet.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Love the decor and the furnishings......top notch. Food bit basic although we only had the terrace menu. However, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank suewright180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Pretty decent food - great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We sat in the restaurant one evening and had the full 3 courses. Started with an amuse-bouche of a battered prawn. Starter of pate was superb if a bit on the large size. Wifes seafood starter of crab, salmon, prawn was lovely. My main of pork belly and pork cheek had the most perfectly crisp crackling. Wife's fillet of beef was ok. We shared a platter of local cheeses which I thought were tasty. Wine list is simple but with some interesting choices from around the World. The New Zealand sauvignon blanc was excellent. The French red less so! The staff are perfectly nice but service was terribly slow - half an hour for a drink to arrive, an hour for the starter. It needs better supervision. We also had a dinner on the brilliant terrace with its stunning view over Lynmouth. The terrace menu is very good value and the food as above.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, eat at sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Well worth a visit on a good day. Sit on the terrace and enjoy the amazing views, especially at sunset. The food ffrom the Terrace Bar is tasty and good value. Have also tried the Sunday lunches and can thoroughly recommend them. Price of wine is a bit steep, but the Cornish lager is a better option. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, make one feel very welcome.
I'm looking forward to trying the cinema nights: meal and a film for a set price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LyntonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers at the Tors also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing