We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the fixed price evening meal menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millers at the Tors

Millers at the Tors
Ranked #18 of 23 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Building currently closed for an extended period of buliding work.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beware the fixed price evening meal menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We dined here the night after a pub meal with a similar TripAdvisor rating. After we had booked and were settled in the hotel restaurant I was a bit surprised to find that we had committed to a fixed price, 3-course meal at £35 per head. This is usually about double what I am happy with paying when traveling. To be fair, the food was beautifully cooked and presented but, on the down side, it was a rather limited menu, some dishes had a further surcharge of £5.75, and the service was not attentive. Only one young lady seemed to be doing most of the work! The location is very scenic but the hotel has seen better days.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlfredBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in North Devon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here for a wedding recently and we ate in the restaurant both for the wedding itself and the days either side. The food was really lovely, much nicer than you would usually find in a hotel - delicious beef, tender belly pork, tasty curry, yummy pudding and even a great breakfast. The views from the restaurant were fantastic too. After the wedding we travelled around North Devon and we only found fairly average food so this is worth checking out if you're in Lynmouth!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We ate here as we were staying in the hotel but were not disappointed. The meal comprised of 4 courses all of which were beautifully presented and tasted great, Fine dining quality at a good price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sun deck, views & gin cocktails - food good, place odd but interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Decent enough meal and loved the views for pre-dinner drinks with Martin Miller Gin. A lot of interesting junk in the hotel and restaurant a bit old school with service too match - but sort of all fitted together really. Memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CChris1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“English Eccentricity at its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We did not stay, but had to visit the place since close friends of ours insisted that we should see it. So we went, in what we thought would be the vain hope hope that we might get a luncheon 'snack' on the wonderful terrace which overlooks the village of Lynmouth. Others were lunching in the restaurant and we were the only ones wishing to sit out and have a sandwich. We were received graciously and had our requests met in the most courteous and efficient manner - the service was attentive and friendly. We thought that our server was probably a member of the management team, and he was only too willing to share with us the 'story' behind the extraordinary and wonderful contents, from whence the title of this Review is derived, of the building. For all that information go to their website and learn about Millers Hotels (the proprietor is he of Millers Antique Guides).. Our experience told us that our next visit to Lynton and Lynmouth will include a stay at the Tors (especially if the management decides after all to keep the swimming pool!).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gladys70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers at the Tors also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Millers at the Tors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing