We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a waste of a lovely spot for a tea garden...”

The Captain's House Afternoon Tea
Ranked #6 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a waste of a lovely spot for a tea garden...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

what a lovely place lynmouth is - amazing location. A friend and i drove from
Taunton to spend monday afternoon walking to the Valley of the Rocks and back.
A beautiful walk, stunning natural beauty, sunshine, blue sky - perfect spring
day. Having done our walk and heading back to the car pleasantly tired and in
need of a cuppa, we happened upon The Captain's House tea garden which looked
rather inviting and pretty in it's riverbank situation. We plumped for tea and
cake; no chance of seeing the cake, we were just told 'lemon drizzle or coffee
and walnut'. We had a slice of each and a pot of tea for two. The cups were the
sort you would find in a (bad) greasy spoon cafe, the stainless steel pot,
although big, was grubby, VERY dribblesome and we had trouble believing that
the water had been boiling at the time it was poured onto the tea bags. As for
the cake..... i am not a connoisseur but i know a lemon drizzle when i see one.
This was just a sponge sandwhich with lemon icing on the top and in the middle
and SOOOooooo dry. The coffee and walnut could not be described as sponge, it
was very dense.My friend asked to use a loo.....and was abruptly directed to the public
conveniences on the other side of the river "which we maintain" - really? did
he just mean that he pays his taxes?? At no point did the proprietor (once he
had plonked our tea and cake on the table) come by to ask if all was well...
just took our £11.00 and hid in the house. oh, did i say, the 'cake' was £3.50
per slice - THREE POUNDS AND FIFTY PENCE for a slice of cake. Should have gone
back to the place we had lunch where service was admirable, tea was hot and
huge slice of fresh carrot cake was only £2.30!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jobdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    8
    7
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a waste of a lovely spot for a tea garden...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

what a lovely place lynmouth is - amazing location. A friend and i drove from Taunton to spend monday afternoon walking to the Valley of the Rocks and back. A beautiful walk, stunning natural beauty, sunshine, blue sky - perfect spring day.
Having done our walk and heading back to the car pleasantly tired and in need of a cuppa, we happened upon The Captain's House tea garden which looked rather inviting and pretty in it's riverbank situation. We plumped for tea and cake; no chance of seeing the cake, we were just told 'lemon drizzle or coffee and walnut'. We had a slice of each and a pot of tea for two.
The cups were the sort you would find in a (bad) greasy spoon cafe, the stainless steel pot,
although big, was grubby, VERY dribblesome and we had trouble believing that the water had been boiling at the time it was poured onto the tea bags. As for the cake..... i am not a connoisseur but i know a lemon drizzle when i see one. This was just a sponge sandwhich with lemon icing on the top and in the middle and SOOOooooo dry. The coffee and walnut could not be described as sponge, it was very dense.
My friend asked to use a loo.....and was abruptly directed to the public conveniences on the other side of the river "which we maintain" - really? did he just mean that he pays his taxes?? At no point did the proprietor (once he had plonked our tea and cake on the table) come by to ask if all was well... just took our £11.00 and hid in the house. oh, did i say, the 'cake' was £3.50 per slice - THREE POUNDS AND FIFTY PENCE for a slice of cake. I know....caveat emptor and all that but i believed that the rather high price would somehow be warranted...wrong. Should have gone back to the place we had lunch where service was admirable, tea was hot and huge slice of fresh carrot cake was only £2.30!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The only good thing about this place is the pretty garden! My wife and I ordered a Cream Tea and wished we hadn't bothered. Paying £5 each we expected a delicious treat, how wrong we were! The tea was severed in hideous green hospital style cups and saucers and the tea pot was a metal affair that leaked everywhere when poured. The scone was equivalent to the saver range found in most supermarkets and the cream was definitely not Devon clotted, more liked a bit of whipping cream. The jam had no fruit in it was just a blob of cheap tasteless goo. The owner would not let me in to wash my hands and pointed to the outside tap and toilets in the main square. If there was an award for the worst cream tea this establishment would win hands down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Petesholidaytips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“obviously no lessons learned”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

four of us visited this awful establishment asked if they did afternoon t and he said it was his speciality, so we were expecting great things boy were we disappointed, awful green cups that i have seen in hospitals in the 80's, metal t pots that spilt everywhere and a pot of the worse coffee i have every tasted, the scones were ok, he then asked for £20 which we paid and he went in and shut the door on us, after forcing this afternoon t down we wanted to use the toilet so we had to ring the door bell, he was very reluctant to let us use the facility, the place inside was very creepy and when asked had he been busy he said no well i am not surprised, stay away from here there are some lovely t shops in the centre

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnedglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Dropped into for a snack but we were charged £9 for two teas and two toasted teacackes. Not very impressed - we could have had two cream teas elsewhere for the same money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Captain's House Afternoon Tea also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Captain's House Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing