We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for lunch with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pavilion Dining Room

The Pavilion Dining Room
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Tea Room and Cafe serving Loose Leaf Tea, Fresh Ground Coffee, Homemade Cakes, Breakfast and Lunch Menu served all day. Open 7 days a week 10am-5pm with probably the best view in Lynmouth.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food for lunch with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Upstairs of the national centre is a great cafe that serves everything. They also accept dogs so took my year old springer there. The selection of food is great,service and staff and are kind and great. I had cream tea with sandwiches and cakes- lovely, in vintage cups and saucers. Great views over the sea. Worth the visit

Helpful?
Thank melissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    60
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have often been to Lynmouth and observed a broken down establishment almost next door to the famous cliff railway. Apparently this site was purchased for just £1 (yes ONE) pound so we were assured, What a mamoth transformation has taken place. It must have cost millions! It now is a very modern Information office on the ground floor for the Exmoor Parks with some good high tech equipment to interest all ages. Going upstairs (in our case) using the lift we came into this very upmarket establishment (we thought) but were quite taken aback that it is so friendly and amazingly laid out as a lovely restaurant with excellant views over the coast, The food is delicious and not expensive! We did not stay long enough to sample any main meals but the crab and ham sandwiches were really excellant together with a pot of loose leaf tea (Ah! those were the days). The toilets were excellant. We were quite reluctant to leave. The outside patio overlooked the sea. What could one wish for more than this place of relaxing, peaceful refreshment? Truly "an oasis in the desert" !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A special deal took us to this place in Lynmouth for a cream tea. It was lovely, fresh plentiful and the service was good. We will be returning when we are next visiting North Devon.

This dining room overlooks the sea and there is also an outside patio that extends for more seating.

We looked at the menu for future reference, various choices and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best cream tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Go & have their cream tea with scones home-made on the premises. We had just finished our cream tea when they brought out samples of the just-cooked scones, but we were unable to try them as we were totally stuffed. In fact we didn't need an evening meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
488 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Great little place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped here on a Monday for lunch. Lynmouth was fairly busy with tourists but the cafe was peaceful so we managed to get seating for 10 people easily.
The choices are good and all home cooked. We chose between crab, chicken, egg mayonnaise etc sandwiches, which came garnished with a dressed salad. The service was good and the views marvelous from this refurbished 1932 pavilion. One of the best views, apart from the bay, was of the very steep Lynmouth/Lynton lift, which apparently could takes cars in the 30's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pavilion Dining Room also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Pavilion Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing