We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, comfortable and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #5 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sharon, the landlady gave us a warm welcome, serving us tea and biscuits on the verandah terrace. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Facilities very good. The breakfast was very good, and I was particularly pleased with the fried bread - you don't often get that, it usually seems to be toast. We would definitely stay here again.
NB We mentioned that it was my birthday the day after we arrived.... and at breakfast on my birthday they gave me a birthday card! A very thoughtful touch!

Vicki and Nick

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toria801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
So glad you enjoyed your break and thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. Thank you also for your lovely comments about breakfast. Neil was really pleased
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
115
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked the B&B for our first wedding anniversary, and made the choice based on others reviews on here. I am glad we did as we were very well looked after during our weekend. We were welcomed in on our arrival and allowed to settle into our room, there is a folder with useful info and local attractions for those without any set plans. Lynmouth and Lynton are great places to explore and the B&B has many walks on it's doorstep, if you have not done your homework (or left it at home as I did)! Neil and Sharon are able to offer their knowledge in planning your days outings, with advice on places to stop along the way. There is a choice of breakfasts each morning with specials available if pre-ordered the day before. We felt most welcome at the Lorna Doone House and Neil and Sharon really do go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a smooth and pleasant one. Thanks James and Lauren

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary break at Lorna Doone. Hope we have the pleasure of helping you celebrate lots more! Thank you for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room (and bathroom) was large, comfortable and very clean. For breakfast we had a great choice of everything. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. We loved it and will go back one day, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hel_schuette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope we do have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Upon arrival, Sharon warmly greeted us with tea and cookies on her sunny patio. She’s a very cheerful, communicative person with a good sense of humour and truly loves to entertain her guests. Service received is also very good. The rooms were both of a good size with large bathrooms, the décor a bit dated but in good condition, overall cleanliness was good. Only downside is that the mattress in our bedroom was a bit tired, but was ok for 1 night. Also, it was very quiet at night, but in the morning there was a big noise coming from the water pipes or boiler (no problem if you don’t wish to have a lay-in). Breakfast was very nice with a good choice and freshly prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not find the beds to your liking but are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lorna Doone is a lovely quality B&B with all the finishing touches - perfectly cooked breakfast too. We were welcomed with a pot of tea which was much appreciated and our room was very well equipped. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 4 had a four poster bed and looked over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Everything has already been said about this lovely ' home from home'. Great location, rooms clean and spacious, lovely power shower, food great. Owners are friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. My mum loved them.
Can't get much of a mobile phone signal at times. Also the drive to Lynmouth via Porlock Hill - take the toll road if you can. We have a small car and missed the warning signs, not a pleasant experience!!
Lynmouth itself is lovely, clean, lush, friendly people. Would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Neil's lovely food. Hope your experience of Porlock Hill on the way home was better than your first journey !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Neil and Sharon will offer you a warm welcome to this guest house in central Lynmouth. They have been running the business for some time and just know what they are doing. No messing around, it all just happens like it should. The rooms are clean and lovely without being unnecessarily fussy. Your breakfast order is taken by Sharron and delivered with a smile ten minutes later, just as requested. If you need help with onward travel, the Sharon and Neil super-service comes up with the answers pronto! All in all, an old-style guest house doing good business in today's times. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thanks your kind words. Its always good to hear that we are getting things right. Hope we may have the pleasure of your company if you are in Lynmouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Property: Lorna Doone House
Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing