We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely.”
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #6 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed first weekend in November - our first time in Lynmouth and at Lorna Doone - we were greeted with tea and biscuits on arrival. Perfect location by the river and spacious, clean and warm bedroom. Great breakfast and dinner (optional) was delicious and all home cooked- chef Neil will spoil you. Hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The owners were very friendly and welcoming
The room was clean spacious, and the bed was comfortable but the pillows were very thin. The breakfast was plentiful with a good variety to choose from and the dinner which is optional was good value.Lorna Doone has it'sown car park which makes it very easy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Lyne river have a really pretty view and if you like the sound of running wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We don't think we wil ever get tired of the sound of the water - we agree it is very relaxing. Glad you enjoyed your break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

After Day 2 on the coastal path, a long walk from Porlock, it was great to have a friendly welcome. Lorna Doone is easy to find and in a quiet location near the Path. Breakfast was fine, but dinner was not special. Rather expensive, although this may just reflect higher prices in Lynmouth & Lynton compared with the rest of North Devon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your break and are sorry that on this occassion our evening meal option did not hit the spot. We hope that perhaps you may visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked this B&B after reading the existing reviews on Tripadvisor.
At short notice, we were lucky to get room 9 with river views and twin beds / double option.
The whole experience was on of being very satisfied.
Nice and clean and tidy, great breakfast and perfect location.
We were made to feel very welcome and we would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your perfect review! We are glad you enjoyed your break and hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Lorna Doone Guest House.
We would definitely recommend it. Neil and Sharon make you feel so welcome.
The food was fantastic, especially the delicious full English breakfast.
It is perfectly located in Lynmouth and with the added bonus of free parking.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will0w101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your break here at Lorna Doone. We always try to make it a great place to relax and we are glad you that you found it so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. The room was large, very comfortable and a beautiful view across the river. We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble - Neil even made my wife a chocolate mousse even though it wasn't on the evening's menu. The food was lovely and the breakfast was so substantial even I couldn't face the thought of lunch! We would definitely recommend this guest house to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

So glad you enojoyed Neil's lovely food. I have to agree after one of our Lorna Doone Breakfasts you really don't need much for the rest of the day ..... Until Dinner !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Was a late booking only a few day ago but all was sorted out via e-mail even down to our evening meal. Only stayed one night but a great stay will stay again if in the same area.
Neil and Sharon are great hosts, we had room No2 small but packed with everything you required.Arrived at the front door was greeted by Sharon asking us if we would like a drink. Evening meal was as good has any top restaurant and breakfast first class all so.10 out of10.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short break. Do hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchard House
Orchard House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Lynmouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing