We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 Night Stay”
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #5 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great 3 Night Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a room with a view of the river and a comfortable 4 poster bed. We opted for a dinner, bed and breakfast package as I am celiac and did not want to have to go hunting for gluten free dinners. I took my own cereal and bread and had excellent meals cooked by Neil, who seems to treat cooking as a hobby as well as a job. Both Sharon and Neil had an obviously good knowledge of a gluten free diet, which was very reassuring. They were both excellent friendly hosts with a lot of useful suggestions of what to do and see. I was a bit intimidated by the narrow road and tight parking (not being used to them), but there was plenty to see without taking my car out for the duration of our stay. Neil even drove us out of town to a local vantage point, so we could do a one way walk home which was mainly downhill.
A great place to stay for a visit to The Lynmouth area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is amazing how many people these days also suffer with a Gluten Allergy. Neil enjoys adapting his recipes to suit all tastes and allergies and it was a pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First time in Lynmouth but certainly not the last. Perfect location for a short break. We were more than happy to put the car away in Lorna Doone House parking lot and leave it there until we had to leave. Lots to see and do within short distances. Our accommodation at Lorna Doone House was perfect. Beautiful, river view room. Lovely big bedroom and bathroom. Excellent food - all freshly cooked. Attentive but chilled out hosts Good, free wifi. The porch area at the front of the house was perfect to sit out on each evening. We loved it and so did the dog!!

Room Tip: River view at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. So many of our guests love just being able to park up and enjoy the area without worrying about the car. The Verrandah just lends itself to a G&T and a good book. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with a pot of tea and biscuits and that was a great start to our 2 lovely nights at Lorna Doone House. It is a picture perfect villa style house over looking the river in Lynmouth.
Helpful hosts, taking other guests to the start of walks for them to walk back, offering directions / suggestions for our walk over the hills, providing glasses for an evening tipple, advising as to the best fish & chips in town - & that's not to mention the delicious breakfasts and comfy bed!
A total bonus is the truly dog friendly nature of the house - no rules about where our 4 legged friend could / could not go, just common sense and an expectation of taking other guests into account.
Lovely place to stay, great hosts and tasty food - highly recommended to all!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks for your warm review. We love having dogs stay as they really break the ice with all our guests. Hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camelford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I got back yesterday from a two night stay here. We stayed in a beautiful room with a four poster bed. The room was spotless. It had everything you could want. Tea and coffee facilities with complimentary box of fudge and bottle of mineral water. Beautiful soft white fluffy towels and beautiful bedding. A wonderful power shower in a large ensuite. We were offered a cup of tea or coffee on arrival, which was very welcome. Nothing was any trouble. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and they treated like royalty. The food was absolutely fantastic. The breakfasts were huge with good quality ingredients and well cooked. We had a four course meal on Saturday evening. The standard of food was what you would expect in a posh restaurant but very reasonably priced. The hosts Sharon and Neil were superb ,keeping us updated on the weather and sports(Wimbledon and the world cup). Nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend them and hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed Neil's interruptions regarding the sport!! We don't like people to go hungry so we like to make sure that our guests are well fed. Glad you appreciated the meals and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leschenault Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very comfortable accommodation in such a pretty location overlooking the East Lyn river in Lynmouth. Beautiful Super King size bed - soft and cosy, with plenty of space in the bedroom, plus a large ensuite - no cramped conditions here! This is also the first B&B on this trip that we've found a MOST welcome top sheet on the bed - always, it's only the fitted bottom sheet and the duvet. We like a traditional top sheet as well, and actually brought one from home with us this time, knowing that they are not usually supplied in the UK. But it is here, at Lorna Doone! We also have the option of evening meals - what a boon that is, not having to go back into town at the end of a long day. The dinners served have been absolutely delicious, along with very welcome and relaxing wine, at the end of the day. Top B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Glad that Lynmouth worked its charms and you enjoyed your stay. Neil really enjoys his cooking and it is nice when this is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and loved the room with ensuite. The B&B is right next to a river and found the sound of it very pleasant. The scenery can not be faulted and we found Lynmouth to be a very picturesque and lovely place. We enjoyed one of the local walks and this would be an ideal location for anyone with an interest in walking as there several to chose from nearby. The breakfasts were good and evening meals are an option but not one we used. The hosts were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Lynmouth is a great place to visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the area and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed just one night at the Lorna Doone and wished we had booked for longer. We received a warm welcome and pot of tea on arrival and we were very impressed with the decor and facilities in our room which had a lovely view of the river.

We have visited Lynmouth many times over the last 40 years but this was our first time at this hotel and, hopefully, will not be our last. The food is simply outstanding. Our room was very comfortable and we were made extremely welcome by Sharon and Neil.

Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
We do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again. Its nice to think that even after 40 years Lynmouth still holds its charm. We are glad that you found us and hope we see you on your next visit to this lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Property: Lorna Doone House
Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing