We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonnicott House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed again for two nights last week. The weather and Bonnicott were both excellent. Decor is splendid with echoes of Edwardia. Food is superbly cooked by Jeanne. She is a lovely, caring lady who will make anyone welcome and mean it. And you get massive portions. Breakfast and evening meals huge - and I'm a big eater. Could just about finish without bursting at the seams. Although you must save a little room for triple ice cream for afters. Poppy is the perfect 'man's best friend'. Barks like the clappers when you walk up the steps to the Bonnicott but is loving and playful once you see her inside. Jeremy is a great chap and a dab hand at cryptic crosswords in the Telegraph. All in all, the most genuine and decent place I've ever stayed on holiday. If everywhere was like this, the phrase 'Rip Off Britain' would no longer exist. May God bless Jeanne, Jeremy and Laura. Love to Poppy XXX

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best - Four Poster Elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at Bonnicott House for one night. The hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Bed was very comfortable and Breakfast was lovely including cereal, freshly prepared fruit, yogurt and full English or other alternatives
We were also given a parking permit for the two days we were in Lymouth.
Would stay there again!

Room Tip: We Stayed in the Bishop's suite which has a very comfortable Super-king size bed and everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed two nights whilst walking the South West Coast Path and might have to find an excuse to return to this fabulous hotel. Jeremy and Jeanne were so friendly and welcoming. Our four poster bed was exceedingly comfortable (room 3) and the whole room was full of thoughtful extra touches. The food was very good, especially the generous breakfasts. Jeremy took a special pride in matching music to the guests tastes - no ubiquitous radio music here! Even a guitar was at hand! Needing a lift to our walk starting point was no problem - Jeremy was happy to oblige with transport and lots of good advice. Parking permits for our car appeared as required.
The ambience of Bonnicott House was very relaxing, with lots of books, plants, and interesting items. All in all - top marks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night at this charming B & B. There was a very warm welcome from the hosts. Our room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful view, and breakfast was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommend a visit here. We will be going again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We were two Americans who arrived on their doorstep because of Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Jeanne and Jeremy are the perfect hosts. They spoiled us with wonderful food and lovely rooms. Jeremy even drove us several times to places he thought we would enjoy hiking. Jeanne's gourmet dinners are not to be missed. We left feeling as though we had 2 new friends. We felt it the best place in Lynmouth or Lynton

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

With over 28 B&B's to choose from in the locale it is hard to know which to book. Without doubt, this is the right choice. Located just above the Eat Lyn and within 3 mins walk of the harbour, the beach, the pub and the funicular. Parking on the road (Free 18.00-10.00) or in the public car park opposite is convenenient. A really welcoming property. An eleveated position with fantastic views from both the restaurant and the bar/lounge towards the beach. Huge comfortable chairs, binoculars, newspapers, an honour bar and Jeanne does a mean afternoon tea to chill you out after a hard days walking. Totally relaxing, totallly welcoming and quality through and through from Jeanne and Jeremy who treat their clients like long lost friends. Traditional rooms, well appointed with nice touches like sherry and tea/coffee. A cosy atmosphere is created by the wealth of momorobilia around the guest house. Think more like staying at a familuy home than a hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is an event with a huge choice and if you are hungry then choose to dine in and let Jeanne cook a meal for you. Forget the local rtestaurants for a night in of real quality, choice and excellent value. Despiute non-stop rain and chilly temperatures (It was meant to be summer!) we had a thoroughly great stay and would highly recommend the Bonnicott.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A big thank you to Jeanne and Jeremy for making our first visit to Lynmouth such a lovely experience.
The views from the dining room and lounge are beautiful - even saw our Gower coastline, as the weather was glorious for the whole weekend of our stay.
Jeanne made the most delicious breakfast ever,and Jeremy was always at hand to make sure we had everything we needed.
They really have thought of everything to make their visitors at home, and as there is no mobile phone signal, they freely offer the use of two telephones, with a voluntary contribution box. Games, books,dvds of all kinds to keep guests entertained are available.
Since our son and daughter-in-law have the chemists shop in Lynton, we shall be regular visitors to this delightful b&b..
Such a hard working couple, once again, thank you both x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rockford Inn
The Rockford Inn
#1 of 1 in Brendon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnicott House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnicott House Hotel

Address: 10 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £72 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonnicott House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new ownership, and where all bedrooms have been redecorated and refurbished this charming Grade II listed building offers a warm and friendly welcome. Bonnicott House sits in a elevated position set in the cliff-side. We offer comfortable rooms with fresh crisp linen and white fluffy towels, we are also a 2 minute walk from Lynmouth Town and the Harbour. Our scrumptious breakfasts are cooked to order and served in our dining room overlooking the village with views to the sea, The comfortable and spacious lounge/bar with a log burning stove, also delivers stunning sea panorama and views over our terraced gardens. Guests staying at Bonnicott House also have the option to eat at our sister hotel The Rockford Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bonnicott House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnicott House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing