We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at The Bonnicot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnicott House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas at The Bonnicot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a three day Christmas break at The Bonnicot House Hotel. I would like to thank Jeanne and Jeremy for a wonderful time. What great hospitality. I have never been looked after so well, and I have travelled world wide. the welcome was wonderful and all the time we were there nothing was too much trouble. It is a lovely, warm and inviting house and the four poster room we stayed in was comfortable. I slept really well. Jeanne is the most magnificent chef and all the food was of top quality and sourced from the best purveyors of food. I have been stuffed to the brim with good food and drink and chocolates. A decanter of sherry in the room was an added luxury. The honesty bar also very good and well priced. I will be returning...............................

Room Tip: Tw rooms with four posters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    43
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
227
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay with Jeanne and Jeremy. The room was so comfortable with a gorgeous sea view. Breakfast was delicious, and the lounge was comfortable. Lynmouth and Lynton are lovely even in the cool and rain, with interesting shops, tea rooms and pubs. Jeanne and Jeremy also provide directions for a driving tour around the moors and surrounding towns. Their excellent recommendations made our trip so fantastic, it couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Greetings and thanks a lot from Cologne in Germany for relaxed days in a lovely and welcoming place.Rooms very comfortable. Ours had a great sea view. Breakfast choice excellent.Thank you Jeanne and Jeremy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saikka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a lovely, peaceful and welcoming place to stay. My room overlooked the harbour and was very comfortable. The house is full of books and interesting things and the lounge is a great place to just sit and gaze out at the sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspring51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night while walikng part of the SWCP. Room was comforatable and the whole B&B had a relaxed atmosphere with great soft background music being played in the lounge area. The lounge area is comforatable and drinks are offered on a help yourself basis. You log what you have had and pay on departure. Jeanie and Jeremy are very accomodating and allowed me to drop my bike and luggage at the B&B the day before my arrival. (walked Porlock to Lynmouth). Breakfast was good. After checking out, again i was allowed to leave my luggage at thh B&B while i walked the Coombe Martin to Lynmouth leg. On arriving back at the B&B after walking I was offered a very welcome cup of tea and homemade cake.

I would recomend a stay and Bonnicott and would stay if i was in the area again.

Thank You

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. Rooms very comfortable. Ours had sea view. Breakfast choice excellent and well presented. Room had tea & coffee making facilities, t.v with DVD player. Plenty of books and DVD's to choose from.
As the property is built several feet above street level, parking is in the public car park opposite. We were given a free pass by the proprietor to cover our stay.
Would recommend this place and we will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Luckily they had a vacancy on a Tuesday night for me and my husband, who were in town for one night and needed a place to stay. Jeanie checked us in with no fuss and quickly sent us off to find food since we arrived very late. Luckily, the pub was still open and serving food. We came back to the hotel to find some of the guests enjoying a guitar jam session with one of the staff who's in a band. Jeanie told us to go join in and we did! Such a pleasant evening, although we just got there at the tail end. The hotel itself is much more like a bed and breakfast, as it definitely feels like you're in someone's home. There are plenty of books and magazines around if you're looking for something to read and lots of art and curiosities all around. Our bedroom was small, as is typical in England, but very cozy, with a four poster bed, loveseat sofa, and en suite bathroom. I don't think I'd ever slept in a four poster bed with a canopy before! We felt like medieval royalty! Breakfast was also delicious, and service was excellent. There's no wi-fi in the bedrooms but it is available downstairs in the lounge. I'd definitely recommend Bonnicott House to anyone looking to stay around the Lynmouth area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnicott House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnicott House Hotel

Property: Bonnicott House Hotel
Address: 10 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonnicott House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new ownership, and where all bedrooms have been redecorated and refurbished this charming Grade II listed building offers a warm and friendly welcome from the Managers Martin & Kyle. Bonnicott House sits in a elevated position set in the cliff-side. We offer comfortable rooms with fresh crisp linen and white fluffy towels, we are also a 2 minute walk from Lynmouth Town and the Harbour. Our scrumptious breakfasts are cooked to order and served in our dining room overlooking the village with views to the sea,you can also enjoy excellent meals in our newly opened Restaurant with many delicious options available to all our guests. The comfortable and spacious lounge/bar with a log burning stove, also delivers stunning sea panorama and views over our terraced gardens. Guests staying at Bonnicott House also have the option to eat at our sister hotel The Rockford Inn which also attracts a 10% discount off the famous Rockford Inn Menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bonnicott House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnicott House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing