We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonnicott House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 1 night here recently which we booked at very short notice. Jeremy was very welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay. We have a 2 year old and he was accommodated wonderfully. The free WiFi and free use of the telephone is a nice touch. Our stay was finished off with a fantastic breakfast using local ingredients. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dewowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed one night at the Bonnicott and thoroughly enjoyed it. Warm welcome. The old featues of the building were lovingly preserved. Free use of internet facilities. Fantastic views. The breakfast was excellent. I can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This review is long overdue (sorry guys!). But I've stayed here 3 times with friends and loved it each time. Hosts are lovely and accommodating, the food absolutely gorgeous, and the bar feels like a nostalgic step back in time into cross between a Joan Collins and Hercule Poirot movie.

We'll be back...!

Room Tip: Just ask and they'll give you the best available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here. A large room with four poster bed and 2 chairs in the window overlooking the church and a short walk from the town. Parking in the street means a little climb up to the b'nb but Jeremy was most helpful with luggage. There is a spacious breakfast room and large lounge room so plenty of places to relax. Jeremy and Jeanne were most interesting people and excellent hosts. Music especially chosen by Jeremy for the breakfast room and a huge array of decorations in the house make this a different and memorable experience. Also great location from which to explore north Exmoor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short break to north Devon. The Bonnicott has lots of plus points and just the odd niggle. The location is great, just a short distance from the centre of Lynmouth and elevated above the road to give lovely views (thought he steep slope and steps up would make it unsuitable for those with mobility difficulties) Our room (No 1) was large with a huge bed, towels were plentiful and a good size. Breakfasts were substantial and I particularly welcomed fresh fruit. Jeremy was a very helpful host.
The view from our bedroom would have been great were it not for the condensation and a couple of items at breakfast could have been fresher and the decor looks a little tired. Overall though we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 is large with a King Size bed and a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Returned recently from a weekend at Bonnicott and I can't recommend it highly enough.. It really is a home from home.
Jeanne and Jeremy welcome you into their hotel like welcoming a guest into your home. From the moment I arrived until I left they embrace their guests with such generous warmth and hospitality.
As a solo traveller, their pricing of per person per night (no single supplement) meant I could stay in a lovely double room with sea view at a very reasonable rate.
During my stay I ate dinner once and had two breakfasts all of which were off a very high standard, if I didn't know better you would think hired a professional chef, but no, they do all the cooking themselves, with passion and skill.
The bar/lounge area was a lovely eclectic space to unwind after a long day walking and Jeanne and Jeremy were always around for a chat. I could have talked for hours!!!
I can and will recommend Bonnicott House to everyone. It is a lovely place to stay but the true gems are your hosts, Jeanne and Jeremy
Thank you for a lovely stay and I will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Bonnicott House. Jeanne and Jeremy were perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for us. Jeanne's meals were super delicious! Our room was perfect, we both slept really well. The lounge is cosy and homely. We felt very comfortable and at home. Lynmouth was beautiful, we walked, cycled and horse rode. Perfect spot. Thank you so much Jeanne and Jeremy, we enjoyed everything about our stay and enjoyed your company. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
325 reviews
0 mi away
Orchard House
Orchard House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnicott House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnicott House Hotel

Address: 10 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonnicott House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new ownership, and where all bedrooms have been redecorated and refurbished this charming Grade II listed building offers a warm and friendly welcome. Bonnicott House sits in a elevated position set in the cliff-side. We offer comfortable rooms with fresh crisp linen and white fluffy towels, we are also a 2 minute walk from Lynmouth Town and the Harbour. Our scrumptious breakfasts are cooked to order and served in our dining room overlooking the village with views to the sea, The comfortable and spacious lounge/bar with a log burning stove, also delivers stunning sea panorama and views over our terraced gardens. Guests staying at Bonnicott House also have the option to eat at our sister hotel The Rockford Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bonnicott House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnicott House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing