We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and comfortable”
Review of Riverside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #7 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stopped here when walking the South West Coast Path. This was about the closest place to the path we came on the holiday - right on it and with a lovely view over the river Lyn. We were offered excellent advice about where to eat and what to do and the breakfast was first class. Nice and busy during the day, nice and quiet at night, could not be better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room at the front of the house overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    50
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
127
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A very pleasant B & B – decent sized bedroom with ensuite. The real wow factor though is the view from the bedroom balcony over the estuary and sea. Also the breakfast was superb!
Free parking post 4pm was not a problem immediately outside and we had 2 nice evening meals in the nearby Rising Sun pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Situated in the middle of this beautiful village this B&B is way overpriced. Our room looked onto the rear hillside and was one of the smallest B&B rooms we had ever been in. There was no chair or other comfort as there was no room for one. The double bed was very small. A hand basin was in the room as the "bathroom" only had room for a toilet and shower, it was miniscule. Toilets was very noisy and walls very thin. Breakfast was satisfactory. Would certainly not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fantastic location overlooking the river and sea. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the best part was having your own balcony. Sat outside on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the tide come in! A delicious cooked breakfast which sets you up for the day.
Lovely walks in Lynmouth and went on the funicular to Lynton. Great spot for a cream tea.
No problems with parking on the street opposite the hotel. Ideal location for exploring Devon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Walking the SW path we wanted a one night stay on this section. I read trip advisor & checked the reviews, it ticked the boxes. As mentioned it is right on the road but it is the one that's a dead end, to the harbour, so traffic noise was minimal. Parking is free outside, if you can get a slot, for 2 hrs, between 10-6. The carpark, 2 ins away is £1/hr. The exterior & the balcony views are the best bits, great view from our room. The room itself & bathroom ( central, top floor) were cramped, though the one next door looked bigger. We're a couple of racing snakes, so larger/elderly people may find it quite awkward. I didn't see a lift. The bed was comfy, the room & the hotel, very clean & well presented.
The breakfast was ok, usual self help cereal with cooked offered, I had the veggie option & it was ample. The 'breakfast room' is in fact the rear of the downstairs, which doubles as a café, with café furniture, in the day. This felt a little odd to us, the lack of privacy, early in the morning felt incongruent, others may disagree.
Fine for an overnight, great views, ok.

Room Tip: The 'larger' doubles would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way home from Cornwall. Lynmouth is a nice little place with the river running to the sea. The hotel is located on the main road overlooking the river and although it doesn't have its own parking we didn't have a problem. Check-in was 4pm by which time the parking outside the hotel becomes free until the following morning. Even though it is early season in may I don't think this would be a problem even in the summer months. There is not that much accommodation in Lynmouth so a lot of the traffic is only visiting.
The hotel itself is very comfortable. The room were not large and simply furnished but had a very nice bathroom and a small balcony overlooking the river at the front. Breakfast was in the little café attached to the hotel with a choice of cereals and fruit and included a cooked breakfast if you wanted it. I think this hotel was good value for money. We paid £70 for a larger room as we had a small dog with us but the smaller rooms were only £60. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Easy to find, right on the main road across from the bay. Excellent breakfast and great hospitality. The room (and bathroom) was a little on the small side but fine for us. Great place to stay when hiking the Southwest Coast Path.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Property: Riverside Cottage
Address: 10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence, and have achieved the highest rating from the Food Standards Agency. We have seven rooms, six with sea views and private balconies. Each balcony is complete with chairs and table to allow you to sit and watch the world go by. Our restaurant is open between 10.00am and 5.00pm serving excellent freshly-made food, locally sourced and prepared by our in-house chef. Riverside Cottage is a perfect base for walking, cycling, fishing (River Lyn, harbour, beach or boat), and riding, pony trekking or just as a centre for North Devon touring. Alternately just relax on your balcony with a drink and admire the views (selected rooms only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Hotel Lynmouth
Riverside Cottage Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing