We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny room, dirty breakfast room”
Review of Riverside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We spent one night there and paid £70. For this price it was ok, but if I came back I would rather check on other hotels/B&Bs.

The welcome was friendly, but very hectical. The room was tiny with the shower in the toilet and the sink in the room. The king size bed was very small for two people.

Breakfast was served in the café they also run. My chair was so dirty I could hardly make myself sit on it. The orange juice had turned sour.

The location of the B&B is brilliant.

For £70 it is ok what you get, but i would not come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Unlike sc0rpi063 we found the experience of staying ar Riverside Cottage very good and certainly comfortable an=d friendly. When we arrived we found that the booking agents had not passed on our requests for a twin bedded room, two extra pillows and no duvets. Not a problem to Debbie who sorted everything out with great cheerfulness. She apparently runs the hotel just about on her own and always seems to be in good spirits whilst seeing to everyone's requirements efficiently. Breakfast was a pleasure, cooked to order, and I'm advised by my wife that the scrambled eggs and porridge could not have been bettered. Breakfast is indeed in the café which is unusual as you are on full few to the outside world... what few people there are, but at least it gives a good feeling of spaciousness and something to look at.


The room and bed was comfortable and I had not slept as well in the weeks previous to going or since returning. Yes, it is fairly basic but there was plenty of space for clothes to be put away, tea coffee and biscuits were provided. Yes, the hot water was slightly temperamental but it was usually there, the shower was very efficient. The whole place was very clean, and I have no recollection of cooking smells other than at breakfast. Our brd linen and towels were changed during our stay.

Television is small but quit adequate.. do people normally go away to spend time watching television? Quite good enough to keep up with news weather and so on.

Lovely to have the balcony and view over the river to the sea.

Well located for restaurants etc..

When it came time to leave, Debbie knowing my unsteadiness knocked on our door and forbade us to take our cases down.. she would do it. And she did, effortlessly as she seems to do most things. (She's relatively small and slight)

Cost relatively high but not unreasonable

Overall a very pleasant experience. Would I stay there again? Quite definitely YES.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived at the Riverside and on entering the entrance hall there was an over- whelming smell of grease . The kitchen was situated off the main entrance !! The check-in was a screen on the wall .
The room had a balcony and king size bed as advertised and the view over the river was pretty , but be ware these rooms do not get the sun !! The bed was very soft and uncomfortable and had seen better days . There was a small t.v (for the size of the room ) , no fridge , no complimentary water in the room and the hot water tap in the bathroom did not work !
The bathroom and bedroom area was very basic and there was no extras offered in the room which was dissappointing , as we have paid less at other bnbs and got far more value for money !!
The breakfast was very average and was taken in the Riverside cafe at the back of the building !! This was not a homely or welcoming experience .
The whole package was over priced and it appears that the Riverside can only command £90 per night due to its location !! This experience was only worth £60 - tops !!!! The owner was not particularly friendly and this is just the beginning of the main holiday season for the U.K !
Would we go back ??????? - No !!

Room Tip: The best thing about the Riverside is the location , but you have to PAY for it !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sc0rpi063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The outstanding thing about the guesthouse is its riverside position - we had a balcony overlooking the river and harbour, which was lovely, especially when the sun came up over the sea in the early morning.

Also our landlady was lovely - very cheerful and welcoming.

The rooms were clean and tidy, the bed comfy, and the shower was very powerful which was great after a long walk.

The bath towels were too small (I like a bath sheet!), and most of the breakfast was fine - but why (in common with so many other places) would you spoil it with a cheap sausage rather than a decent pork one? I gave in on the last day and had scrambled egg on toast with mushrooms instead, which was beautifully cooked and just the job.

Those 2 niggles aside, we enjoyed our stay, and the position can't be bettered. In May, parking outside was mostly possible but if you don't go out in the day you can park just along the road at the end of the esplanade - so take plenty of change!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoisWakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles I, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I am very sorry that the sausage wasn't to your taste but I can assure you that they are handmade pork sausages bought from a local butcher, we do not by any cheap produce in this business and take great pride in producing good home made food for the B&B and our cafe.
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a 4 night stay and paid for a larger room with a balcony, found that the bed was very uncomfortable asked to be moved after 2 night's but was only offered a smaller room.
It was clean but needs updating, and the bed was not made once by staff during our stay the towels where not changed either.
The breakfast was good but no better than we have had at other B&B which where less expensive.

Room Tip: Forget Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband, myself and mum-in-law have just had a 3 day break here and we loved it, both rooms were spacious, clean and had everything we needed.
we had rooms with balcony's overlooking the river and sea, the balcony's really make a difference, one of the days was very cold and wet ,so it was lovely to come back to a warm welcoming room.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.
Debbie, the owner was great very helpful and has a great sense of humor.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we are going back again in July !!!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 9 on the top floor have balcony's with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely location with a great view.Dog welcomed and the location very dog friendly with lots of local pubs and restaurants even letting you bring them in.Breakfast lovely with a good choice.Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Address: 10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £74 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence, and have achieved the highest rating from the Food Standards Agency. We have seven rooms, six with sea views and private balconies. Each balcony is complete with chairs and table to allow you to sit and watch the world go by. Our restaurant is open between 10.00am and 5.00pm serving excellent freshly-made food, locally sourced and prepared by our in-house chef. Riverside Cottage is a perfect base for walking, cycling, fishing (River Lyn, harbour, beach or boat), and riding, pony trekking or just as a centre for North Devon touring. Alternately just relax on your balcony with a drink and admire the views (selected rooms only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Hotel Lynmouth
Riverside Cottage Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing