We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A super stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South View Guest House
Ranked #11 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. We were greeted with tea on arrival which I thought was a nice touch. Kathryn was charming and could not have looked after us any better
The breakfasts are to die for. and the room was lovely Will definatly return
Paul and Sue Newquay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for South View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Southview was excellent. Beautiful accomodation, relaxing atmosphere. Sea view room was stunning, especially the spa bath.

Our host were great, so friendly.

Within walking distance of great cages and restaurants.

Had a very relaxing, re-energising, romantic weekend away.

Would recommended it for a great break away.

Will be back again.

Jodi and David

Room Tip: Pick the Seaview room........excellent
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlb066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at South View.Kathryn was welcoming and attentive . The rooms were pretty and had biscuits and sweets to go with the tea and coffee. Although our bed wasn't the most comfortable I've stayed in, Kathryn explained it was due to be replaced and it certainly wouldn't stop me returning.
The variety provided for breakfast was incredible for a B&B and would put some hotels to shame. I enjoyed the fresh fruit ,nuts and seeds , cereals , toast and home made jams on offer as well as the fry up.There are lovely walks around the area and the village was charming. All in all ,it's a fab B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I visited South View B&B last weekend and I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have every stayed in. The welcome was amazing, and as we were a large group Kathryn handled all our different arrival times brilliantly - even passing on messages and directing us to the right pub!
The room was so pretty, and although only a 2 night stay it was cleaned and tidied - most don't bother the entire stay!
Breakfast was brilliant and Kathryn catered for all requirements; the selection was fantastic and the cooked breakfasts was super - I really enjoyed my salmon and scrambled egg - who else offers that :)
Location was great, the cliff railway is worth a visit plus have a look around the quaint little shops.
In short, we will be returning for another visit soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've just returned from a long weekend in Lynton where I stayed for two nights with a group of friends (9 of us - we took over the entire B&B!). I was so impressed with this B&B and also with Kathryn who was so welcoming and friendly. South View B&B is in a great location - we used it as a base for a long walk from Lynton to Porlock Weir (via Lynmouth). There are far too many great touches to mention, but I feel I must mention the tea, coffee and home-made fairy cakes we were offered upon our arrival. Also there's a nice lounge complete for guests to use with a selection of board games, lots of local information and also an honest bar/drinks cabinet! Breakfast was delicious - such a great selection (cereals, fruit, cooked options), including some home-made muffins and jams. Given that we were staying two nights, I didn't expect the rooms to be tidied/cleaned (beds made, etc) after the first night's sleep, but they were (not all B&Bs bother). Definitely one of the best B&Bs I've ever visited! Thanks to Kathryn for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinsSamaraweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Would like to thank Kathryn for a wonderful stay at South View, we stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it, on arrival we were welcomed with tea and her lovely homemade cake. Our room was lovely and light and spotlessly clean, loved the bowl of chocolates in the room which were nice to come back to after a long walk during the day. The Full English breakfast was lovely and it was nice that Kathryn had a 'Special of the Day' breakfast option too which John enjoyed, especially the porridge with a tot of whisky. Would definitely recommend this lovely B&B, Kathryn is a wonderful host and we look forward to coming back again.

Liz and John

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We cannot speak too highly of our stay at South View. Kathryn was a most welcoming host and she went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable.Our bedroom was all that we could have wished for.....tastefully furnished and with a very comfortable bed.Breakfast was really lovely in a pretty dining room and with excellent choices.
We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Kathryn showed us all the rooms and we would have been happy to stay in any of them.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GERRYF122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 23 in Lynton
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 23 in Lynton
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#15 of 23 in Lynton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View Guest House

Address: 23 Lee Rd, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryan and Julia look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Visit England 4 Star rated with Silver award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your South View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing