We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South View Guest House
Ranked #10 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely B&B clean and we'll decorated room,lovely breakfast,excellent location within walking distance of attractions. We were given a very friendly welcome with the offer of a cup of tea,even supplied flannels in the bathroom, nice touch

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed for 2 days and found the owners very pleasant and the rooms clean and welcoming. The general ambiance is warm and the food was excellent. The B&B is close to everything and it is easy to plan one's days with the information center close at hand.Overall a pleasant experience and I would recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39nelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ignore the previous reviews as they relate to the previous owners. Stayed for 2 nights with a group of friends, very warm welcome from owners who served us tea on our arrival. Very clean B&B, rooms have been redecorated & updated. Have given this B&B an average rating as I feel the new owners are trying hard but they need to improve their B&B skills, expecially their English breakfast.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44neverhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. We were greeted with tea on arrival which I thought was a nice touch. Kathryn was charming and could not have looked after us any better
The breakfasts are to die for. and the room was lovely Will definatly return
Paul and Sue Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Southview was excellent. Beautiful accomodation, relaxing atmosphere. Sea view room was stunning, especially the spa bath.

Our host were great, so friendly.

Within walking distance of great cages and restaurants.

Had a very relaxing, re-energising, romantic weekend away.

Would recommended it for a great break away.

Will be back again.

Jodi and David

Room Tip: Pick the Seaview room........excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlb066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at South View.Kathryn was welcoming and attentive . The rooms were pretty and had biscuits and sweets to go with the tea and coffee. Although our bed wasn't the most comfortable I've stayed in, Kathryn explained it was due to be replaced and it certainly wouldn't stop me returning.
The variety provided for breakfast was incredible for a B&B and would put some hotels to shame. I enjoyed the fresh fruit ,nuts and seeds , cereals , toast and home made jams on offer as well as the fry up.There are lovely walks around the area and the village was charming. All in all ,it's a fab B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I visited South View B&B last weekend and I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have every stayed in. The welcome was amazing, and as we were a large group Kathryn handled all our different arrival times brilliantly - even passing on messages and directing us to the right pub!
The room was so pretty, and although only a 2 night stay it was cleaned and tidied - most don't bother the entire stay!
Breakfast was brilliant and Kathryn catered for all requirements; the selection was fantastic and the cooked breakfasts was super - I really enjoyed my salmon and scrambled egg - who else offers that :)
Location was great, the cliff railway is worth a visit plus have a look around the quaint little shops.
In short, we will be returning for another visit soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 23 in Lynton
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Lynton
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 23 in Lynton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View Guest House

Property: South View Guest House
Address: 23 Lee Rd, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryan and Julia look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Visit England 4 Star rated with Silver award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your South View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing