We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great place, great hosts, great breaksfasts and great service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Alistair and Emma are perfect hosts.Our room was spacious,nicely decorated and spotless.A very good breakfast is served.There is a lounge and honesty bar.Although we travelled out to different areas we could have spent our break solely in Lynton and Lynmouth.We certainly would stay at the Castle Hill Guest House again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrewsburycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just chanced upon Castle Hill, as we were passing and needed somewhere to stay. From the outside it looked as if someone was making an effort, so we thought it worth a look. At the door I asked what prices the rooms were, and was immediately invited in on a friendly no pressure tour of all the available rooms. My partner had a bad back, so the quality of the bed was our priority, and we were able to test out those available. We were quickly offered a good deal by the every friendly and affable Alistair.

The guest house is newly refurbished very tastefully - not too modern, and certainly not chintzy - just classical and up-to-date at the same time. There's a real attention to important details - fresh milk available for tea from the honesty bar downstairs, quality bathroom products, home made banana muffins for breakfast (alongside the full English), wireless broadband.

Nothing is too much for your hosts, Emma and Alistair - a young energetic friendly couple. Infact it feels like your staying with friends of 20 years, but without having to put up with the sofabed! They're chatty, but not intrusive, helpful and full of advice, and they're good at reading how much is the right amount. It is their spirit that truly makes your stay here.

Room Tip: Alistair will give you a guided tour and give you the choice if he can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuttySarkPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a find!
From the time we arrived to the time we left, we felt very comfortable and welcome.

Emma's cooked breakfasts set us up for the days excursions that were often enhanced with Alistair's knowledge of the local area, weather and routes.

The rooms and facilities are clean and decorated in an up to date style which makes for a fresh and friendly feeling. Our room had an ensuite and an additional sitting room, which opened onto a small veranda.

In addition, the terrace from the dining room is great for those Titanic shots as the railings come to a sharp point.

Excellent value for money and location - we will be returning, when we can get in - worth booking early to avoid disappointment.

Many thanks to Emma & Alistair.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - we only saw a couple, but what we saw was of an exceptional standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddq115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hosts were so welcoming and hospitable. Home made bread and cakes a great personal touch. Suite was comfortable and spacious and we had a great weekend break. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at The Castle Hill Guest House. Emma made us feel very welcome the minute we arrived and offered us tea and biscuits in the lounge. There are tea making facilities in the bedrooms with a nice selection of teas and biscuits etc. plus bottled water. However it was lovely to have tea made for us after our journey. Alistair soon joined us and it was as if we had known them for years. What a truly delightful couple, obviously thoroughly enjoying what they are doing. In other words the perfect hosts!

The room was just lovely with a little lounge area and TV. Everything was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and tastefully done with nothing overlooked. Super soft fluffy bathrobes and individual heating which meant if we felt a little chilly we could have some warmth . Many places can be quite chilly at this time of year so it was lovely to return after a long walk, flick the heating on for a short time , have a relaxing bath ( very nice bathroom indeed with super toiletries) and then a cup of tea.

Alistair is there to cheerfully greet everyone at breakfast and Emma makes a delicious breakfast with a varied choice. She catered exceedingly well with my gluten intolerance . One of the best B&B breakfasts we have had . Always very hot and two of the days there were even little muffins she had made.

There is such attention to detail in everything and they are so willing to help in any way they can whether it be to suggest places to visit or places to eat. We actually had a delicious meal at Le Bistro and the chef there can easily adapt recipes to GF so any Coeliacs out there take note! .

I am sure there are things I have over looked but just suffice to say it is a beautiful area and made more so by Emma and Alistair . Just perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just spent one night at Castle Hill on a walking holiday along the South West Coast Path. The location couldn't have been more convenient at the top of the funicular railway, although an extra draw would have been a sea view - I am not sure if the outlook from other bedrooms would have given this. However the big plus at Castle Hill for me was the hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming owners and the friendly welcome is a wonderful advertisement for the area. Their thorough knowledge of the surroundings helped us prepare for the next section of our walk. We were pleased to take their recommendations for an evening meal at Lily May's across the road which was excellent. The room was spotless and a good size. If you pushed me to find a fault the only thing I could say is the lighting was a trifle dim, but that's being really fussy. The comfy beds gave a good night's sleep and the road outside was silent. Breakfast was a great set-up for the day, with home baked bread and muffins, juicy bacon and top quality sausages. Couldn't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 23 in Lynton
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee House
Lee House
#8 of 23 in Lynton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing