We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in the Large Balcony Suite and Suite, and the rooms were just perfect. The bedrooms, private lounge and bathrooms were extremely spacious and immaculately clean. Alistair and Emma were genuinely friendly and helpful, and at the same time very professional. They will make your stay as comfortable as possible and more. They are the perfect people to run a hotel. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Large Balcony Suite and Suite are extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
300
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I could fill the page with a 5* review, but I'd only echo all the fantastic comments. Stay at Castle Hill and you'll see what I mean when I say.....just "Perfect" in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wonderfully....Amazing....Amazing.... experience from beginning to end. Four days and nights of 1st class, 10********** service and accommodation. We arrived at Castle Hill as strangers but have departed, having made two unbelievably; professional, genuine, thoughtful and very kind 'Top friends'. Having viewed the majority of rooms at Castle Hill, the standard really is first class - 10/10 for everything. This sounds just too good ? It really is an honest and accurate account of such a memorable stay. (Especially Billy the goat and the jelly beans) !! Having arrived, equipped with two extremely muddy mountain bikes, we were made welcome from the outset. The mountain bikes were stored "extremely" safely, enabling us to relax and subsequently enjoy some fantastic coastal and somewhat strenuous scenic riding. Missing our very own 'Little Switzerland' incredibly - An appropriate likeness; equipped with ones own funicular !! Lynton truly is a beautiful haven. Made more beautiful by your inspiring local knowledge which assisted immensley. Not forgetting your recommendations regarding the local cuisine.... Exquisite,

All in all... A BIG BIG thank you for everything. To Emma and Alistair (clink) x

Room Tip: All rooms are of an equal, exceptional standard. Obviously the higher the room, the more stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaw, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Having stayed in many places over the years, this is by far the most memorable. This was due to the warm and friendly welcome,room was immaculate with a great view, first class food and the overwhelming ' no problem' attitude, to guests.It felt like we were staying with friends!! Will definately go back and explore the area in more detail. strongly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happidazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed with my wife and two children at this well looked after first class guest house between 15&17 June 2012. From the moment we steed into this hotel we were made welcome and given a more than e aid for. The service was unique and often Alistair and Emma went out of their way to make our stay all the more comfortable. The rooms are wonderful, linen clean, wow words cannot fully describe the service except to say one needs to book with them to join in the happiness. I would definitely recommend Castle Hill Guest House. The hosts are interested in your stay even your safe return. I shall be returning in the future and I highly recommend this guest house.
Shelton.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

What a great building. Large airy rooms that were clean, well decorated, comfortable and with lots of homely touches. If you like very welcoming hosts that make you feel like nothing is too much trouble, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 6 and it was extremely comfortable. The in-laws had room 1 and this was just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Nelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Thank you Alistair and Emma for a perfect 3 night getaway. After long days of walking the spectacular Exmoor coast line the warm welcome back was on each afternoon very much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always friendly and interested in my day, with plenty of recommendations for further walks. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view over the rooftops of Lynton. Being able to sit of an evening in the quiet guest lounge was an added bonus.

I'm already planning my return trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Property: Castle Hill Guest House
Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing