We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly faces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Castle Hill is the perfect getaway with a mix of luxury, coziness and friendly faces. Emma and Alistair were friendly and full of information. They gave us a bunch of great recommendations on where to eat and what to do. The full English breakfast was made with fresh ingredients and was mouth watering good. We stayed one night in the Balcony Suite. One night was just not enough time to enjoy all that the town and Castle Hill had to offer. We would recommend Castle Hill and love to go back ourselves.
Some other notes: the car parking lot is near and we had no problems and I loved the cute goat on the bed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just stayed at Castle Hill for a wedding nearby, and all the reviews below are 100% correct - Alistair and Emma are the perfect hosts and our stay was a 5 star experience - completely recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in the family room for three nights, which was ideal for us with two children of 12 and 14. the guest house itself is a lovely building inside and out and in a great location in the town. Alistair and Emma are wonderful hosts and very friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfasts were excellent and the kids in particular enjoyed the darts tournaments in the evenings1 My wife took advantage of the beauty treatments that Emma offers as a nice end to our stay. Much enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john65lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Castle Hill Guest House is a FANTASTIC olace to saty! We were warmly greeted by Alistair and a wondeful cup of coffee after a long drive. We had two rooms, one was for our daughters, and the one we had was a suite with its own sitting room. The views from our room were beautiful. Aliatair and Emma are the perfect hosts who make you feel like friends who just can't do enough for you and are full of information about the area. The rooms were spotless and the hospitality tray was overflowing. Breakfast was very very tasty and cooked to perfection. I would definately recommend Castle Hill to anyone. Well done Alistair and Emma for running a wondeful Guest House and we would definately award you with the 'Four in a Bed' award again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev111959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After seeing this BnB on Channnel 4 Four in a bed and winning the show, I knew I wanted to stay there. It felt like I was in a 5 star hotel. All the small details that really matter were provided for, nice big fluffy bath robe, Ipod dock, bottled water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and tasty biscuits were available complimentary in the room. The en suit bathroom was stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious too. Can not fault this place. Emma and Alistair the hosts are so lovely, warm and accommodating. Lynton is an amazing village with stunning walks to go on. Would love to come back very soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkleUsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the castle hill guest house of which in our opinion is by far the best we have ever stayed at, Emma & Alistair are the perfect hosts who can't do enough for your stay to be relaxed and comfortable, the room we had was the large balcony room which was spotless, there are little touches throughout that make all the difference to your stay. Breakfast was excellent which is all local produce and very tasty, Alistair & Emma have bags of local knowledge and will always offer sound advice to any questions you may have, I have no reservations about recommending castle hill guest house to anyone!!! We will return for another stay for sure!! You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigburridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Castle Hill Guest House is located in a particularly beautiful part of the country. It's easy to find, being almost the first thing you see as you drive into Lynton. The views from our room were fantastic,(we had the suite, with a balcony), and the general atmosphere of the place is relaxing and easy going. The guest house is very clean, Emma and Alistair are exremely welcoming and helpful. Great breakfast too.
If you're thinking of visiting the area, pay them a visit. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing