We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hill Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockvale(Lynton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
447
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemma alistairjelly beanshonesty barperfect hostsgoatattention to detailnothing is too much troubletea and biscuitslounge areahome from homefriendly coupleon arrivalfresh milkexcellent staybottled waterwarm welcomehigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at Castle Hill. It was not long enough. We stayed in room 6 which was a beautiful suite, could not fault a thing.The hosts Emma and Alistair are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble to make sure you have a great time.
From the excellent breakfast to all the little extras like jelly beans, honesty bar and dvds you will not be disappointed. We can highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but stay in one of the suites for a touch of luxury.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were simply blown away with the exceptional high quality of service we received during our two night stay with Emma & Alistair at Castle Hill Guest House. Would highly recommend a visit. Breakfast was a real treat, cooked by Emma and served so efficiently by Alistair. What a team! Thank you sooooo much for making us feel so welcome. Everywhere was clean and spotless, fresh and airy. This couple has the Wow Factor...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

There are not enough stars on Tripadvisor to rate our recent stay in Castle Hill ;-). At the Castle Hill Guest House we found superb hospitality, a beautiful room and excellent breakfasts. The owners have a great eye for detail, which you see everywhere, from the litlle jellybeans as a hidden treat on the bed stand to the very nice, thick and soft toilet paper. We were for the first time in the Lynton area and found it gorgeous. We hiked around a lot and were lucky enough to have great weather as well. If we go back to Lynton, we won't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Castle Hill Guest House is the perfect place to stay for a break in the Lynton/Lynmouth part of Exmoor. Emma and Alistair are hospitable and friendly in addition to being extremely professional and capable. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, the rooms were crisp and clean, and we were delighted with the creative extras that they included in the visit, from the honesty bar to the cute stuffed goat that sits outside your door in lieu of a "do not disturb" sign. Each morning we would ask Alistair for advice about where to go, and he suggested perfectly co-ordinated days that balanced gorgeous hikes along the stunning coastline with suggestions about the best local places to eat and have tea. Castle Hill's location in the town of Lynton was in easy walking distance to a number of shops and restaurants. It is worth mentioning that staying in Lynton feels a little less touristy than Lynmouth, and we enjoyed having easy access to the funicular railway that takes you down to Lynmouth while staying in the more peaceful and quiet town of Lynton. Very highly recommended, and we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Having stayed in many 3 and 4 star hotels for business and pleasure, I can honestly say that we have never been made to feel more welcome or comfortable than at the Castle Hill guest house.
Greeted by Emma and shown around, instantly we felt at home. The room (3) was well above our expectations, immaculately clean, superbly comfortable bed and with every feature we would want, plus the Jelly Beans (topped up daily) which iced the cake!
At breakfast we met Alistair who was a character in the nicest possible way. The breakfast itself was a great mix of hot and cold. I had the full English which was above fantastic.
Alistair and Emma could not do enough for us to ensure we enjoyed our stay, we will definitely recommend the Castle Hill, just the place to relax and visit Lynton, which was equally as friendly and clean as the guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posset-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews