We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Perfect Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Perfect Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the caste hill guest house for 3 nights with my wife over August bank holiday and experienced a service second to none.
Our suite was beautifully furnished & extremely clean, the separate bathroom & lounge ( tv room ) with balcony made for a spacious & comfortable environment.
It was a pleasure to go down for breakfast each morning, due to a wide variety of items available, from fruit juice to fresh fruit & yoghurt.The full cooked breakfast was served promptly & professionally by Alistair & Emma always with a friendly smile.
Advice on the surrounding area was a great help.
It was nice to see a couple so passionate about their business.
Big hotel chains could learn a lot from this couple.
We would recommend this guest house to anybody & we will look forward to stopping there again.
Very sad to leave & this guest house should be 5 star not 4 !
Perfect !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
295
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had room 1 which had a separate sitting room and a balcony. Beautiful room, spacious , lovely furniture, spotlessly clean absolutely no complaints could be made. All toiletries supplied. The hosts Emma and Alistair were superb and couldn't do enough to help. Wonderful breakfast and the honesty bar was a unique touch. Would highly recommend and visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is the 3rd year running we have had our summer weeks holiday at Castle Hill. The service, attention to detail, cleanliness, hosts, in fact everything are first class.
Our daughter, who is 9, loved the special treatment from Emma and Alistair and the thoughtful touches such as the games to play and the choice of children's DVD's available to watch on the rooms player.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombilous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at Emma and Alistair's house. It's spotlessly clean, the food is first class and Alistair and Emma couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Very comfortable room with a balcony.Great place. We'll stay again.
We also found the two local restaurants we tried very good indeed, Lynton is doing well and Alistair and Emma know what to recommend there.
Absolutely excellent so easy to recommend.
Nick and Jane

Room Tip: The balconies are actually usuable, chairs and table etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Emma and Alistair were, to us, the perfect couple to run a guest house. They were warm, friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. They suggested great places to visit and where to eat; Castle Hill played a major part in our totally relaxing break.

The breakfasts and facilities were second to none. We stayed at Castle Hill for 4 nights and to be honest would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. Our room was exceptionally clean and bright and large; we also had the added advantage of a 'living' area where we could relax before dinner, watching the television or just gazing at the view from our window.

We would definately go back and would 100% recommend this beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Emma and Alistair are excellent hosts to this quality guest house in a central location in Lynton.
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in a high standard en-suite bedroom, with lovely extras provided, and the Breakfasts were of a high quality. We were offered good information about where to visit and local restaurants and they were both keen to be visible and offer advise to all residents to enhance their stay in the area. As part of a Birthday treat my wife had her nails done by Emma in her beauty salon which is an added extra to the residents, and my wife was so pleased. Overall an Excellent stay and great value, highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A B&B like it is always described in tourist brochures still exists. Friendly hosts, excellent breakfast in a building with character but will all comfort.
Scores a ten all the way.
The owners give suggestions on what to do ,where to eat and request feedback afterwards. We queried about a restaurant and it was not recommended based on recent feedbacks from guests. She suggested another restaurant ( le bistro ) and made even reservations. The next morning we could report back that the recommended restaurant was very nice.

A B&B that understands what tourists are looking for in devon and that for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flapuit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Property: Castle Hill Guest House
Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing