We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, Delicious breakfasts, Wonderful location & Superb hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, Delicious breakfasts, Wonderful location & Superb hosts”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My boyfriend, parents and I have just enjoyed a wonderful August Bank Holiday weekend at Castle Hill Guest House. I know the area well and was thoroughly looking forward to our visit and the B&B exceeded expectations.

The hosts Alastair and Emma were incredibly friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They've thought of everything from wonderful toiletries in the bathrooms to a treat of jelly beans in the room. There was a huge DVD library and an 'honesty' bar which is a great idea for those wanting a night in.

The breakfast room is light, airy and modern yet homely and the food was tasty with a good selection of options and again, the hosts were always on hand; always willing to refill your coffee or get you more toast!

We enjoyed long walks up Watersmeet to the National Trust Café, along Valley of the Rocks and up and down the dreaded hill linking Lynton to Lynmouth - there is the cliff railway instead if your legs can't take it!

We stayed in room 3 (deluxe double) and the only negative (and it is a little one), was the low water pressure in our shower but it certainly did not impact our weekend at all and it would never stop us going back.

Castle Hill Guest House stands out from other accommodation in the area and you see that as soon as you walk up to the front door. We highly recommend this B&B, it certainly deserves all the awards it's won!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonade500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
294
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highworth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from having two nights in room 2.

Great hosts, Emma and Alistair. Friendly and efficient and become your friends very quickly. Worth paying the extra to get the balcony as you get a small lounge too. Breakfasts are very substantial and plenty of choice too. Nothing too much trouble. Bathroom soaps etc re all good quality and towels large and fluffy. Nice to have plenty of coffees etc and water in your room and replaced daily. They also run a honesty bar which is a nice touch.

Nice to see a young couple running this sort of place, a breath of fresh air.

Parking is really close by and buy your 24hr tickets from your hosts.

Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a good balcony which catches the sun and also gives you a good view down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cahillsHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Emma and Alistair were, the perfect couple to run a guest house. They were warm, friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. They suggested great places to visit and where to eat; Castle Hill played a major part in our totally relaxing break. The breakfasts and facilities were second to none. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the caste hill guest house for 3 nights with my wife over August bank holiday and experienced a service second to none.
Our suite was beautifully furnished & extremely clean, the separate bathroom & lounge ( tv room ) with balcony made for a spacious & comfortable environment.
It was a pleasure to go down for breakfast each morning, due to a wide variety of items available, from fruit juice to fresh fruit & yoghurt.The full cooked breakfast was served promptly & professionally by Alistair & Emma always with a friendly smile.
Advice on the surrounding area was a great help.
It was nice to see a couple so passionate about their business.
Big hotel chains could learn a lot from this couple.
We would recommend this guest house to anybody & we will look forward to stopping there again.
Very sad to leave & this guest house should be 5 star not 4 !
Perfect !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had room 1 which had a separate sitting room and a balcony. Beautiful room, spacious , lovely furniture, spotlessly clean absolutely no complaints could be made. All toiletries supplied. The hosts Emma and Alistair were superb and couldn't do enough to help. Wonderful breakfast and the honesty bar was a unique touch. Would highly recommend and visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is the 3rd year running we have had our summer weeks holiday at Castle Hill. The service, attention to detail, cleanliness, hosts, in fact everything are first class.
Our daughter, who is 9, loved the special treatment from Emma and Alistair and the thoughtful touches such as the games to play and the choice of children's DVD's available to watch on the rooms player.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombilous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at Emma and Alistair's house. It's spotlessly clean, the food is first class and Alistair and Emma couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Very comfortable room with a balcony.Great place. We'll stay again.
We also found the two local restaurants we tried very good indeed, Lynton is doing well and Alistair and Emma know what to recommend there.
Absolutely excellent so easy to recommend.
Nick and Jane

Room Tip: The balconies are actually usuable, chairs and table etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#5 of 24 in Lynton
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Property: Castle Hill Guest House
Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing