We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

In some terms it is difficult to add to some of the reviews, this was without doubt one of the nicest stays we have had.

From the moment we arrived, and it was later than expected, Emma was warm and friendly, even taking our bags to our room while we headed off to eat. The following morning was equally as nice when we met Alistair. Between them they have created an amazing guest house, immaculately clean, the rooms well appointed and decorated and the little touches that you will remember forever.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, even down to the torch for the stroll into Lynmouth and the 'Do Not Disturb Goat'. The facilities in the room are typical for a higher level guest house, including the 'Jelly Beans'. The bathrooms are spotless with an array of lotions and potions, more for the ladies than me...The wifi is accessible in the rooms as well as the quaint lounge area.

The breakfasts are fantastic, with the healthiest, cleanest 'Full English' I have ever had, as well as a good variety of cereals etc. The hospitality extends to the 'Honesty Bar', a facility that we did not use but is indicative of Alistair and Emma's approach.

They also helped with recommendations for restaurants and both places we ate were excellent, Le Bistro and the Rising Sun were both great food and lovely atmosphere.

In fact the ratings here tell you everything you need to know and I can only see future reviews further confirming the 'Excellent Rating' it well deserves. Thank you Alistair and Emma.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
294
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just back from a couple days at Alistair and Emma's guesthouse. A very nice welcome on arrival
with fresh tea and biscuits.The room we had was exceptionally clean and fresh, bed comfy.
Breakfast was excellent with great choices. Nothing is to much trouble to accommodate guests.
We will certainly recommend Castle Hill to all our friends. Thank you Alistair and Emma for
a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights at Alistair and Emma's lovely guesthouse. They made us so welcome, a fresh pot of tea and biscuits on arrival was very welcome. The suite we had was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the little sitting room was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from. We found the bed slightly hard but that was remedied when Emma put a duvet on the mattress. Nothing is too much trouble. Will certainly return and will recommend Castle Hill to all our friends. Thank you Emma and Alistair for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at Castle Hill and had a wonderful time. Alistair & Emma run this guest house wonderfully and are very friendly but not overbearing. On arrival we were offered tea & coffee in the main lounge which was waiting for us once we had dropped off our bags in our room & after the journey it was very welcome. The guest house is immaculate and beautifully decorated. The breakfast choices were good & produce used very tasty. We have highly recommended this guest house to our family & friends. The location is lovely and near lots of places to visit and beautiful coastal walks. We will definitely be going back. Maureen Jenkins

Room Tip: We loved having a suite and found it excellent value. It is nice having your own lounge area to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We very much enjoyed staying here, even on a very wet weekend in August. The hosts are friendly, welcoming and helpful without being overbearing. The design and décor are tasteful and restful. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and delicious - local suppliers I think. The location is good too, within easy walking distance of everything in Lynton. You do have to walk up a short steep stretch from the public car park as there is no parking at the guest house, but we were provided with a parking permit which was very helpful. Thank you Alistair and Emma, for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had one with a tiny balcony which we would have used more if it had stopped raining!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid -Wales
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recently returned from a short break at Castle Hill. Parked in the public car park which is very close to the hotel .On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and was given fresh filtered coffee .Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We even had a DVD player in our room and there was a wide selection of DVD's available to borrow from the lounge area. Breakfast was very good - helped yourselves to fruit juices, cereals etc. and then your cooked breakfast was cooked freshly to your order. Every little detail seemed to been thought about as there was even scissors on each table to cut open sauce sachets. Emma booked us seats at the Cinema in Lynton due to it being such a small place . Alistair and Emma both gave us great advice. would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holloway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What more can we say ,Alistair and Emma , what a team ! Lost count how many times we have visited, it is just like home from home , you feel very welcome as so as you walk through the door. Looking forward to the next visit . We highly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithgenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#5 of 24 in Lynton
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Property: Castle Hill Guest House
Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing