We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hill Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$182
US$161
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sinai House(Lynton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
446
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemma alistairjelly beanshonesty barperfect hostsb bgoatattention to detailnothing is too much troubletea and biscuitslounge areahome from homefriendly coupleon arrivalfresh milkexcellent staybottled waterwarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On our first visit to this area we chose Castle Guest House from the reviews on Trip Advisor, and as other reviewers have testified, Castle Hill Guest House just cannot be beaten. Alastair and Emma are passionate about their business and it shows in every aspect of this lovely house, from the warm welcome on arrival onwards. Both rooms and public spaces are spotlessly clean and well furnished, great touches like an honesty bar,fresh milk for tea and coffee in the room, a really comfortable guest lounge with books and dvds and a good range of local information and maps. Good breakfast, great hosts who go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your stay and a great location. It felt more like staying with good friends than a commercial enterprise. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otellobotello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Alistair and Emma are very friendly.The rooms are exeptionally clean and we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast. Lynton is a lovely place and Alisair is knowledgable on what is happening locally.Would recommend the Castle Hill Guest House to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicken0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a lovely welcome by the hosts Alistair and Emma, who could not do enough. The place is very clean, warm and friendly. The rooms are 5* in my opinion. The little touches, to the little 'Do not disturb' Goat! to the pot of Jelly Beans in the room. The bathroom toiletries were a lovely touch. The breakfast was really filling and extremely well presented. And the scissors in the 'sauce pot' to cut the little sachets..There was also an honesty bar - which we did not use, but is a lovely idea. ... we will definately return here as soon as we can and recomend to our friends.

Room Tip: any of them I would say.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearlie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

In some terms it is difficult to add to some of the reviews, this was without doubt one of the nicest stays we have had.

From the moment we arrived, and it was later than expected, Emma was warm and friendly, even taking our bags to our room while we headed off to eat. The following morning was equally as nice when we met Alistair. Between them they have created an amazing guest house, immaculately clean, the rooms well appointed and decorated and the little touches that you will remember forever.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, even down to the torch for the stroll into Lynmouth and the 'Do Not Disturb Goat'. The facilities in the room are typical for a higher level guest house, including the 'Jelly Beans'. The bathrooms are spotless with an array of lotions and potions, more for the ladies than me...The wifi is accessible in the rooms as well as the quaint lounge area.

The breakfasts are fantastic, with the healthiest, cleanest 'Full English' I have ever had, as well as a good variety of cereals etc. The hospitality extends to the 'Honesty Bar', a facility that we did not use but is indicative of Alistair and Emma's approach.

They also helped with recommendations for restaurants and both places we ate were excellent, Le Bistro and the Rising Sun were both great food and lovely atmosphere.

In fact the ratings here tell you everything you need to know and I can only see future reviews further confirming the 'Excellent Rating' it well deserves. Thank you Alistair and Emma.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just back from a couple days at Alistair and Emma's guesthouse. A very nice welcome on arrival
with fresh tea and biscuits.The room we had was exceptionally clean and fresh, bed comfy.
Breakfast was excellent with great choices. Nothing is to much trouble to accommodate guests.
We will certainly recommend Castle Hill to all our friends. Thank you Alistair and Emma for
a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews