We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hill Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our second visit. We stayed in room 1.A suite! I can only say that everything was perfect, they even arranged perfect weather. The breakfast was excellent and the whole place is immaculate. Don't hesitate, book today! Thank you Emma and Alistair.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
295
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Absolutely lovely place to stay. Our room was a good size and the en suite was fab with lovely products provided. From the start we were welcomed by Alistair and felt like we were friends visiting rather than guests. Alistair and Emma should be very proud at what they have achieved here. Everything is done to a high standard. Breakfast was superb! With so much choice. Alistair and Emma gave us so much advice on where to visit and where to eat, and we were not disappointed. Lynton is a quiet but busy little place to stay which suited us down to the ground. We would highly recommend a stay here and we would love to stay again. We just wished we could have stayed longer! Particularly liked the fact that there was a guests lounge which was great for us as we were a party of 9! Thanks for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay. Our room, room 1, was excellent, loads of space, extremely high standard of cleanliness and some lovely personal touches, even a balcony. Great to have WiFi and free sat plus loads of DVDs to borrow. Our hosts Alistair and Emma could not have been more helpful and welcoming, they are what make the difference, it felt like they were welcoming you as friends not guests. Would not even consider looking at anywhere else to stay in the area. Love Alistair's weather forecast at breakfast and by the way breakfast is outstanding. Can recommend the Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet both beautiful locations to visit. The Greenhouse and the Pizza and Pasta restaurants, both only a few minutes walk were great. Believe all the amazing reviews you will not be disappointed. Oh yes thanks Alistair, Dunster village was a great suggestion on the way home. Hope you both make it to the Forest of Dean one day. Thanks for being yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themillsclan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having read the other reviews I was expecting good things and wasn't disappointed.
I booked this guest house for a nice romantic weekend away with my boyfriend. We stayed in a junior suite which had a good size bedroom with adjoining room with a TV, sofa and balcony. I can't fault the accommodation it was ideal, clean, spacious and ideally located for the beach, Watersmeet and restaurants but it was Alistair and Emma that made the visit exceptional.

We arrived and had a lovely welcome from Alistair, he made us tea and coffee with shortbread biscuits and chatted to us as if we were friends. Nothing was too much trouble, both were so friendly and welcoming, it was a lovely experience, when we visit Lynton again I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere but Castle Hill.

Room Tip: The junior suite was large and had a separate living room which was great for a weekend stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Castle Hill Guest House is a charming and beautifully decorated B & B in the picturesque town of Lynton. Very briefly, the rooms (in our case No.3) are very spacious, clean and well kitted out with all the mod cons including freeview and a DVD player. There is a comfy and welcoming lounge stocked up with guide books and suggestions on things to do and see and a bright and airy breakfast room more akin to a restaurant than usual B & B fare. The breakfast is a good quality mix of variations on a full english/scambled eggs and cereal/toast etc.

The best things about the Castle Hill Guest House are however, the owners Alistair and Emma. From when they first met us on the door step at the beginning of our stay, offering to take our bags; to the last moment when Emma helped us to the car with those same bags, they could not have been better hosts. Both are charming and helpful in equal measure, giving us tips on places to eat and things to do and see, and a warm welcome after a long day out.

The Castle Hill Guest House was a lovely quiet, relaxing retreat with some of most spectacular coastal scenery in the UK on its doorstep. Would recommend without a second thought.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just got back from 4 days at the Castle Hill Guest House and would highly recommend it. Alastair and Emma are the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We had a suite of rooms which were spotless and breakfast was great - setting us up for the day. The area is well worth visiting - lots to see and do and some really good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited Lynton for a couple of days during the early summer (end of July) and stayed at the Castle Hill Guest House as we knew it.

We had forgotten just how much space you get! Not only are the bedrooms generous, but we also had our own lounge area. This was brilliant after a day out and about. The standard of the rooms (decor, furniture, cleanliness, and state of repair) puts many more expensive locations to shame. Actually puts our own house to shame.

The location is brilliant, being a short walk to the coastal walk to the Valley of Rocks, the vernacular railway to Lynmouth and the rest of Lynton.

Breakfast is made to order and Al is very attentive to ensure that you have what you want and their is plenty of it.

Al and Emma seem to go out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need on arrival, during your stay and when you leave.

There is free WiFi - which helps as the mobile network is quite patchy in North Devon. There is also a TV and DVD player in your room. This may not seem noteworthy until you see the DVD collection in the guest lounge that you can borrow (not hire! just borrow).

A fantastic place to stay in North Devon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddq115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Guest House

Property: Castle Hill Guest House
Address: Castle Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynton is a quaint village situated in the Exmoor National Park. We invite you to stay in our spacious, Victorian Guest House which has clean and comfortable rooms. For added luxury suites are available. It's an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside and is only 50m from the South West Coastal Path. We also now offer beauty treatments in our Salon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Guest House Hotel Lynton
Castle Hill Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing