We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food”
Review of The Oak Room

The Oak Room
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The oak room is a relaxed tapas bar and restaurant, serving authentic tapas, main course, delicious desserts and great wines.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed two nights in Lynton and this restaurant was recommended by the owner of our guesthouse. We did not have chance to book and so wandered in early evening with our two daughters. A table was quickly rustled up, although they must have been nearly full. The service was excellent, prompt and friendly. The food was amazing - we shared around 9 tapas between the four of us, and a great way for our daughters to try new flavours. All was delicious! We would visit again if we were staying longer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    130
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A taste of spain”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This restaurant had a really good atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. Lots of tapas - you could keep them coming or have them as a starter and then a mains. The food was good and nicely presented. Would recommend the Oak Room for an evening meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little Tapas Restaurant in the heart of Lynton”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Lynton and went to the Oak Room on two occasions. First night we had the Tapas and loved the different tastes. The baked Camembert was great with a hint of honey and rosemary.

Loved the atmosphere and the service as well as the good Spanish wine selection so much that we decided to make another booking for the following night.

This time we had starter and one of their main courses and were not disappointed. The chicken wrapped in ham was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very efficient service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We came as soon as the place opened in the evening so we were able to get a table without booking on a Saturday night. The service was fantastic - we were in and out in just an hour without feeling rushed which was great when you have young children who need to go to bed. The food was delicious and there was good wine by the glass. Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReniMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great tapas”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nothing to dislike, all well presented and thought out. The melted camambert was amazing, as were the prawn dishes. Excellent choice of wines too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMKidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Room also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Oak Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing