We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub for the Saturday night of your weekend away”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We headed to Lynton and Lynmouth for a long weekend. Having never been before we had no idea where to go and happened upon the crown after our evening meal at the excellent Oak Rooms.

The atmosphere in the pub was FANTASTIC! It was just myself and my better half and we took two stools at the bar. The locals immediately started chatting and we were soon chatting to fellow visitors too. A guitarist was playing by the fire and the walls have fantastic paintings painted on to them (which must be seen!) which all added to a fantastic atmosphere.

A thoroughly enjoyable evening and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel (several years ago, under different management) but decided to treat us this time (and will be reviewing that hotel shortly).

Having had fond memories of the food here, we decided to visit for a meal one evening. Yes, the pub is strongly oriented towards locals but having visited regularly some years ago I knew some of them. Perhaps it was my confidence and friendliness towards the bar staff that guaranteed a good experience.

And where else can you dine with murals from the local artist the late great Mick Cawston decorating the walls?

Himself's beer battered cod was excellent, the chips were plentiful and he had a nicely dressed salad. My cottage pie was well flavoured (perhaps a little heavy on the pepper) and volcanically hot! I had a good selection of vegetables and a good sized jug of gravy.

All rounded off with an excellent St Austell beer pulled from the wood: Proper Job.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarolPGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We visited this 'hotel' in the summer of 2013 hoping to have a pleasant evening meal in what looked like an inviting pub/restaurant. How wrong we were.

We went into the bar and immediately felt that this place was run exclusively for the locals who were sat round the bar making it difficult for visitors to order food. When we tried to get attention from the bar staff we found that only one young lady was at the bar and she was completely run off her feet trying to handle food orders and drinks orders all at the same time. She was only young and in her rush to satisfy all she made all sorts of errors not least ignoring the order in which people arrived and getting in a muddle with money. The bar furnishings were very hard and uninviting and after waiting for a considerable amount of time without even placing a drinks order we decided to give up and go elsewhere. My criticism is not of the bar girl but of the management who appeared to be absent from where the action was happening. Had they been there I wonder what they would have done.

I am so glad we went elsewhere because since going there I have read other reviews and notice that the accommodation has been given many terrible reviews. Thank goodness we were not staying there.

Fingers Biggleswade - you were spot on with your assessment and I am afraid that the managements response is simply not correct or adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crown on Sunday the place is a very old pub serving real ale and good quality food at a reasonable price. The rooms have been up graded from some of the earlier reviews but this is a very old place and would need masses to bring up to modern standards but it is quaint and excellent value for money. We paid £40 for a double room and continental breakfast. At that price there is no competition in Devon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Loftyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just stayed over for a wedding and were not disappointed; The Crown is lovely and very well situated for exploring the town and the local area which I wish we had had the time to do! The rooms were very cosy and clean and the bathroom was immaculate.The beds were very comfortable and very quiet. We couldn't hear a thing. I had thought we were getting a continental breakfast so the 'Full English' was a much welcome surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talbotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we arrived we thought what have we booked here. the entrance was shabby. We had to pay £30 for our small dog to stay. But the staff was very polite, the barman Joe was a nice lad its a shame he supported Totenham. He has been working there a long time and seen a lot of different managers come and go. He had a lot of praise for his new boss which has only been there a short time and doing his best to improve the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. it just proves don't go by the look of the place. The food was very nice. The bedroom was nice but the bathroom needed stripping out and a new suit fitted. The hotel is situated in a good place near the town/ walks to valley of the rocks/ lynmouth/ walks along the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were made to feel very welcome by Joey, room clean & although bed looked very nice, mattress was not at all comfortable!!! Whole place could do with a makeover but saying that it was a lovely place, food excellent!! breakfast we thought was just continental was in fact full English!!! We had an evening meal very good, lots of it & very good value for money...Nice weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Market Street, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £61 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has 12 comfortably furnished rooms, all with en-suite facilities. Continental and full English breakfast is included in our room rates. Our bar holds a wide range of local real ales. A wide range of food is available from bar snacks through to restaurant meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing