We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, ideal location”
Review of Rockvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockvale
Ranked #7 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend birthday break. The lovely owner had guests singing happy birthday to me as we came in for our scrummy breakfasts. Bed was very comfortable and en suite bathroom nice and clean. Superb sea views and walking location to everywhere in Lynton, including coastal paths.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DanandSerena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Rockvale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stopped for one night to extend our break and we were so glad we did.
We had a warm welcome and were shown to a lovely bright clean room overlooking the town, (room 6).
Not wanting to spend time looking for a place to eat we booked an evening meal £15 each for two courses, what a meal, I had steak and ale pie with 4 veg and Lynne had salmon in fresh herb sauce, then a coffee in the lounge, both were first class, proper home cooking at its best.
After a great nights sleep in a comfy bed we were looking forward to breakfast after such a nice evening meal and again, it was superb, I had smoked bacon fresh toms beans mushrooms egg sausage fried bread and toast to follow, but there was a long list of other options, we hardly ate anything else during the day, it was a perfect breakfast.
Would we stay here again, oh yes, close to the town, 5mins from the cliff railway, private parking, an ideal location.

Room Tip: Book an evening meal, you won't regret it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we could only stay one night(sadly!).this hotel is spotless and seems to have been completely renovated wherever you look! Smashing breakfast, not greasy and very varied menu. Very friendly owners who make you feel very welcome. we will certainly be re-booking if we return to Lynton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Rockvale B&B is in Lynton, right next to the tourist information.
We had a room with a beautifull view of Lynton, the hill and the sea.
An ideal place for walks in Exmore, or just around the corner the waterdriven "railway" to Lynmouth and the coastal path to Valley of Rocks.
The B&B has good clean rooms with good beds and bathroom.
the breakfast is very good thanks to the care of the nice ladies running the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We turned up on spec at the end of a day exploring Exmoor. To be honest, anywhere would have done but the Rockmoor turned out to be a happy choice. The room was quite spotlessly clean with a fine view over the valley and with everything you could need: good bathroom, excellent welcome tray, comfortable beds, tv and automatic connection to free wifi.
Heather gave us plenty of helpful - and accurate - information about where to eat in the evening and the breakfast the next morning was fine. It's a surprisingly spacious house, the welcome was unfailingly friendly and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a fantastic time and were made to feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for excellent, friendly service. Tucked away from the main throng, yet only 3 minutes walk from all local amenities. Great breakfast, friendly atmosphere and cleaner than our own home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecnepsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed at the rockvale may bank holiday with my wife and daughter and the fact that I've never wrote a review before is compliment enough for this lovely positioned hotel. Run by two sisters from the fantastic breakfasts to a optional evening meal and well stocked bar could not find fault with anything.Thankyou for a memorable six night stay see you next time we are in Lynton.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 23 in Lynton
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#10 of 23 in Lynton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvale

Address: Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockvale 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockvale, the ideal base for your Exmoor adventure. Situated in the picturesque village of Lynton, close to the North Devon coast and with easy access to the stunning countryside of the Exmoor National Park.We have seven bedrooms, a comfortable guest lounge and licenced bar, our breakfast menu offers the widest range in the area.There is free parking and excellent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rockvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockvale Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing