We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lacey's Tea Rooms

Lacey's Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Went on a lovely summer afternoon and sat in the garden. Two of us ordered crab sandwiches but were presented with what could only be described as brown watery sludge on bread. ( picture attached!) needless to say we didn't eat them. Nor did the man on the next table who had ordered the same. I assume it must be the norm for people to leave the food as the waitress didn't seem to notice when she collected the plates with food untouched. When it was pointed out to her that the food was in edible she just laughed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Val2013a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    16
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
barnstaple
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

visited this tearoom on a very hot afternoon , hoping for a lovely cool drink .Drinks were not chilled enough and the pineapple juice was not nice to look at ( Looked like it was the sediment from the bottle of the carton. Waitresses lovely but the owner quite fierce !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Laceys is an excellent tearoom. The food is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful they take the time to chat to you as well. The prices are very reasonable. Also the Tearoom is comfortable and has a garden at the back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Cream Teas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We went to Lacey's on a lovely sunny day and sat outside on the patio area which was very rural and had a first class ploughmans lunch with nice crusty bread then followed this up later with a cream tea which had the best scones ever and plenty of jam and cream. Although the tea rooms don't look that big from outside it is quite spacious and the waitresses were lovely with plenty of smiles.Well worth a visit if only for the cream tea

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't bother to wait for "service"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I can't comment upon the food as didn't bother to wait any longer. We visited on Sunday 07 July at approx 17:30. Upon entering we asked the waitress, a young girl if there were any tables on the terrace. Her reply was curt in the extreme so we asked where we could seat. Rudely pointed to a table and threw the menus on the table. She then disappeared. After approx 10 minutes of nothing we could not be bothered waiting and voted with out feet. I regret there being nobody around to whom we could voice our annoyance at the rudeness and off hand manner of this waitress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lacey's Tea Rooms also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Lacey's Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing