We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing authnetic interior”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hewitts Villa Spaldi
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing authnetic interior”
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Extraordinary place - really a privelidge to stay in an authentic old home like this. wonderful interiors, great rooms and faultless service. Simply one of the nices hotels I've been in in the south of England. Sensitively maintained as it should be, and not turned into some dreadful b&b schlock like most of the others round here.

Restaurant suffers from lack of custom and high prices, they should look that over as its such a waste of a great location and wonderful opportunity. woudl heartily recommend it otherwise.

  • Liked — interior of hotel
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank narikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

It would be hard to fault this beautiful hotel. Extraordinarily well appointed rooms with panoramic views across the Bristol Channel to Wales. If you are considering a romantic treat this place is perfect.
The owners were welcoming and accomodating. Our evening meal in the hotel restaurant was delicious (although very slightly marred by funereal piped musak!) Breakfast on the terrace was even better.
wonderful!

  • Liked — Stunning rooms with beautiful views
  • Disliked — Evening meal served in a rush
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

This is a hidden gem of a small hotel on a cliff above Lynmouth on the edge of Exmoor. It felt like staying in a rich uncle's country house, and the the owners, the Spaldis, made us feel like honoured guests. The food was uniformly excellent for the weekend we spent there. The wine list was short, but full of excellent wine at reasonable prices. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Will definitely return.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mohomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We are always looking for small property with a character. We found Hewitt's in a travel guide and we tried. We stayed there 2 nights mid June. Lynton is a pretty village on the North Devon coast. From the centre of the village you take a dead end narrow road along the coast and after few hundred meters you enter a gate, which signs the beginning of the property. The hotel is a former victorian house with very few rooms and still full of classy victorian furnitures. We had a great room with a grand view over the bay and as far as the Wales coast. The room was even equipped with a binocular to enjoy better views.
The patron of the hotel is Mr. Tito Spaldi, a very nice Italian Gentleman , who is also acting as a chef and he entertains guests with informations about the surroundings and their history. But the most spectacular thing is the garden, which takes the entire hill. Extremely well landscaped , with paths, bridges , small huts , it has a tropical flavour and it contains hundreds of exotic plants: a threat for amateurs and well worth a visit on his own.

Helpful?
6 Thank GammaRayBurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 November 2005

What a great place, it is close to Lynton but feels like its secluded miles from anywhere ! The view must be 1 of the top 50 in the world. Friendly staff, Great food, Beautiful rooms, & Fantastic Views - You Must Visit This Place !!!!!!! we will go back.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2003

This is a really beautiful hotel! The couple who own and run the hotel make you feel very special. Food, views and rooms were first class.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2002

I like this quiet and remote place very much. The silence of it'surroundings, the wonderful views over the Britstol Channel. Mrs. and Mr. Spaldi run the hotel in style. During the afternoon tea you will be flattered by the sounds of classical music of a player piano (Chopin, Field), while the butler nurses and feeds the fire. If you like to feel as a landlord of the 18th century - this will be your place. Don't expect any event - the hotel itself, marvellous situated high up the cove is event enough. The restaurant offers fine dining - less english than you may expect, but the italian patron stresses - not a bad decision, my God! - a bit the kitchen of his home-country. Wonderful breakfast buffet!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitts Villa Spaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitts Villa Spaldi

Property: Hewitts Villa Spaldi
Address: North Walk | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hewitts Hotel Lynton
Hewitts Villa Spaldi Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing