We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in ROOM 17unless you like mould and a bad bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Having stayed in Shrearings hotels over the last 5 years this is the worst for the room and food. It was also the best for the helpfull staff. The hotel needs refurbishing badly in some areas. The wallpaper was peeling and needed re emulshioning badly. The heated towel rail wasn't working. When we arrived the shower hose leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. We had mould on the window frames, and in the bathroom. The shower pole was also "rusty", yes rusty. I have never stayed anywhere when a cloth with some Domestos whould have made such a difference. We found all the food to have come from a tin, or a packet, just reminiscent of the worst catering of the early 60's.
Dine out if you want something that has any taste at all. Having complained formally to Shearings I have not heard anything after a week. The Management at the hotel knew that room 17 was "CRAP" and did nothing about it. It was the same attitude that you get at the worst NHS Hospitals. All I can say is that German tourists would have burnt the place down.
A good Hotel let down by Management, and Shearings. The restaurent staff were the best part of the three days we spent there.So nice and helpfull.........particlularly Tamara
We heard that some rooms had been refurbished, but could not confirm.
Having waited a week for Sheerings to come back, I'm including photo's of the rust and mould in Room 17 , June 2011.
However, Lynton, Valley of the Rocks is beautifull stay somewhere else and visit.

If and when Shearings come back to me I'll update this review..........

Room Tip: Don't say here in a non refurbished room you will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Visitorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for 5 days. The staff could not do enough for you, the food was great and the room was clean and pleasant. Would recommend this hotel and do not miss a walk along the cliffs to the Valley of Rocks, it is well worth the walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanne_huckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyOfRocksHotel, General Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Dear Susanne Huckle,

We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we must agree the cliff walk to the Valley of Rocks is not to be missed.

Thank you

Gus Percival
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

enjoyed our stay at the valley of the rocks some update needed in the hotel but the hotel is very old so was expected ' the food was fine and good value for the money we paid for a four day break

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank midnight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyOfRocksHotel, General Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Dear Midnight86,

Thank you for your nice review, the hotel is indeed very old and retains many of its original features, a bit like me, some people say.

Kind Regards
Gus Percival
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Had a very nice three days stay, the staff and service was very good, food good as well, rooms had everthing you need in them, shower very good, the two nights entertainment was very good,but best of all was the view from our bedroom window what a picture,it was a very good stay alround.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bjrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyOfRocksHotel, General Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, the views are indeed a picture.
Very Kind Regards
Gus Percival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I stayed here for 12 days in feb 2011 and came back for more in April for another 7 days. I love the place, I stay in Room 72, they know who I am. All the staff are excellent. I am pleased to be back in a place that holds so many special memories for me of my parents.
The food is fine, the accomodation is clean and pleasant. What do people expect for a 2 star hotel ?
I can find no faults and the staff are lovely.
Must mention Gus, Tamlyn, Barry, Stuart, Mervyn, Lauren.....and everyone for their care.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tarquin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyOfRocksHotel, General Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

It was really nice to see you again I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and that the hotel has happy memories for you.
Thanks for mentioning the staff; they were all pleased with your feedback
Please call us when you book again, and we will do our best to give you, your favorite room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

When we booked this hotel we did not have very high expectation based on the fact that it was such a cheap deal but we thought it would be fine to use as a base. Lynton is quaint and the hotel is in a good position but that is where the positives end. Our only request at time of booking was ignored,, the furntiurw was tatty, the bathroom had damp patches on the ceiling, the walls were cracked and the bed was unbelievably uncomfortable. (Although I have to say here that it was clean). The hotel is generally very tatty, once upon a time it must have ben a very impressive place, but no longer. We went down to dinner around 7.30. A basic menu but we expected that.service was SO fast that they hardly gave you a chance to blink....we were just about to beserved our main course when 2 total strangers were sat at the table with us whilst there were clearly vacant tables elsewhere! To be fair to them, they were perfectly pleasant but neither they nor us wanted to be sitting with each other! We went out for the rest of the evening just to avoid being in the hotel. A shocking night's sleep in a very uncomfortable bed. The following day we checked out, we were booked for the whole weekend....nobody asked us why!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NewtonAbottJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed weekend 11-14 March. We thought the food was fine, reasonable selection and we liked the self service cereal and fruit juice arrangement/bar set up, etc. in the morning. We were allocated room 41 on the 2nd floor which overlooks Lee Road and was opposite the old entrance to what was once the hotel stables. Quiet room. Everything ok. Comfortable bed, quite clean. Bathroom quite good with power shower and good lighting. Good walks around and about to the Valley of the Rocks and coastal path. Excellent views and not too exhausting. Some good quizzes in the Atrium. Not the place to go if you want a hen or stag weekend but it suited us. Towels changed when necessary and everything kept tidy. We found the staff were ok. The young foreign dining room staff were having some trouble on the odd occasion, understanding people's needs but they sorted things out eventually andt I did not see anything I could have complained about. They all seemed perfectly pleasant and helpful to me. Be prepared for odd TV reception - fuzzy and intermittent and it is BBC Wales you will eventually see. However, we also witnessed the complaint and aftermath in the dining room on the Sunday night and would echo the views of the previous correspondent regarding this. Not dealt with properly. Embarrassing for everyone in the dining room at the time. We have stayed in many Shearings Hotels both here and abroad ranging from Strathpeffer to Opatija over the pasty twenty or so years and we particularly liked this one. Faded Victorian splendour, yes. Needs some tlc. Yes. I think it was the surrounding countryside, the lovely views from the dining room, the location and walks which did it for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank March30Gloucs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing