We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Shearings Hotel so far.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We chose Shearings last year for a change and until now have been more than pleased with our previous trips. We apprecitate that some Hotels need upgrading etc., but this needs help pretty quick! Firstly either remove the nearly none existant doormat or replace it before you get an Insurance claim against you. Remove those HIGH BACKED CHAIRS please, they are not comfortable and really make that area look cluttered. Our bed was lovely and comfortable thankfully, but oh dear the wallpaper really is hanging off the walls and makes a rather depressing feeling when entering the bedroom. As for the bathroom in No 8 , I hope the bath panel gets replaced soon before you run out of stick tape to keep it together or to avoid someone cutting themselves on it. The dinning room needs a real sort out , it is the first shearings hotel that does not remove dirty pots between courses, brings toast out when you have finished your cooked brekie which is often cold anyway, shame because it is a fairly descent one. However the young lady serving did her best trying to please everyone, when it was clearly obvious she needed an extra pair of hands. A good few people there were on thier first Shearings trip and unfortunately will not be going on anymore from what they said. I am looking forward to my next trip to Torquay and hope I will not be has dissapointed as this. The coach drive ANDREW and his collegues made up for the shortfall of the hotel by taking us out daily to some lovely parts of Devon, especially the Canal Barge at Tiverton . So whoever is in charge of finances for this lovely old building come up with something soon .

Room Tip: perhaps upgrade to a newly refurbished one..
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

I am sorry that you found your recent stay with us not up to your usual holiday expectations and will most certainly look into the issues you have raised. I can assure you that the bath panel will be replaced, usually these maintenance issues are picked up quite quickly but this one has obviously slipped through the net.
We usually get very positive reviews for our food and service, however I will review your comments with our restaurant manager, and I am pleased though that you found the waitress to be very attentive to you.
I take on board you suggestion regarding the lounge seating and as it is always our aim to take ideas and suggestions for improvements from our guests, we will certainly look at this area too.
I hope that you enjoy your next trip to Torquay and I hope that you will come back to Lynton in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

we have just come back from a four day break, when walking up the steps the carpets were worn and accident waiting to happen, musty smell has you enter into the main entertainment room, we were in room 12 although the sheet were clean the room needed decorating and new furniture, the corridors and the doors on the corridors needed painting even if they were washed they might have looked a little bit better the decor on the corridors was disgusting, the carpets were well worn, the food was nice and the staff were pleasant the entertainment was good although there was nothing on one night so we had to make our own entertaiment, its such a pity because it is in a lovely part of the country with lovely surroundings. we wouldnt stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank janice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed the food and entertainment and that you thought our staff were pleasant.
We have had a number of our bedrooms fully refurbished.
Thank you for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Me and my partner needed a well deserved break and was looking forward to 4 days away. As soon as we entered the hotel we knew this was not going to be the case. The reception staff were unhelpful and left you to wonder the hotel to find your room with no direction. The smell was terrible, we thought we had entered a OAP home. Entertainment was ok but not varied for age. Staff wanted you in and out no hotel service, I work in this trade and this is terrible. The bedroom well where do we start, rm 12, Had a funny smell to it, decor was terrible and have this hotel not heard of a duvet!!!!!!! We was right above kitchen and till 1130 pm was banging crashing and a loud radio this all started again at 6am. By the 3rd night we were shattered, my partners usually a calm man and 130 am a delivery pulls up, rolling roll cages and talking to night porter by this point he shouted out the window. The toilet seat was disgusting and no lock on bathroom door. We will not be returning to this hotel again but will be returning to lynton. This hotel does not reflect the beauty of the area and a insult to a paying guest.......

Room Tip: Dont choose rooms above restaurant/kitchen area
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rach25061989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

We are surprised to read your comments regarding noise, our kitchen is usually closed before 9.00 pm (Dinner is served 6.30 pm - 8.00 pm)
I have never known us to have a delivery at 1.30 am and have no record of one, the only company that uses cages deliver between 8 and 11 am, Tuesdays and Fridays only. (I have no record of any guests complaining about a 1.30 am delivery either)
Thank you for leaving your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our room was lovely (obviously newly refurbished), but there was no shower in the bathroom, not even an over-bath shower. The temperature outside was in the 80's, so the last thing we wanted was to have a bath. When we asked to move to a room with a shower we were told that there weren't any, and that hardly any rooms have showers, due to the poor water pressure. When we ran the bath the water absolutely gushed out, and my partner (who's a plumber) said there was enough pressure to run five showers! They're obviously too tight to spend the money installing them.
Dinner on the first evening was so bad, we ate out on the 2nd night. We risked the hotel dinner again on the third night - big mistake!! My partner's dinner was so burnt you couldn't even identify what it was supposed to be.
The staff were hopeless. The barman would just disappear at peak times, so half the time you couldn't get a drink. You had to go to the bar to get your own drinks when you were eating in the restaurant, while the waiting staff stood round doing nothing. There was only one barman to serve everyone in the bar and the restaurant - it was ridiculous.
There are much better places to stay than this hotel. Will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AcerWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for posting your comments; we did indeed have a number of bedrooms refurbished, we have some rooms with showers, some with baths and some with both. (45 of our 68 rooms have a walk in shower or shower over the bath)
We usually get excellent comments regarding our staff, never had them described as "hopeless" before.
We believe we offer excellent value for money, but I guess that we are just not the holiday company that is best suited for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

On arrival the first thing we noticed was a musty smell. The reception staff were unhelpful. The hotel itself is looking tired and is in desperate need of refurbishment. We required disabled facilities and found these lacking. The main access for wheelchairs was via the rear exit which led direcly into the dining area which after service of meals was often locked. The only other access was via the maintenance exit which led directly onto the main road. Meals were at best adequate. An outside terrace would have been a bonus. The setting of Lymouth was lovely but we will not be staying at this hotel again and will not be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

We are very surprised to read your comments regarding our disabled facilities.
We have two wheelchair friendly entrances as you say, but neither is ever locked, as they are fire exits so they don't have locks on them. We also have a fully refurbished and adapted disabled bedroom on the ground floor, disabled toilets also on the ground floor, mobility scooter storage and charging facilities, a lift to all floors and all our public rooms including the restaurant are on the ground floor. We do not have a pavement in front of the hotel, so all our front fire exits lead directly onto the road.
We also have an outside terrace, next to our bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Our first impression as we walked through the main doors was the foisty smell that met us in the reception area. The carpet was filthy and the door mat was so worn that there was nothing to wipe our feet on. We were checked in by a man who looked as if he worked in maintenance with paint on his t.shirt and jeans, as the receptionist munched on a sandwich.We agree with other reviews that the lounge area looked like it was in a residential home,high back chairs and very dark and dinghy. Our bedroom was great, obviously one of the newly refurbished rooms, nicely decorated with new furniture and a very nice view. Our dinner on our first evening was terrible I myself could not even eat mine, risotto so thick that my fork stood up in it, my husband had pork which was ok but the veg was inedible boiled to death. Breakfast was the best meal of the day plenty of choices and cooked to perfection,compliments to the breakfast chef. We enjoyed our weekend break but would not go back to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 54 very nice and a good view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Room 54 was refurbished in May 2012.
We are sorry that you were not fully happy with your stay with us, but we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

have stayed quite a few times in this hotel.its full of character in lovely settings on the north devon coast.The walks from the hotel are beautiful as is the small village of Lynmouth.
The hotel is comfortable ,we had a lovely room on each ocassion we have stayed there.The nightly entertainment was good as was the breakfast and evening dinner.Its such a good price for a weekend break .We have stayed in many other Shearings hotels in the UK and find them all value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Lynton, and that you were happy with your room, the food and our evening entertainment
We agree that we have some beautiful walks around here, details and maps are available free from our reception.
Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing