We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have stayed at the Valley of Rocks many times over the past 9 years. Yes, it is in need of refurbishment (ongoing) but it has a unique charm and is in a wonderful area.
I visited with my mother on November 9th for a 3 night stay. I had asked for adjacent rooms as my mother is elderly. We were given rooms 27 and 29, both of which were refurbished in May. HOWEVER... there is no chest of drawers in room 27. When I asked if it was possible to have one, the manager (Mr Julian (Gus) Percival) became extremely rude, shouting at me in the reception area in front of my mother and other guests. There is no excuse for rudeness from any member of staff in any hotel anywhere in the world.
I will not let this unpleasant man put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
We allocated you adjacent rooms as requested, your room 27 was fully refurbished during May this year; due to the shape and design of the room it was not possible to fit a chest of drawers, a shelf was fitted into the wardrobe instead. You asked me at reception if I could put a chest of drawers into your room which I told you was not possible, as there was not enough room to put one, so I offered you another room a few doors away (a sea view upgrade, at no extra charge). You did not want to move to this room as you wanted to be in a room next to your mother, we did not have any other adjacent rooms available.
I know you were already upset that you had to pay £12.00 for a 4 day parking pass in the Council pay and display car park, because you thought parking was free. I am sorry if you thought I was rude, but I did not shout at you, you headed for the door as I was still trying to explain the options to you, not giving me the time to explain to you fully. I hope you will visit us again in the future and we can then talk in person about your complaint.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    112
    77
    54
See reviews for
61
276
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

the valley of the rocks could be quite nice but it is so outdated and needs not to be associated with the shearings brand.
service in the restruant was good but the food was at best bland and was often served cold/rooms freezing cold as was the lounge at times(small radiators dotted about)
i think the hotel doesnt worry too much as they have a regular 12 months supply of guests from shearings.
bar closed at 11 surely this should have stayed open later for residents
my advice keep using shearings but swerve this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbob519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We are pleased you were happy with the service in our restaurant.
We have had a brand new heating system fitted during October this year serving all the guest bedrooms, and as a temporary measure (while the main heating boiler was being serviced) we had electric oil heaters in the public areas.
The bar is open until at least 11.30pm and later if guests are still in the bar.
I will pass your comments regarding the food, not being hot enough on to our head chef.
We have had a number of rooms fully refurbished and are having more refurbished in the near future; we are also having the main lounge/entertainment room redecorated.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here early October, and would not stay here again. It has great potential, but needs a lot of money spent on it. Our room had ripped curtains and a bathroom door that swung on it's hinges and would not shut, not very private. Food average, but pleasant and attentative staff in the dining room. Only one plus for this hotel, right in the middle of Lynton.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyd653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding "our pleasant and attentive staff".
The hotel is indeed in the middle of Lynton surrounded by the beautiful Exmoor countryside.
Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, and for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here on a Shearings coach holiday. The rooms were clean but a bit small and dated and only a shower, no bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the entertainment could have been better. Dining room was quite spacious and the food was good and plentiful and the waitresses were very efficient. The location is great for walking and amazing scenery. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and enjoyed the food and service in our spacious restaurant. We agree we have some lovely walks and amazing scenery. We do believe that we offer good value and hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We went with friends for a well earned break as we all work really hard. The weekend break was booked at the last minute and only cost us £92 each for a three night half board stay. the rooms were lovely, a typical shearings hotel with some updating being done as they can afford it. The staff were friendly and the food excellent. The rooms were cleaned daily and the entertainment fabulous, we had a lovely time. It was our first visit to lynton and we were very impressed, every thing is eay to get to and there was a water operated lift doen to lynmouth, brilliant.

Room Tip: go for upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding friendly staff, excellent food, fabulous entertainment and lovely rooms.
The cliff railway between Lynton & Lynmouth is “a must do” when visiting this beautiful part of North Devon.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, at The Valley of Rocks Hotel and hope that you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we could see that improvements have been made. We had a recently refurbished room with a sea view which was really nice. Bathroom was clean but only had a bath with no shower attachment which made washing my hair a bit difficult. As this is a walking area a couple of coat hooks in the room would be handy as well.

Food was good and plenty of it but it was never really hot enough and the toast was always stone cold.

For the price this was an excellent stay - if the above few minor niggles were put right you cannot fault it.

Many thanks for our wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
We are really pleased you had an “excellent stay” with us in Lynton.
We agree that the refurbished rooms are really nice.
We will pass on the “few minor niggles” on to the relevant hotel departments, we do have shower attachments available from reception if required.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frinton on sea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd visit and the re-furbished rooms are now very good. It is worth upgrading to a sea view / superior room. The food though basic was plentiful and varied. The hotel is tired, but its upkeep must be very costly and the prices Shearings charge makes it a good value break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to best available room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woknrollUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed the food, found us to be excellent value for money and found our refurbished rooms very good. We agree we are in a great location with fantastic views.
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on tripadvisor, we hope to see you again soon for your fourth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing