We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I took a large group to this hotel, staff though sparse they were friendly, single rooms were very tired and very small, some of the rooms were decorated to an acceptable standard.
I have taken groups to Shearings hotels for many years, unfortunately this was the worst standard of food I have come across.
To say mums gone to Iceland would have been an insult to Iceland, there could not of been a chef at this hotel, it seamed everything was either from a tin. packet or freezer as well as being an unattractive colour of gray. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuefromStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for posting your comments we are pleased you found our staff to be friendly. We think the refurbished rooms a brilliant. We are sorry you were not happy with the standard of food during your stay; we usually get positive feed back and believe we offer a wide range of food choices.
Thank you once again for leaving your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    112
    77
    54
See reviews for
61
276
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had stayed at this hotel two or three years ago and even then it was tired, now it is run down and just generally let go. The garden was so overgrown and the steps from the back of the hotel were really slippery (something we had commented about on our previous visit). The steps up to the car park were covered in leaves and debris, this was so bad that we had to physically sweep the leaves etc to one side to make the steps at least reasonably safe. This is a beautiful building in a prime position, and we find it so sad that Shearings has not invested any money to bring this hotel up to some reasonable standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We agree this is a beautiful building in a prime location; we have been refurbishing many bedrooms and will continue to do so. We will certainly look into the points you have mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were staying in Lynton last week (Wednesday 5th) and called in this hotel for a quick drink before returning to our B & B - well we have to say we had a lovely couple of hours - there was a quick quiz, the staff were very friendly and the entertainment on the evening (quiz host as well) was Steve Davies - he was a superb guitarist and was very entertaining - we enjoyed his music so much we bought his c.d. He interacted so well with the audience and it was a fun evening. Even though the Hotel could do with a make over this didn't stop the friendliness of the staff and the standard of entertainment. Liz & Steve Harris.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your evening and found our staff to be friendly, during your recent visit to our hotel.

We agree Steve Davies is an excellent guitarist and all round entertainer; he always interacts brilliantly with the audience and makes it a fun evening for all. We are sure you will enjoy his c.d. and hope it reminds you of the fun evening you had, here in Lynton.

We hope you get the chance to visit us gain in the future, thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Spent a 5 day break at this hotel After a long drive down on Shearings coach we arrived at hotel. Going into hotel carpet stuck down with white tape,Lounge dark and dingy at this point I wanted to run out. Good job we upgraded too superior room.On our way to our room the walls in the corridors were badly marked and shabby. Also the lift was out of order.This did not affect us as we are both fit,but a lot of other guests needed the use of a lift.Now to turn this review round.Our room was good very clean with sea view.The view was stunning overlooking church and hills.(Room 80).Reception were helpful and cheerful.Dining room OK.The food was good hot and plentiful.The waiters were very good quick and very polite .Going to and fro from our room chambermaids always said a warm good morning.The weather was beautiful and sunny .Lynton is a lovely clifftop village above Lynmouth.The hotel staff make this hotel.The area is truly beautiful and I will be back. Shearings need to spend to improve this poor old girl to former glory.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the food, had good quick service from our polite waiting staff, that you found our reception team to be “helpful and cheerful” and you were greeted warmly by our housekeeping staff.

We are happy that your room was “good and very clean” we agree room 80 has stunning views (the best in Lynton we think).

We hope you will visit us again in this beautiful part of Exmoor.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Sadly Shearings are not bothering with this hotel anymore, staff citing budget constraints and staff sickness does not excuse its lack of basic maintenance and general clean. Rusty handrail at entrance, dirty closed front doors, you have to knock to get in! Dark dismal atrium lounge, lighting all wrong ,and all outside access to gardens out of bounds because what was once a beautiful garden is an overgrown wilderness. This didn't happen overnight! There is no excuse for this. This hotel was wonderful in its day, and can be again, if someone cared about it. people are being sent there completely misled by the web pictures and promised views. We arrived to find even the lift out of order, and not much help being given with cases (lack of staff) so a third/second floor trek up and down was experienced by everyone.The staff must be very demoralised having to put up with working in a place that lacks even basic painting/decorating in public areas, bare wires sticking out of walls where lights use to be, and dark dismal corners, sheets covering over obvious raining in issues. It was a good job the food was adequate otherwise we would not have stayed at all. The prime position of this hotel and its once proud heritage does not deserve this treatment by Shearings, who either should invest in it or sell it to someone who cares. It would benefit from indoor pool/spa facilities and would be a prime spot for weddings/anniversaries celebrations. Also out of season an overnight walkers B& B section could be utilised in there, you would recoup any investment made there, as there is no direct competition for this wonderful prime spot in Lynton, and worth any extra money to pay to stay there. Sadly trying to add a negative review to their own Shearings hotel site customer reviews has been blocked and that is unfair as people really should know this place is sadly not as it is looks on the web-site anymore, and they should show all the comments good and bad so people know exactly what they are getting. We only stayed a week-end thankfully, so be warned not all Shearings Bay hotels are the same !!!! So come on Shearings You can do better than this.The Valley of The Rocks could be your best one, people would come again and again and not all by coach, we were all self-drives over the week-end anyway.

Room Tip: There are a few upgraded rooms, which we viewed one that another guest had paid a suppliment to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BarnsleyLancsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are sorry that you found your recent stay with us not up to your usual holiday expectations and we will most certainly look into the issues you have raised.

The lift which is now fully working; was unfortunately out of order during your stay we did however, have extra luggage porters on duty.

The garden & woodland are accessible though the double gates at the side of the hotel and from the two doors in the main lounge, one path leads through the woods down to North Walk and the other to the Cliff Railway.

We agree this wonderful hotel is in a prime position, and we are pleased you enjoyed the food.

We will continue with our programme of room refurbishments.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

First impressions count ... and sadly, the reception area is in great need of redecoration. Not to mention the passage ways, which were dire! In particular, what was once a beautiful lounge, is now dark and dismal. The staff were mostly friendly; the meals were adequate but no more; meal times are limited and therefore each course is rushed. The best I can say about this hotel is that at least the bedrooms were clean and tidy. Perhaps some will say good value - but I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Paid extra for seaview - which helped a bit.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne260757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
We are planning to have the reception and lounges refurbished; unfortunately the main lounge atrium was closed in, many years ago, due to health and safety regulations. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and your bedroom clean and tidy. We serve dinner between 6.30pm and 8.00pm so we are surprised that you felt that each course was rushed. We hope you change your mind and do visit us again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

As it has been said before this lovely building is in need of some work both inside and outside. In my opinion the money spend on the entertainment which only seemed to involve 15% of the guests, would be better spent on doing up this wonderful hotel, my husband and I paid for an upgrade which gave us a great sea view,with floor to ceiling windows, an orthopedic double bed and a modern clean room on the second floor with no noise from outside (room 17) worth the £40 extra for a 3 night stay.....food was good and the service as good as any 4 star hotel we have stayed in. Shearings......PLEASE spend some money on this hotel, you will not regret it, you have a great location, this area is stunning!! We have been all over the world and this is as good as anywhere on earth, especially if the weather is good.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded sea view room like 17 on the first floor at the back of hotel. Great view and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2355regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed the food and received “four star service” from our staff. We are also happy that you liked room 17, which was fully refurbished in February this year; we agree we are in a prime location, in this beautiful part of North Devon.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing