We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Travelled with Shearings for a most enjoyable mini holiday in March. Arrived at the very warm hotel.The bedroom was comfortable and modern.. All the meals were tasty and served quickly by pleasant staff. We were given a choice to either sit on our own or share a table.
The area a walker's paradise and the hotel a good base..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Enid V, for leaving your lovely comments on trip advisor.
Were are really pleased you had an excellent mini break, at our very warm hotel.
We are also pleased you had a comfortable and modern bedroom, and that you enjoyed the food and had quick service by our pleasant staff.

We agree that Lynton is a walker’s paradise and our hotel is in the ideal location, we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had the misfortune to be put in a room that is in dire need of renovating. The bathroom fitting are really old and rather rusty.
The sheets were of a high quality and spotlessly clean. There was no light above the bed to read.The carpet needed deep cleaning as it was very stained.
The dining room staff were brilliant, friendly and efficient.
The food was good with some very innovative starters.
I paid for a room with a sea view and there was only a view of tree tops.
This hotel is in a very good position in the town.
This trip was a bit like the curate's egg.

Room Tip: Do not have rooms 21 or 22, very noisy as every sound reaches here from the "entertainment"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank L M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are pleased that you had “brilliant, friendly and efficient” service from our restaurant staff and that “the food was good with some very innovative starters”.
We are sorry to hear that you were not fully happy with your bedroom other than the “high quality and spotlessly clean sheets” we have had a large number of bedrooms totally refurbished and we will continue with our programme of refurbishment.
It was disappointing that you only awarded the hotel 1 star, as our recent comments on tripadvisor have all been very positive.
We agree that the hotel is in a very good position in Lynton, (the best we think).
Thank you LMW for taking the time to post your review, we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break to Lynton with shearings! Had a brilliant stay! Had a room with a sea view which was a lovely unexpected surprise! Rooms were clean and tidy, housemaids did a fantastic job everyday! Meals were tasty and there was a wide variety, waiting on staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble! Entertainment wasn't the best but they knew how to have a laugh! Location was fantastic right near everything u need in the middle of the town and close to he valley of rocks and some beautiful walks! Overall had a fantastic trip would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return! Fantastic value for money!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you Anna W, for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you had a fantastic and value for money holiday here with us in beautiful Lynton.
We also are pleased, that you enjoyed the food and that our restaurant and housekeeping staff were all fantastic.
We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the beautiful walks in this amazing part of Exmoor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with national hol. Lovely room, recently decorated with sea view. TV reception poor at times, and room had bath but no shower. Reception changed room for us - thank you. Our Waiter Matej very efficient and helpful and so polite, but all waiters rushing around - need more staff - service slow. Meals were really nice quality. Entertainment Fri, Sat good but female singer Sunday treated us like she was in a retirement home. Sat went to Barnstable and Ilfracombe. Sunday drove 1 1/2 hrs to Minehead and told back on bus in 30 mins WHAT !!!! It took 9hrs to get there on fri from North east, i expected 2 days out but only really got one. Very disappointing and sadly wouldn't recommend this trip - far too long on bus (9hrs inc 3 x 1/2 hr motorway service breaks each way!) and just not worth it. Hotel itself is fine, I'd stay again, just not by coach trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one with shower if you really want on, several only have bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hell0chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lynton and that your room was lovely. We are also pleased you had efficient, helpful and polite service from Matej your waiter and that you enjoyed the food.
I will pass on your comments regarding the excursions to National Holidays.
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Thank you for leaving your comments on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had read a number of brilliant reviews for this hotel, so I think I was expecting too much. We paid for a superior room with a sea view. Undoubtedly the view was spectacular, the room spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, although the bed could have done with a new mattress as it sloped into the middle of the bed. The bathroom was huge and could be made spectacular, but there was nowhere to put toiletries - My husband put his toothpaste and deodorant on the tiny ledge above the sink and there was nowhere for me to put anything, so my toilet bag had to live in the bedroom and I had to remember to take things into the bathroom with me each time I went in.
The food was ok - salads brilliant, but in general the food was very bland. I ordered two dishes that claimed to contain garlic - I couldn't taste any. I also feel that there should have been another couple of staff in the dining room to avoid some very long delays in having orders taken and the table cleared after the main course.
The village of Lynton is lovely, and a visit to the Cottage Hospital was accomplished quickly. I could not have asked for better treatment. We would love to return to the area when the weather is better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nina_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you Nina Gregory, for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that your room was kept spotlessly clean and our staff were friendly and helpful. We agree that the views from the sea view superior rooms are spectacular.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues regarding your bedroom and the staffing in the restaurant, we will certainly look in to this.
We are surprised you found some of the food bland as we usually get good feedback regarding food quality, we are happy that you thought that the salads were brilliant!
We look forward to you visiting us again, and we hope the weather is better too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed at Valley of the Rocks for three nights over New Year.
Check in was quick and efficient, parking arranged in the hotels own car park[ make sure you book in advance as car park only has spaces for 8 cars].
Our room was I think the best positioned in the whole hotel, no. 77. We had our own 'tower' like room on the top floor with marvellous views of the sea and Wales beyond from all three windows.
Well worth the supplement which included nice touches like wine, fruit and chocolates.
ALL meals were excellent, plenty of choice, good size portions and attentively served by Eric or server.
Entertainment on all three nights was excellent and we 'saw the New Year in' in good company.
The building dates back to the 1830's so there are signs of wear and tear, but the service and standards of the staff more than make up for this.
The hotel has commanding views over Lynmouth so be prepared for steep hills to climb, the lift railway does not operate in the winter. The cliff path walk is stunning and don't be surprised to come face to face with a wild goat!
A very enjoyable stay and good start to 2014 !

Room Tip: Book a high floor with sea view, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you LTNJET, for taking the time to post your kind comments.
We are really happy that you had “the best New Year for ages” with us at The Valley of Rocks Hotel.
We agree room 77 has marvellous views of the sea and Wales, (one of the best views in Lynton we think).
We are pleased you enjoyed all the meals, the excellent entertainment and that you saw in the New Year with good company.
Eric, (our restaurant supervisor) was really pleased to read your comments.
Thank you once again for taking your time, to leave such a nice review; we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and l decided after 13 years to have break from the family this past Christmas, so we decided to self drive to Lynton. staying at the "Valley of the Rock" booking with Shearings.
The room No 9 was perfect, the meals were excellent and the staff so helpful, especially "Eric" if l needed an extra kipper on my plate, it was there!! we soon made friends with other guested, Ed & Joan, the group of 4 from Plymouth, we did have a good laugh over Christmas. Entertainment every night, for the price of our stay is fantastic value, to be honest we could'nt find any fault with the hotel. of course if you look deep enough you are bound to find something to complain about.
We have already started to look at other Shearing Bay Hotels for Christmas 2014.

Room Tip: We was given the advice, choose the Hotel you wish to stay over the Christmas Holidays and if it not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you Ken H, for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us in Lynton, and that “room 9 was perfect”, “the meals were excellent” and “the staff were helpful”.
Thank you for the special mention regarding Eric, he was really pleased to read your review.
We are happy that you made some new friends and we are sure you will enjoy your next Christmas break with Shearings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £46 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing