We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go here for the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“go here for the views”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here recently for a short break. Considering what we paid we weren't expecting much. This is a very historic building but with history comes a huge upkeep bill, so don't expect an ultra modern hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel but others had fantastic views over the sea. We got a glimpse of this in the restaurant so definitely think its worth paying for a sea view. Our room was very clean with everything we needed. The bathroom was spotless and bedding and towels also spotlessly clean. The food was far more than we'd expected and was delightfully served by Nicole. Couldn't fault the staff throughout the hotel. Everyone tried their best to be attentive and helpful. This hotel is situated within the village of Lynton and is just at the side of the walkway down to Lynmouth with the tramway just a short walk away. Well situated for anyone wanting to get out and about on Exmoor, Really worth going if only to see the Atrium lounge. Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view esp if you're there for longer than a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are really pleased you received “delightful service from Nicole” in our restaurant and that the food exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased that your room was kept spotless by our housekeeping team and all the hotel staff were faultless.
The Atrium lounge is a wonderful piece of architecture, we agree it’s a must see when visiting Lynton.
We also agree our hotel is well situated in the middle of Lynton, ideal for exploring all that Exmoor has to offer.
Thank you Charlie 322, for taking the time to post you kind comments on Tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    169
    120
    81
    58
See reviews for
61
296
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend break at this old but comfortable hotel. Bedrooms in process of refurbishment . We stayed in room 16 . Very quiet ,warm and comfortable. Water was not that hot, only one bedside lamp but had three good nights sleep. Food average but plentiful. Manager very helpful when making inquiries . Staff very pleasant and quick to serve food . Entertainment was varied but enjoyable . Who could ask for more

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are happy that you had a lovely weekend break with us in Lynton, and that you had a warm and comfortable room. We are pleased that you had quick service from our pleasant staff and you enjoyed the varied evening entertainment.

Thank you Helen E, for leaving your kind comments we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Travelled with Shearings for a most enjoyable mini holiday in March. Arrived at the very warm hotel.The bedroom was comfortable and modern.. All the meals were tasty and served quickly by pleasant staff. We were given a choice to either sit on our own or share a table.
The area a walker's paradise and the hotel a good base..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you Enid V, for leaving your lovely comments on trip advisor.
Were are really pleased you had an excellent mini break, at our very warm hotel.
We are also pleased you had a comfortable and modern bedroom, and that you enjoyed the food and had quick service by our pleasant staff.

We agree that Lynton is a walker’s paradise and our hotel is in the ideal location, we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warboys Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had the misfortune to be put in a room that is in dire need of renovating. The bathroom fitting are really old and rather rusty.
The sheets were of a high quality and spotlessly clean. There was no light above the bed to read.The carpet needed deep cleaning as it was very stained.
The dining room staff were brilliant, friendly and efficient.
The food was good with some very innovative starters.
I paid for a room with a sea view and there was only a view of tree tops.
This hotel is in a very good position in the town.
This trip was a bit like the curate's egg.

Room Tip: Do not have rooms 21 or 22, very noisy as every sound reaches here from the "entertainment"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank L M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are pleased that you had “brilliant, friendly and efficient” service from our restaurant staff and that “the food was good with some very innovative starters”.
We are sorry to hear that you were not fully happy with your bedroom other than the “high quality and spotlessly clean sheets” we have had a large number of bedrooms totally refurbished and we will continue with our programme of refurbishment.
It was disappointing that you only awarded the hotel 1 star, as our recent comments on tripadvisor have all been very positive.
We agree that the hotel is in a very good position in Lynton, (the best we think).
Thank you LMW for taking the time to post your review, we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break to Lynton with shearings! Had a brilliant stay! Had a room with a sea view which was a lovely unexpected surprise! Rooms were clean and tidy, housemaids did a fantastic job everyday! Meals were tasty and there was a wide variety, waiting on staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble! Entertainment wasn't the best but they knew how to have a laugh! Location was fantastic right near everything u need in the middle of the town and close to he valley of rocks and some beautiful walks! Overall had a fantastic trip would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return! Fantastic value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you Anna W, for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you had a fantastic and value for money holiday here with us in beautiful Lynton.
We also are pleased, that you enjoyed the food and that our restaurant and housekeeping staff were all fantastic.
We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the beautiful walks in this amazing part of Exmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with national hol. Lovely room, recently decorated with sea view. TV reception poor at times, and room had bath but no shower. Reception changed room for us - thank you. Our Waiter Matej very efficient and helpful and so polite, but all waiters rushing around - need more staff - service slow. Meals were really nice quality. Entertainment Fri, Sat good but female singer Sunday treated us like she was in a retirement home. Sat went to Barnstable and Ilfracombe. Sunday drove 1 1/2 hrs to Minehead and told back on bus in 30 mins WHAT !!!! It took 9hrs to get there on fri from North east, i expected 2 days out but only really got one. Very disappointing and sadly wouldn't recommend this trip - far too long on bus (9hrs inc 3 x 1/2 hr motorway service breaks each way!) and just not worth it. Hotel itself is fine, I'd stay again, just not by coach trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one with shower if you really want on, several only have bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hell0chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lynton and that your room was lovely. We are also pleased you had efficient, helpful and polite service from Matej your waiter and that you enjoyed the food.
I will pass on your comments regarding the excursions to National Holidays.
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Thank you for leaving your comments on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had read a number of brilliant reviews for this hotel, so I think I was expecting too much. We paid for a superior room with a sea view. Undoubtedly the view was spectacular, the room spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, although the bed could have done with a new mattress as it sloped into the middle of the bed. The bathroom was huge and could be made spectacular, but there was nowhere to put toiletries - My husband put his toothpaste and deodorant on the tiny ledge above the sink and there was nowhere for me to put anything, so my toilet bag had to live in the bedroom and I had to remember to take things into the bathroom with me each time I went in.
The food was ok - salads brilliant, but in general the food was very bland. I ordered two dishes that claimed to contain garlic - I couldn't taste any. I also feel that there should have been another couple of staff in the dining room to avoid some very long delays in having orders taken and the table cleared after the main course.
The village of Lynton is lovely, and a visit to the Cottage Hospital was accomplished quickly. I could not have asked for better treatment. We would love to return to the area when the weather is better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you Nina Gregory, for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that your room was kept spotlessly clean and our staff were friendly and helpful. We agree that the views from the sea view superior rooms are spectacular.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues regarding your bedroom and the staffing in the restaurant, we will certainly look in to this.
We are surprised you found some of the food bland as we usually get good feedback regarding food quality, we are happy that you thought that the salads were brilliant!
We look forward to you visiting us again, and we hope the weather is better too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing