We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went for a short 5 day break to shake off my cough with shearings and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend the walk down the steep path to Lynmouth, walk around the walk back up every day. I alo enjoyed the coastal path walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us at The Valley of Rocks Hotel and that your holiday was “excellent for the price”

We are also pleased you enjoyed walking the coastal path and steep path down to Lynmouth; we hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the lovely walks in this beautiful part of North Devon.

Thank you Alan W, for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was a last minute break that i booked for my husband and myself on the Monday before we went on the Friday.We stayed Fri 21st march -Sun 23rd march.We loved it!A very relaxing place to stay.Food excellent,staff are lovely and work very hard.I would recommend this hotel who wants a quiet break.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 38 overlooking the road but you never heard the traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirandahartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you Taunton Mandy, for leaving you fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, in lovely Lynton.

Room 38 is a popular room with our guests and has a nice view of our village.

We are happy that you had “a very relaxing time, had excellent food served by our lovely hardworking staff” Thank you for recommending our hotel; we hope you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had a lovely weekend here old building but spotless food excellent great value for money the whole holiday package .all staff very helpful and pleasant .I would defiantly go again lots of places of interest to visit while there I have no complaints what so ever even though the entertainment was poor .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pauline1949cara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We are pleased, that you enjoyed your recent weekend break with us in Lynton

We are also pleased that you “had excellent food, great value for money, all the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel was spotless”

We are sorry that you found the live evening entertainment poor, we only use experienced and professional artistes and try to vary the entertainment each evening.

Thank you Pauline194cara for taking the time to post your kind comments, we all look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here recently for a short break. Considering what we paid we weren't expecting much. This is a very historic building but with history comes a huge upkeep bill, so don't expect an ultra modern hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel but others had fantastic views over the sea. We got a glimpse of this in the restaurant so definitely think its worth paying for a sea view. Our room was very clean with everything we needed. The bathroom was spotless and bedding and towels also spotlessly clean. The food was far more than we'd expected and was delightfully served by Nicole. Couldn't fault the staff throughout the hotel. Everyone tried their best to be attentive and helpful. This hotel is situated within the village of Lynton and is just at the side of the walkway down to Lynmouth with the tramway just a short walk away. Well situated for anyone wanting to get out and about on Exmoor, Really worth going if only to see the Atrium lounge. Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view esp if you're there for longer than a weekend
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We are really pleased you received “delightful service from Nicole” in our restaurant and that the food exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased that your room was kept spotless by our housekeeping team and all the hotel staff were faultless.
The Atrium lounge is a wonderful piece of architecture, we agree it’s a must see when visiting Lynton.
We also agree our hotel is well situated in the middle of Lynton, ideal for exploring all that Exmoor has to offer.
Thank you Charlie 322, for taking the time to post you kind comments on Tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely weekend break at this old but comfortable hotel. Bedrooms in process of refurbishment . We stayed in room 16 . Very quiet ,warm and comfortable. Water was not that hot, only one bedside lamp but had three good nights sleep. Food average but plentiful. Manager very helpful when making inquiries . Staff very pleasant and quick to serve food . Entertainment was varied but enjoyable . Who could ask for more

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We are happy that you had a lovely weekend break with us in Lynton, and that you had a warm and comfortable room. We are pleased that you had quick service from our pleasant staff and you enjoyed the varied evening entertainment.

Thank you Helen E, for leaving your kind comments we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Travelled with Shearings for a most enjoyable mini holiday in March. Arrived at the very warm hotel.The bedroom was comfortable and modern.. All the meals were tasty and served quickly by pleasant staff. We were given a choice to either sit on our own or share a table.
The area a walker's paradise and the hotel a good base..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Enid V, for leaving your lovely comments on trip advisor.
Were are really pleased you had an excellent mini break, at our very warm hotel.
We are also pleased you had a comfortable and modern bedroom, and that you enjoyed the food and had quick service by our pleasant staff.

We agree that Lynton is a walker’s paradise and our hotel is in the ideal location, we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had the misfortune to be put in a room that is in dire need of renovating. The bathroom fitting are really old and rather rusty.
The sheets were of a high quality and spotlessly clean. There was no light above the bed to read.The carpet needed deep cleaning as it was very stained.
The dining room staff were brilliant, friendly and efficient.
The food was good with some very innovative starters.
I paid for a room with a sea view and there was only a view of tree tops.
This hotel is in a very good position in the town.
This trip was a bit like the curate's egg.

Room Tip: Do not have rooms 21 or 22, very noisy as every sound reaches here from the "entertainment"...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank L M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are pleased that you had “brilliant, friendly and efficient” service from our restaurant staff and that “the food was good with some very innovative starters”.
We are sorry to hear that you were not fully happy with your bedroom other than the “high quality and spotlessly clean sheets” we have had a large number of bedrooms totally refurbished and we will continue with our programme of refurbishment.
It was disappointing that you only awarded the hotel 1 star, as our recent comments on tripadvisor have all been very positive.
We agree that the hotel is in a very good position in Lynton, (the best we think).
Thank you LMW for taking the time to post your review, we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing