We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self drive 26th-30th may 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Self drive 26th-30th may 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good value for money entertainment in the evening excellent . Room 8 we stayed in was nice and clean and very comfortable we enjoyed the food as well Dining room lounges and corridors a little tired and dark but you get what you pay and that is the only improvement needed a little more staff needed perhaps And yes I would stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are pleased that your recent holiday with us in Lynton was “good value for money” and that the “Evening entertainment was excellent”
We are also pleased that your bedroom was “nice, clean and comfortable” and that you “enjoyed the food”
Thank you Martin John B for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you would stay with us again and we will look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    107
    75
    54
See reviews for
60
273
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Valley of Rocks Hotel is located in an excellent cliff top position overlooking Lynmouth and provides a great base for exploring Exmoor.

The once grand Victorian hotel has been modified (quite poorly) to satisfy fire safety Regulations. Corridors are long, gloomy and pictures seem to have been removed that would have freshened them up. The food is average and is best described as what you might expect at your nans, which I guess is the market the hotel sells to.

No complaints on the service and the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you “Travelling Geologist” for taking the time to leave your feed back on Tripadvisor.

We agree, that our hotel is in an excellent position overlooking Lynmouth bay and for exploring lovely Exmoor.

The atrium lounge; still has all its original and magnificent features and attracts a lot of interest from our many visitors. (The fire resistant walls were fitted in the 1970s, enclosing the atrium, put still showing this amazing feat of architecture)

We are surprised you only found the food to be average, as we usually get good feedback regarding food.

We are pleased that you were happy with the service and yourr bedroom.

We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of this beautiful part of Exmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a hotel with a real period feel. The main lounge is quite magnificent. Some of the bedrooms enjoy quite magnificent views over Lynmouth Bay and towards Exmoor. The staff were so helpful and obliging, Nothing was too much trouble. I had to give a talk in Lynmouth and they even organised my meal to be a little earlier. The meals were well presented and with plenty of choice. We thought our stay was a real bargain and plan to return in the autumn.

Room Tip: We opted for an upgraded room and a sea view and we were pleased we did. The view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We agree that our hotel is in a fantastic location with “magnificent views over Lynmouth Bay and Exmoor” also that the hotel has a “real period feel and the main lounge is magnificent”
We are really pleased that the staff were helpful and obliging, and that nothing was too much trouble.
We are also pleased that the meals were well presented with plenty of choice, and that the staff organised an early meal for you, so that you could attend your talk in Lynmouth.
Thank you GJexplorers for taking the time to leave your kind comments on Tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good points first, the food and evening entertainment were very good.
The actual hotel was possibly the worst we have ever stayed in, and we've stayed in many.
You often hear the expression, the hotel was tired, believe me this one is exhausted.
Our bedroom had old damp patches on the walls, the curtains were so old they had holes in them.
The bathroom only had a bath, we couldn't believe it NO SHOWER. I immediately complained but was told only upgraded rooms had showers, they gave me a set of those rubber hoses you push on the taps.
The bathroom ceiling had damp patches and some of the paper needed sticking back down.
Beware travellers, you might want to give this one a miss......

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are pleased you found the evening entertainment and food to be “very good”.

We have had many rooms fully refurbished and we will continue to do so, we have different types of rooms; some have shower over the bath, some have walk in showers and some just have bath.

Thank you, Tony831, for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This weekend away was for my husbands 50th birthday and we had the most wonderful time. The room was absolutely lovely with a good en suite and a lovely view over the hills and to the sea. We found all the waiting and bar staff amazingly helpful. The meals were substantial and varied and served to our liking. Then for afters there is good entertainment although on the saturday night, the artiste did insist on playing bingo! Arghh. Not everybodys cup of tea! Yes the hotel could do with a lick of paint but then it would cost a lot more than we paid. So if your not worried about how it looks, but is clean and welcoming then this is an ideal get away and really good value for money.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DartmoorJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent holiday with us here in lovely Lynton; celebrating your husbands 50th Birthday, and that your holiday was good value for money.

We happy to hear that “all the waiting and bar staff were amazingly helpful” and that you enjoyed the meals and evening entertainment.


Thank you for you Dartmoor Ju, for taking the time to leave your kind comments on Tripadvisor, we all look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were made to feel very welcome. With it's faded grandeur, it still has a lot if charm.

The food and service were good, just wish they didn't hurry you through the courses so much. Let people enjoy what they are eating. The waiters are waiting to pounce on your plate and run to get the next course.

Disappointed to find no yogurt or fresh fruit for breakfast could have been better choice. A selection of croissants and rolls is core standard for every hotel, this was missed.

It was a very enjoyable stay and Lynton was a really friendly town, would love to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed you’re recent weekend break with us, here at The Valley of Rocks Hotel.
We are also pleased you had good food and service, (we do actually have yoghurts, fresh fruit and morning rolls on our Breakfast menu).
Thank you Tracy Bevan for posting your comments, we agree Lynton is a really friendly town; we are happy you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a last minute booking and it was extremely successful. Our large well furnished room had a partial sea view (well worth the upgrade). I was concerned about the rather thin duvet, but while we were at dinner this was promptly changed. The food was good, my husband is a celiac and he had a varied menu each day. All the table staff worked at speed and were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is nicely situated and surrounded by some small quality boutiques. We liked going down on the vehicular lift and strolling along by the Lyn. In fact the whole five days proved to be most enjoyable. Thank You. Nancy & Owen Shephard Mersea Island.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.
We are also pleased that Mr Sheppard’s diet was catered for, that you enjoyed the food and that all the restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful.
We agree that the hotel is nicely situated for exploring this beautiful part of North Devon, a walk along the river Lyn and a ride on the cliff railway are a “must do” while visiting Lynton.
Thank you Nancy & Owen Sheppard for posting your kind comments, we hope you will stay with us again and enjoy more of the lovely walks in the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing