We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed 19 July 2014

jusr returned from our 7th break to a shearings hotel in the past year. the valley of rocks hotel is a splendid old building with great views. The hotel needs a great deal of work done to bring the rooms up to standard. The room that we had needed a good paint job done on it but the view from our window made up for this. The entertainment is first class each evening .The trips out on the coach are some of the best we have been on, The steam train trip is very good but the highlight was the barge trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Charles P, for leaving your feedback on tripadvisor.
We are pleased, that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us in Lynton, also that you enjoyed the “first class” evening, entertainment and that you had a lovely view from your bedroom window.

The Steam railway and Tiverton barge excursion is very popular with our guests and the feedback we receive is always excellent.

We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the fabulous excursions we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Shearings Coach Holiday. We each paid a supplement to have our own rooms.

On arriving we were very disappointed. Supplements should only be paid when a single person occupies a double room, however, having each paid a supplement, we were given tiny single rooms with single beds! One of the rooms didn't even have enough space to fully open the wardrobe door! We should have paid a reduced price for staying in such small single rooms, not extra!

None of the rooms had showers either. Apparently the water pressure is too low to have shower mixer taps. I ended up having to buy a small sand bucket from a nearby shop so that I could wash my hair in the bath.

The rooms were not very clean either and the entire hotel was very run down. We kept our thoughts to ourselves at the start of the holiday, however as the days past, it became clear that a lot of the other people on the same Shearings Coach Holiday were equally disappointed with the hotel.

Its a shame because we are seriously going to reconsider going with Shearings again if this is the type of accommodation they feel is acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying a supplement for a single person to stay in a double room, you end up paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

“Thanks you for taking the time to post a review, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay with us, here in Lynton. I feel that we offer good value for money breaks and hope our guests enjoy what we have to offer here and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Upon checking your booking for three standard single rooms unfortunately there was no request for a shower, some of our rooms have baths, some showers and some both and we would hate for this to put you off another stay with us so if you do decide to book a holiday with us again, on booking you can request a room with a shower or bath. If you do rebook then please feel free to call me to discuss your booking. Regards Gus”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in room 12 which was tidy, clean and spacious. Despite recently refurbished, the main areas are still old, dark, and uninviting. So much more could be done to enhance the appeal of the downstairs, especially as the main lounge looks on to a building site of a patio! The wonderful weather saw not one person making use of the outside area, which has pleasant views. What a waste.
I enjoyed the breakfast, which was value for money, and perfectly adequate.
The dinners was a different matter altogether. Although we had booked and paid for halfboard,
we could only stomach one night eating in. The meal at best was bland,...the chicken tasteless,
the mushroom soup glutinous. The chili con carne, was devoid of chilies,kidney beans, and tasted as if it was made from tomato ketchup...it however was certainly was a 'con'. The food has deteriorated greatly from 2 yrs ago when we last visited.

Room Tip: Not number 12, it has views over the driveway to the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyrena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are pleased you were happy with your room, during your recent stay with us in Lynton and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are working on the patio and removing the bushes which are obscuring the view towards Lynmouth. We will certainly pass your comments on to our chef regarding the evening meals.
Thank you Cyrena2010, for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I went with a friend who had stayed @ this Hotel before with his family. All staff very helpful and friendly. Interesting traditional type of building. We booked room with a sea few,(ROOM 60) however the view was half obstructed by trees. Room was clean and looked liked if it had been been refurbished, but drab colours. Foot of bed to close to wall and T.V. Bathroom, shower and bath, tiled upto ceiling, but lack of shelves. Nice Dinning Room, food OK.
Nice bar and lounge if you like sitting around. Overall good Hotel but could do with a general clean and tidy up. I would definately stay at this Hotel again. I would try and get on a higher floor with a must sea view.

Room Tip: Refurbished, sea view, 3rd / top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you Gary S taking the time to post your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are also pleased all the staff were “very friendly and helpful” and that you liked the bar, lounge and dining room.
We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We (6) stayed at The Valley of the Rocks hotels for 3 nights over a glorious June weekend. Having booked a few months in advance plus a parking space, We were in room 77 - probably the best in the house, 3rd floor in the 'turrett'.
It was lovely to wake up each morning, opening the 3 windows to let in the breeze & take in the excellent views down to the beach & Lynmouth.
A very large bathroom & 2 steps up to the bedroom, space for 2 single chairs & a small table.TV, Coffee/Tea making facilities & complimentary bottled water,hair dryer, chocolate, biscuits & toiletries.
The extra blankets/duvet under the sheets didn't make up for the fact the mattress on the bed was LONG past it's replacement date. It was extremely uncomfortable!!!! Shame, when we needed a good nights sleep after lots of walking.
The room was very clean & the staff especially in the dining room were excellent.
Good & varied choices for breakfast. The package was half board but we only ate in the restaurant the first night as the food was very poor - avoid if you can.
It's a pity the back garden/rear of the hotel is delapidated. Breakfast there would've been a joy.
A nice touch is the evening entertainmentment.
Overall, this old Victorian hotel is really tired, tatty & in much need of new carpets/paint/pollyfilla/tlc. It's location, history, fittings etc means it could be so much more - something different. However, I felt the stay here with Shearings is really good value for money for those on a budget.... but PLEASE retire the mattress in room 77!!

Room Tip: Book Room 77!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saxondean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from room 77 and the facilities, also that your room was kept very clean.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel staff. We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and the evening entertainment and that your holiday was “real value for money”
We usually have good feed back regarding our food, we will pass your comments on to our head chef.
Thank you saxondean for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked a week in a Standard Plus room and the room was of a good size, newly decorated. The bathroom was also new but woefully short of shelf space. Have designers never stayed in an hotel? We had paid for a Sea view but it was more Tree View than Sea View (room 16). Food was fine although gourmets would not get excited.
Now for the really important stuff. The hotel is situated in a stunning location overlooking Lynmouth and the glorious North Devon & Somerset coast and Exmoor are on the doorstep. We had a simply brilliant time.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms to the North end of the hotel probably have better views. It is well worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you Sandpiper, Burgess Hill; for posting your review on trip advisor.
We believe we are situated in the best position in Lynton and we agree its ideal for exploring Exmoor, North Devon and Somerset
We are pleased your room was of a good size and newly decorated, (we have noted your point regarding the bathroom) also that the food was fine.
We are happy to hear that “you had simply brilliant time” and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lynton is a beautiful place to visit ,however the hotel was let down by its shabby appearance.
It needs an upgrade but our room number 30 supposed to have a sea view but was restricted by trees ,so if you want an unrestricted view go on a higher floor . we complained to Gus the hotel manager but was unable to relocate us even though we paid a supplement for a sea view.It was noted on their computer. the food was average to say the least we experienced a strange combinations of food on the evening menu ,some guests we talked to agreed with us as well.The best meal was the braised steak and the rest was forgettable .the waiting staff were very efficient and helpful so no complaint there. Be advised if you have severe walking difficulty or wheelchair bound the hotel steps can be awkward and Lynton can be tiring on the legs . It was worth the visit just to visit the Valley of the Rocks location ,fantastic scenery and breathtaking views.will visit again someday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you Thomas R, for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.
We agree Lynton is a beautiful place with fantastic scenery and breathtaking views.
We are sorry to hear, that you were not fully happy with some aspects of your stay with us.
We do have wheelchair access to the side of the hotel, as well as a fully adapted bedroom on the ground floor.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our waiting staff, we are pleased to hear that you will visit us again, thank you once again for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £87 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing