We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading some of the reviews of this Shearings Hotel, i was slightly apprehensive about what i would find here...............i don't know what people expect for the price they pay for the holiday , but i was so impressed with the quality of the food, and the friendliness of the overworked restaurant staff. Our room was ample and clean , and the area is quiet at night.-.one warning - make sure you book a room with a shower ,if you need this,as they are in short supply..............Entertainment was good ,though most guests seemed to ignore it............Coach driver John was excellent ...i would recommend this 5 day break to everybody.

Room Tip: request a room with a shower,as some rooms have bath only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidthefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are really pleased that you had a “wonderful holiday” with us at the Valley of Rocks hotel. We are also pleased that you were impressed by the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff, that the entertainment was good and your room was ample and clean.
We will pass your kind comments to John, “your excellent coach driver”
We hope you will have another holiday with us, in the near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feed back on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    167
    114
    78
    55
See reviews for
61
284
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On our arrival at the at the hotel our first impression was positive. The building is big and impressive and on entering we were met by polite and friendly staff. Our experience continued in the same way throughout the holiday. Our room was basic but this was not a problem considering what we paid. Our main concern when we go to a hotel is the cleanliness and our room didn't dissappoint, we also had the bonus of a stunning view. The food was good (once again considering the cost of the holiday) and the dining room staff although overworked were still always friendly, polite and eager to please. Summing up, this is a nice hotel in a lovely town, a bit tired looking but clean with friendly staff, and for what I paid I am very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Andy M, for taking the time to post your fantastic comments on tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us here in Lynton; also that your room had a stunning view and was kept clean by our housekeeping team.

We are also pleased that the staff were “polite and friendly”, “the food was good” and the dining room staff were “friendly, polite and eager to please”

We hope you will visit us again soon, and enjoy more of lovely Lynton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Well I have never in the whole of my life ever checked out of a hotel early due to the poor standards I am not a uber fussy person but expect better food and surroundings than the worse local care home. I would have removed my mum if she had spent any time there. Room 12 is nice and looks to be refurbished but at 5 am the dust men arrived then at 6.30 the kitchen staff arrive banging around and the fans are switched on and the lovely smell of the greasy breakfast wafts up but it's so warm you just can't shut the window. As I said breakfast was a greasy mess at least the marmite was edible even if the toast was burnt I wish now I had taken a photo of my husbands scrambled egg on toast it was so small and an insult to paying guests. Come on Shearings it's such a lovely hotel charge more provide better quality food get the decorators in . I have been to many shearings hotels up and down the country and this must rank the worst. How can you have such a lovely hotel in Pitlochry and Whitby and have such a sad one here.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tawney0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
According to our records; the only complaint we received during your stay was that “your room was noisy”, unfortunately we didn’t have any other rooms available, our Assistant Manager noted your complaint and arranged a refund. Our dustbins are emptied every Wednesday at 12.30pm. We agree room 12 is nice and has been fully refurbished; we usually receive positive feedback regarding our food and service. Thank you Tawny Owl, for taking the time to post your comments, we hope you will travel with Shearings again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
sunderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

on sherings 5 day coach holiday 14th july 19th july had a really good holiday driver andy very knowlegable of the area and a good driver hotel old and dated but clean and lot of history to it paid for a upgrade room no 35 well worth it nice and clean and modern all the staff excellent coud not do enough for you lauren on reception very pleasant and helpful restraint staff very polite our server Nicole was very good and helpful enjoyed evening entertainment guy on the Thursday night was great will def go again negetives if they cleared the back and maid a beer garden with drinks available wood be great as when we have a nice day like to relax outside in the sunshine we found the food was excellent also

Room Tip: upper floor and pay for a upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunderlandSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are really pleased you had a lovely holiday with us, here in Lynton.
We are also pleased you found the hotel to be clean, the food excellent, the entertainment good and the staff excellent, especially Lauren on reception and Nicole in the restaurant.
We will make sure Andy your tour driver receives a copy of your fantastic review.
Thank you Sunderland slim, for taking the time to post your lovely comments on tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

jusr returned from our 7th break to a shearings hotel in the past year. the valley of rocks hotel is a splendid old building with great views. The hotel needs a great deal of work done to bring the rooms up to standard. The room that we had needed a good paint job done on it but the view from our window made up for this. The entertainment is first class each evening .The trips out on the coach are some of the best we have been on, The steam train trip is very good but the highlight was the barge trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Charles P, for leaving your feedback on tripadvisor.
We are pleased, that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us in Lynton, also that you enjoyed the “first class” evening, entertainment and that you had a lovely view from your bedroom window.

The Steam railway and Tiverton barge excursion is very popular with our guests and the feedback we receive is always excellent.

We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the fabulous excursions we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Shearings Coach Holiday. We each paid a supplement to have our own rooms.

On arriving we were very disappointed. Supplements should only be paid when a single person occupies a double room, however, having each paid a supplement, we were given tiny single rooms with single beds! One of the rooms didn't even have enough space to fully open the wardrobe door! We should have paid a reduced price for staying in such small single rooms, not extra!

None of the rooms had showers either. Apparently the water pressure is too low to have shower mixer taps. I ended up having to buy a small sand bucket from a nearby shop so that I could wash my hair in the bath.

The rooms were not very clean either and the entire hotel was very run down. We kept our thoughts to ourselves at the start of the holiday, however as the days past, it became clear that a lot of the other people on the same Shearings Coach Holiday were equally disappointed with the hotel.

Its a shame because we are seriously going to reconsider going with Shearings again if this is the type of accommodation they feel is acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying a supplement for a single person to stay in a double room, you end up paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
“Thanks you for taking the time to post a review, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay with us, here in Lynton. I feel that we offer good value for money breaks and hope our guests enjoy what we have to offer here and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Upon checking your booking for three standard single rooms unfortunately there was no request for a shower, some of our rooms have baths, some showers and some both and we would hate for this to put you off another stay with us so if you do decide to book a holiday with us again, on booking you can request a room with a shower or bath. If you do rebook then please feel free to call me to discuss your booking. Regards Gus”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in room 12 which was tidy, clean and spacious. Despite recently refurbished, the main areas are still old, dark, and uninviting. So much more could be done to enhance the appeal of the downstairs, especially as the main lounge looks on to a building site of a patio! The wonderful weather saw not one person making use of the outside area, which has pleasant views. What a waste.
I enjoyed the breakfast, which was value for money, and perfectly adequate.
The dinners was a different matter altogether. Although we had booked and paid for halfboard,
we could only stomach one night eating in. The meal at best was bland,...the chicken tasteless,
the mushroom soup glutinous. The chili con carne, was devoid of chilies,kidney beans, and tasted as if it was made from tomato ketchup...it however was certainly was a 'con'. The food has deteriorated greatly from 2 yrs ago when we last visited.

Room Tip: Not number 12, it has views over the driveway to the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyrena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are pleased you were happy with your room, during your recent stay with us in Lynton and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are working on the patio and removing the bushes which are obscuring the view towards Lynmouth. We will certainly pass your comments on to our chef regarding the evening meals.
Thank you Cyrena2010, for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing